'I Was Raped In One-Chance Bus'- Victims Narrate Their Ordeal, Survival

Date: 26-10-2015 12:38 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 26-10-2015 12:38 PM (8 years ago)

It is no longer news that rape is on the increase. What makes it so worrisome is the fact that underaged children are mostly the targets, As a result of the stigma attached to rape and segxwal molestation, many victims don't come out to report the incidents.
However, some have had the courage to speak on their ordeal.
Below are some accounts of the victim's experiences in the hand of these beastly men.

I had a daughter for my rapist’ – C. A. (20 years old)

How did it happen?
I met the guy while I was going to make my hair. He approached me, telling me that I wasn’t looking too good. He spoke to me as if he knew me. I told him I wasn’t feeling fine that I just wanted to make my hair. He offered to walk me down. We exchanged contacts thereafter.
He called me the second day to ask how I was feeling. After a couple of days, he called again. I was on my way to UNILAG to meet a friend. He said he was going to UNILAG also. That we should go together. I waited for him and we took a bus to UNILAG. When we got to Abule Oja, he said he wanted to see a friend that we should go together.
So, I followed him. We got to his friend’s place, he introduced him and the friend said he wanted to get him what he came to collect. That was how his friend left the house. The rapist went to buy me a drink. I declined but he started persuading me to drink it. I insisted I was not going to drink. I was surprised when he brought out a knife and insisted I should drink it.
I took the drink and that’s all. I woke up to realize that I had been raped and the guys were nowhere to be found.

Did you go for medical checkup?
No, I didn’t tell anybody. I was still a student when it happened. I just kept it to myself. I couldn’t say it out.

Why didn’t you tell anybody?
I was feeling bad because I felt I made a terrible mistake. I knew I didn’t act wisely. I couldn’t tell anybody.

What happened there after?
I became pregnant. I was writing my final year exam but I didn’t know I was pregnant. My friends noticed the changes in my body but I insisted there was nothing wrong. After I left school, I became sick and I was taken to the hospital. I had to do a pregnancy test. I didn’t even check the result of the test, I just collected it, took it home and gave my brother. He opened it and started abusing me, he told me I was pregnant. That was when I had to tell them what happened.
I wanted to get rid of the pregnancy but my mother stopped me. She had a dream that I passed on. My sister also had the same dream. So, I kept the pregnancy. I gave birth to a baby girl almost two years ago.

‘I was raped in one-chance encounter’ – C. O. (25 years old)
How did it happen?
I entered a bus around Cappa, Oshodi. I was going to Mushin. It was quite early between 5 and 6 am. After kicking off, I realized, it was one chance (a bobby trap). They collected all my belongings and raped me.

How many people in the bus?
I can’t really remember. I couldn’t differentiate who was who.

Did you tell anybody?
Yes, I told my friend about it but not immediately, like two weeks later. She advised me to go to hospital and I went. I had series of tests and it was confirmed that I was pregnant. I was advised to get rid of it since it was at its early stage. So, I did. What I am telling you happened like four years ago.

Rape cases should be taken very seriously because in Nigeria,  culprits don’t get prosecuted because the victim must prove she was raped. In most cases, the way prosecutors treat the case usually discourage victims from going on with the case. Most of them drop the case along the way.

Posted: at 26-10-2015 12:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 26-10-2015 01:02 PM (8 years ago)
rape too plenty for naija dis days na wa ooo
Posted: at 26-10-2015 01:02 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- stella1981 at 26-10-2015 01:54 PM (8 years ago)
This naija don tire me
Posted: at 26-10-2015 01:54 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- privacy at 26-10-2015 02:16 PM (8 years ago)
I don tier for naija wahala
Posted: at 26-10-2015 02:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- greatestdon at 26-10-2015 02:39 PM (8 years ago)
Jesus!!! The govt has to do something about rape & armed robbery in Nigeria. There need to be strict laws put in place. Castration for rapists & death by hanging for robbers who kill their victims.This is too much naaaa
Posted: at 26-10-2015 02:39 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 26-10-2015 02:46 PM (8 years ago)
By d time so rapist start dropping dead mysteriously then they will stop molesting especially those who rape minors.
Posted: at 26-10-2015 02:46 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- proly at 26-10-2015 03:33 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaoooooo
Posted: at 26-10-2015 03:33 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- yemoma at 26-10-2015 04:46 PM (8 years ago)
Very sad. Na by force to yansh.
Posted: at 26-10-2015 04:46 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- musleh247 at 26-10-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago)
So dose rapist no get girlfriends?
Posted: at 26-10-2015 05:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- temi_1 at 26-10-2015 05:40 PM (8 years ago)
So prostitutes are no longer available that its innocent people they are now molesting.  God will punish them.
Posted: at 26-10-2015 05:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Princewhite1 at 26-10-2015 06:16 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm

Posted: at 26-10-2015 06:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 26-10-2015 06:48 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: greatestdon on 26-10-2015 02:39 PM
Jesus!!! The govt has to do something about rape & armed robbery in Nigeria. There need to be strict laws put in place. Castration for rapists & death by hanging for robbers who kill their victims.This is too much naaaa
.  I concur wit u totally.
Posted: at 26-10-2015 06:48 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Princewhite1 at 26-10-2015 07:00 PM (8 years ago)
Sad news

Posted: at 26-10-2015 07:00 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 26-10-2015 10:55 PM (8 years ago)
It's about time we start taking rape cases seriously and jailing d offenders.....
Na by force to poke...
Posted: at 26-10-2015 10:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- aspeng007 at 26-10-2015 11:39 PM (8 years ago)
So sad,sowi
Posted: at 26-10-2015 11:39 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- AmazingMarie at 26-10-2015 11:47 PM (8 years ago)
women & girls especially little girls are at receiving end. enforcing the law and make it stiffer is better.
Posted: at 26-10-2015 11:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero