Is It Possible to Fall in Love With Someone You Met Online But Has Never Seen Physically?

Date: 19-10-2015 11:17 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 19-10-2015 11:17 AM (8 years ago)

Have you ever been in love with a man you have never met?
Have you ever experienced strong feelings of chemistry, attraction and longing for him while communicating over digital media, so much so that it felt real to you?
Have you exchanged promises, professed deep love and spilled out intimate details over digital devices, only to feel confused and heart-broken upon his unexplained absence or outright disappearance?
All of a sudden, your heart feels jolted and you wonder if those words you both exchanged meant anything at all?
If you said yes to being in any of those situations, don´t worry because you are not alone.

As a general trend in most of these cases, intense conversations and promises take place over Skype, phone and Facebook chats and give the woman the illusion that she is in a “real relationship.” While the man may not necessarily be trying to trick or fool her, the real question is… Is it wise and beneficial for you to get so invested when you haven’t even met him once?
here is a personal experience:

A friend referred me to you for advice. I’m a single mom of two kids. Earlier this year I became friends with a guy on Facebook. We maintained the friendship and he always praised me on how intelligent and strong I am. I used to ignore his signals since I didn’t want him to think of me as being easy and desperate since I’m the one who sent him the friend request. Come May this year and he admitted to falling for me. I couldn’t resist it since I had feelings for him too. From chats to calls, that’s how we kept in touch. He talked of courting for 7 years without sex which we agreed to preserve for marriage. His reason for that long period of courtship was that he’d be able to give me a wedding and will have made enough money to care for me and the kids. Last week I asked him if he’s on Skype he said no but will join once he buys a laptop. The following day he told me he’s available on Skype and I just told him nice. He never replied. The following day he changed his number to a number he gave me in March. On asking him why things were changing he said that he still loves me and is still planning on visiting me since he’s from a neighbouring country. He still assured me of our marriage.
He has now again gone for 4 days without communication and I am feeling horrible. Did I say something bad that hurt him? Has he found a new passion? Has my being insecure pushed him away? I really love him and would like to have him back. Please tell me what to do. Thanks in advance.
.”

For those of us reading this letter objectively, it might already feel “too much” that a man and a woman that have never met each other are discussing plans for courtship and marriage. However, I have to tell you, it happens all the time and for the woman that it happens to, the pain is as real as the promises that were made to her.

The first thing to learn here as a woman is that (and this might trigger you and make you get defensive):  There Is No Real Relationship Until You Have Met the Man in Person Everything virtual (chats over computer, Skype, texts, emails and phone calls) don’t amount to a real relationship until you have physically met the man, at least once and felt each other´s energy in person. In the current era of information technology and digital romance, the lines between a real relationship and what I call an “instant virtual relationship” may feel blurry to many.
So what is the difference between the two?
A real relationship is where you meet the man and the relationship progresses from online chatting to texting to phone calls to real dates to commitment. Real relationships move forward and evolve in real life instead of getting stuck and stagnant on a virtual medium.
On the other hand, an “instant virtual relationship” is where connection and chemistry is felt instantly between you and a man over a virtual medium. You feel swept by the urgency of the moment and declarations of love and promises are made online without ever facing the “normal discomfort” that a “real relationship” needs and requires – planning to meet, meeting and experiencing each other in person, spending money on dates, investing “real” time and effort into another person.
Now while there is no need to assume that there is any false intention on the man´s part (absolutely not, in fact most men are being true in the moment and many relationships do go on to develop from online mediums into real life), this kind of “instant rushing” into a relationship where you tell a man “I love you” without ever meeting the man can be premature and leave you vulnerable to being over-invested in him.
Real love takes time to build and even if it goes fast, it has to be in person and not over a computer. So next time Morgan, before investing your emotions so heavily in a man, make sure you have met him and experienced him in person at least once.
Even When You Have Met Him, Take Your Time Before Discussing Serious Topics Like Marriage and Kids Marriage and taking care of kids are serious topics that need real responsibility and commitment. No man in his wildest dreams will be ready to take and deliver such responsibility unless he is completely, truly, emotionally invested in you. When you rush to discuss such things with a half stranger, these topics lose their sanctity and seriousness. It´s like “too much, too soon.”
You can almost compare it to “kid talk,” where two children indulge in quick, intimate fancy about the future without bearing in mind any repercussions and real actions that must be taken to achieve this fantasy.

