Nigeria Is Broke, We Can’t Afford To Pay All 36 Ministers – President Buhari

Date: 31-10-2015 9:36 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 31-10-2015 09:36 AM (8 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday said not all the 36 nominees would be ministers as some of them would only sit in the cabinet in order to meet the constitutional provision of a cabinet having 36…He also revealed there is no money to pay all the ministers because Nigeria is broke,,

Buhari made his stance known interview he granted the Nigerian Television Authority and Channels TV shortly before he left India..

Buhari said,
“There was no reduction (of ministers) to 36. What the constitution says, and we cannot work outside the constitution, is that there must be a cabinet representative from each state.Yes, there used to be 42 ministers, I think we will be lucky if we can have half of that now because we cannot afford it.Others may not be substantive ministers but they will sit in the cabinet because that is what the constitution says and we cannot operate outside the constitution.”

When asked whether he will reduce the number of ministers, Buhari said,
“Of course! Unless you can volunteer to be paying them (ministers).”
On the criteria used in compiling his ministerial nominees, the President explained
“I have just talked about Nigerians, especially the elite, sitting and reflecting on serious national issues.“How many times did I attempt to be the President of Nigeria? How many times did I end up in the Supreme Court? Does is it mean every time, I don’t know people in this country?I know people who we were going together but fell by the wayside because it was too tough. You know I contested in 2003, 2007, 2011. I think Nigerians should stop taking things for granted as far as we are concerned,”
he said.

When the President was asked to react to the claim that his administration is slow in the development of infrastructure, Buhari said
“Where is the money? You must have known that the Federal Government had to help 27 of the 36 states to pay salaries.
“Nigeria cannot pay salaries. The Federal Government itself had to summon the governor of the Central Bank to see how it would pay salaries not to talk of the agreements we signed with foreign countries, counterpart funding and so on.
“This country was materially vandalised and mor*lly so and you are in a position to know even more than myself unless you are testing my knowledge whether I know it or not.”

When asked to be categorical on whether the country is broke, Buhari replied,
“Of course, Nigeria is broke.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 31-10-2015 09:36 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- musleh247 at 31-10-2015 09:43 AM (8 years ago)
If Nigeria broke where dem dey see d ones wey dem dey loot everyday?
Posted: at 31-10-2015 09:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 31-10-2015 10:15 AM (8 years ago)
D ones u are wasting travelling to tarnish d country image wit dis ur corruption slogan will pay a lot of minister. If u sit down here and change thgs as u say during ur campaign. U have becum ajala travel all over d world.
Posted: at 31-10-2015 10:15 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 31-10-2015 10:47 AM (8 years ago)
We should DEMAND that Switzerland returns ALL the money STOLEN and HIDDEN away by Abacha and his henchmen.

I believe that the money stolen was SO MUCH, that there will be enough to pay pensioners, ALL unpaid civil servants, pay off debts we owe around the world  - and STILL have change! 

Posted: at 31-10-2015 10:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Anny01 at 31-10-2015 11:24 AM (8 years ago)
Mr. Man stop complaining! It's time to work. You're recovering the looted money,selling our oil,collecting tax to mention but very few yet you're complaining. You and i knows that there's money in this country. 
Posted: at 31-10-2015 11:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 31-10-2015 11:51 AM (8 years ago)
Now take us out of brokenness
Posted: at 31-10-2015 11:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fearlesspaul at 31-10-2015 01:42 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: bohlah on 31-10-2015 09:36 AM

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday said not all the 36 nominees would be ministers as some of them would only sit in the cabinet in order to meet the constitutional provision of a cabinet having 36…He also revealed there is no money to pay all the ministers because Nigeria is broke,,

Buhari made his stance known interview he granted the Nigerian Television Authority and Channels TV shortly before he left India..

Buhari said,
When asked whether he will reduce the number of ministers, Buhari said, he said.

When the President was asked to react to the claim that his administration is slow in the development of infrastructure, Buhari said
When asked to be categorical on whether the country is broke, Buhari replied,

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Can someone tell me how to post news here please?
Posted: at 31-10-2015 01:42 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- mjyabah2 at 31-10-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago)
PMB, please go back to the drawing board, appoint ministers who are already made, have less need for fat salaries, that are willing to serve their country and would do anything to see the country back on her feet. If possible, reach out for volunteerism type of ministerial appointment. If u still want to patronize party members, then they will want their money back from campaign spending. Also, u can announce a pay package that will not be attractive for money conscious ministers, so u can replace them with those who are willing to work for the nation. 
Posted: at 31-10-2015 03:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deltaboy1 at 31-10-2015 04:16 PM (8 years ago)
but when jonathan was there, did anybody notice our economy grew, now buhari came in, now it down
Posted: at 31-10-2015 04:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stella1981 at 31-10-2015 04:40 PM (8 years ago)
Please tell us how come
Posted: at 31-10-2015 04:40 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 31-10-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago)
mad man
Posted: at 31-10-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- princeifeyco at 31-10-2015 05:23 PM (8 years ago)
Una never see anything, before u assume office, Nigeria is leading the whole Africa in terms of economy, and among the fastest growing economy in the world, Jonathan is not good, but that achievement happened in his time, but his is the most corrupt government Nigeria has ever produce according to you people, the office you have been killing people because of it since 2003, has been given to you, everyday your complaining one thing or the other, Nigeria is broke Nigeria is broke, remember your promise to your people, stop complaining and get back to work imbecile.
Posted: at 31-10-2015 05:23 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Boss347 at 31-10-2015 05:26 PM (8 years ago)
My God! My country is broke. Baba abeg take am easy.

Posted: at 31-10-2015 05:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bright1love at 31-10-2015 06:51 PM (8 years ago)
MR COMPLAINANT CLUELESS PRISDENT WHERE ARE THE FOOLS THAT VOTED FOR CHANGE...BIAFRA LOADING
Posted: at 31-10-2015 06:51 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- oloche1984 at 31-10-2015 10:26 PM (8 years ago)
I don't see anything good coming out of this administration always complaining and pushing blames yet spending millions daily on unimportant trips and functions, hypocrites!
Posted: at 31-10-2015 10:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 1-11-2015 12:41 AM (8 years ago)
He's rite, Jonathan and im buddies empty treasury...
Posted: at 1-11-2015 12:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

3. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

4. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

5. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

6. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

9. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

10. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

11. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

12. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

13. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

14. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor