PHOTOS: Lagos Police Nab Banker For Forging WASSCE, University Results

Date: 20-10-2015 6:54 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 20-10-2015 06:54 AM (8 years ago)

The Lagos State Police Command has arrested a 26-year-old banker, Daniel Makanjuola, for using a cloned West African Senior School Certificate and Lagos State University’s statement of result to secure employment at the Wema Bank Plc, Marina branch, on the Lagos Island.

The police said Makanjuola had paraded himself as a degree holder in marketing with Second Class, Upper Division, before his arrest.

He was also said to have tendered a forged National Youth Service Corps discharge certificate and a
reference letter to the bank. He claimed to have obtained the letter from United Bank for Africa, his purported former workplace.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the suspect, who hails from Ijero Local Government Area in Ekiti State, had joined the bank in 2013, before he was sacked in July 2015 after the documents were confirmed to be fake.

It was gathered that the fraudulent act was discovered after the management sent a letter to the UBA to verify the genuineness of the reference letter. The UBA was said to have denied knowledge of Makanjuola and the letter.

The discovery prompted the bank to write West African Examinations Council and LASU, which also disclaimed the results. The suspect was arrested after the case was reported at the Lion Building Police Station.

The bank’s Public Relations Officer, Emela Esohe, said Makanjuola owned up to the act before a disciplinary committee.

The suspect, in a statement he made to the police, also confessed to the crime and explained how he obtained the forged certificates.

He said he resorted to the act to alleviate the poverty in his family, adding that it was one Vincent who helped him to get the reference letter.

He said:
 “I am actually a National Diploma holder. I secured the fake WASCE and LASU results, using a search engine and CorelDraw application. I scanned an NYSC certificate and used some applications to edit it. I did it in order to put an end to the suffering of my poor family. I am the only son of my father. I want the authority to be compassionate with my case. I was only trying to live a better life.”
A police prosecutor, Inspector I. Okeke, arraigned Makanjuola at a Tinubu Magistrate’s Court on three counts of forgery.

The charges read in part, “That you, Daniel Makanjuola sometime in September 2013, at Wema Bank, Marina, Lagos Island, in the Lagos Magisterial District, did forge West Africa Senior School Certificate, dated December, 2005 with candidate number, 5250209357 and certificate number, ASSCP 3841537.

“That you forged notification of final year examination result 2008/2009 academic session from LASU with reference number, LASU/E&R/405, dated March 11, 2010 and use it to secure employment at Wema Bank Plc.”

The accused pleaded not guilty to the charges before the presiding magistrate, Mr. A. Adefulire.

Adefulire admitted him to bail in the sum of N100,000 with two sureties in like sum. He adjourned the case till October 22, 2015.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 20-10-2015 06:54 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 20-10-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago)
He shld have jt use d OND result to secure job na. He might have still gotten d job. I pray he get out of dis one. Wat poverity will cause.
Posted: at 20-10-2015 07:13 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Marah001 at 20-10-2015 07:16 AM (8 years ago)
Nawa ooooo man go eat now
Posted: at 20-10-2015 07:16 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- greatestdon at 20-10-2015 07:31 AM (8 years ago)
U were trying to end ur family's poverty so u resorted to stealing & cheating, now see where it has landed u? Tnk God u didnt accuse the devil this time round bcos he's not in Lagos right now. These are the kind of ppl that join the banking sector & turn to pen robbers, stealing customer's hard earned money in millions & billions.
Posted: at 20-10-2015 07:31 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Machealex at 20-10-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago)
Sorry
Posted: at 20-10-2015 07:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seko at 20-10-2015 07:58 AM (8 years ago)
They name you Makanjuola but you didn't listen to your parent advice. See yourself now you are rush to be wealth... May God safe you sha
Posted: at 20-10-2015 07:58 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Spatacuss at 20-10-2015 08:04 AM (8 years ago)
Froud every where, very soon nothing go dey real for 9ja again. Get rich or Kpai trying
Posted: at 20-10-2015 08:04 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- aspeng007 at 20-10-2015 08:15 AM (8 years ago)
Hmm
Posted: at 20-10-2015 08:15 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- musleh247 at 20-10-2015 10:28 AM (8 years ago)
Guy i felt so sorry 4 u sha, but e still better pass armed robbery
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 20-10-2015 10:31 AM (8 years ago)
fake lives poverty ending
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:31 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:33 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa o! This is serious!!!
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:33 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa o! This is serious!!!
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:34 AM (8 years ago)
I seriously don't know where to come in, in this case
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:34 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
He is putting the blames on poverty but am putting the blame on greed. Hope am not harsh
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:37 AM (8 years ago)
But I blame the government more on this issue
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:37 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
The best way to tackle corruption is through poverty alleviation
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:40 AM (8 years ago)
Knowing that for one to get a well paid job he or she must attain a specific height of education. If the government learn to grant educational loans to its citizens. Crimes as thus will die off
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:40 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:43 AM (8 years ago)
Only 1% of the poor citizens are able to send their children to higher institutions yearly. Meaning that the family of the rich will keep getting the top jobs n wealths. Help the poor by granting educational loans if u can't offer them free education
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:46 AM (8 years ago)
I left secondary school 8yrs ago but hasn't been able to further cos of finance. If I decide to act as this guy I will be disgraced n called names. Our government should map out strategies to help the poor get education for a better living n reduce corruption in the process as well
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larrychuckz at 20-10-2015 10:49 AM (8 years ago)
80% of the crime in this country were caused by careless government n greed owned up the remaining 20%
Posted: at 20-10-2015 10:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

2. VID: Lady Shares How She Got Pregnant After Visiting Man To Teach Him How To Cook

3. Young Girl, Dorothy Shocks Many As She Bags Ph.D At Age 17

4. Nigerian Journalist, Reuben Abati Pens Lovely Note To Wife On Their 4th Wedding Anniversary

5. Funke Akindele Stuns Many Over Her Birthday Message To Singer, Mo Eazy’s Mum Amid Relationship

6. PHOTOS: Betty Irabor Opens Up On Her Unsuccessful Suicide Attempt

7. Nigerian Man, Abodunde Who Killed His Wife In The UK To Spend His Whole Life In Jail

8. Actress, Nkechi Blessing Reveals Why Celebrities Bash Each Other Online

9. VIDE: Speed Darlington Mocks Portable After His Recent Police Arrest

10. I’m Not Hugging Anyone Until The Price Of Deodorant Goes Down Says BBNaija's Vee

11. 2 Jobless Men Land In Prison For Stealing Church ACs Worth ₦350k In Lagos

1. POLITICAL TURMOIL UNVEILED! 'Wike Was Instrumental To Peter Obi's Exit From PDP' - Paul Ibe

2. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

3. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

4. Wetin She Wear - Movie Producer, Stanley Nwoko Mocks Destiny Etiko Over Her AMVCA Outfit

5. Lady Raises Alarm Over State of Actor, Nonso Diobi After Spotting Him in Her Area (Video)

6. Reactions as Naira Marley and Sam Larry Were Spotted Vibing to Portable's Diss Track About Them

7. Never Relocate to These Two Countries Even If Their Visa is Free - Lady Sternly Warns Nigerians

8. Nigeria Rapper, Dremo Hits Back At Sarkodie’s Shade Of Nigeria’s Big 3 Artists With Diss Track

9. Afrobeat Singer, Davido Blasts Popular Blog For Calling Him “Papa Ifeanyi”

10. 'We Kidnap, Extort & Rap3 Male Victims' - Gang Of Homosegxwal Criminals Arrested In Lekki