Date Other Men In Your Area
This might be the hardest part for you to hear but start dating other men in your area. I don´t want you to get all hung up and keep your emotions heavily invested on a guy that lives in another country and whom you haven’t even met once. Even though the connection feels strong to you, there can be no “real love” here, not yet.
from statistics , I can bet you my bottom dollar that if he means any business, he will step up and visit you and make this virtual relationship into a real one by consistently contacting you and taking action to make it happen. Until then, your job is to keep your options open and give other good men a chance, the men who might actually want to give you everything you want.
Instant virtual relationships can often cause more pain than good. It is in our best interest to take them for what they truly are, virtual, and not jump into hasty conclusions about their depth and intensity, until they have manifested as real in our lives.

Posted: at 19-10-2015 11:17 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aspeng007 at 19-10-2015 11:27 AM (8 years ago)
Huh,funny
Posted: at 19-10-2015 11:27 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dubemchris at 19-10-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
Such acclaimed love is a mirage and infatuation,hence it does not last, somebody who is promising you heaven and earth,you don't even know anything about his character to start with let alone other things.
Posted: at 19-10-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Marah001 at 19-10-2015 11:58 AM (8 years ago)
It can work it may be God plan.........I met my wife on social network
Posted: at 19-10-2015 11:58 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- RemoCowboy at 19-10-2015 11:59 AM (8 years ago)
That's what I am enmeshed in at the moment. Been "e-dating" for 5 years,just met the lady (albeit briefly)this saturday(17th of October,2015)..now I don't know what I am feeling after the "online" lovey-dovey tinzzz...I am thinking a month of regular physical meeting should be enough to show the way forward..or what do you guys think?
Posted: at 19-10-2015 11:59 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- yemoma at 19-10-2015 12:10 PM (8 years ago)
It can work but why would a single man want to date a woman with 2 kids. Long thing. Why would he want to take responsibility for another mans child. Maybe the man was bored and liked communicating with her. I've had my own fair share of dating girls online. It's a hassle not seeing one face to face and not knowing what the other person is doing in their offline mode.
Posted: at 19-10-2015 12:10 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- RemoCowboy at 19-10-2015 12:22 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: yemoma on 19-10-2015 12:10 PM
It can work but why would a single man want to date a woman with 2 kids. Long thing. Why would he want to take responsibility for another mans child. Maybe the man was bored and liked communicating with her. I've had my own fair share of dating girls online. It's a hassle not seeing one face to face and not knowing what the other person is doing in their offline mode.
  Na true jo..#offlinenackingtinzz...
Posted: at 19-10-2015 12:22 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Larrykingomoj at 19-10-2015 12:53 PM (8 years ago)
Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not work out. It is a matter of luck.
Posted: at 19-10-2015 12:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 19-10-2015 01:46 PM (8 years ago)
Sometimes it work. I have attended a wedding like dat b4. And they are waxing stronger.
Posted: at 19-10-2015 01:46 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 19-10-2015 03:15 PM (8 years ago)
you don't need your eyes to fall in love....oral and written communication can stimulate love feelings in your brain.
Posted: at 19-10-2015 03:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 19-10-2015 06:14 PM (8 years ago)
GOD IS WATCHING!!
Posted: at 19-10-2015 06:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 19-10-2015 08:59 PM (8 years ago)
Nothing is impossible.but on this I can't guarantee you 100% commitment from that guy.
Posted: at 19-10-2015 08:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- stella1981 at 19-10-2015 11:01 PM (8 years ago)
For me i dont know
Posted: at 19-10-2015 11:01 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 20-10-2015 12:23 AM (8 years ago)
Just anoda mumu online...Women no dey listen, desperation no good at all...
Posted: at 20-10-2015 12:23 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 20-10-2015 06:07 AM (8 years ago)
When it comes to online romance nothing is impossible, in this kind of situation there are two things in common, is either you are been Hooked up or scammed....

Posted: at 20-10-2015 06:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 20-10-2015 08:56 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: allenspike on 20-10-2015 06:07 AM
When it comes to online romance nothing is impossible, in this kind of situation there are two things in common, is either you are been Hooked up or scammed....
.   GOD bless u for dis comment. U hit d nail on d head.
Posted: at 20-10-2015 08:56 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- allenspike at 20-10-2015 09:18 PM (8 years ago)
bobo if ou like go dey fall in love for INTERNET.. na until dem scam you before your eye go clear...

Posted: at 20-10-2015 09:18 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bohlah at 22-10-2015 10:51 PM (8 years ago)
OMG! All these questions you dey ask these days are really questions that get as e be

Posted: at 22-10-2015 10:51 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bohlah at 22-10-2015 10:52 PM (8 years ago)
Questions that the answers are straight forward without one thinking at all.

Posted: at 22-10-2015 10:52 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bohlah at 22-10-2015 10:54 PM (8 years ago)
Abeg, i no get time for all these kind questions @ all. Can we proceed?

Posted: at 22-10-2015 10:54 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero