4 Reasons Why New Graduates Remain Unemployed

Date: 02-11-2015 11:33 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 2-11-2015 11:33 AM (8 years ago)
Many people do not understand why they remain unemployed even with a good certificate. You must read this to know these costly mistakes so as to avoid it.

1. Lack Of Professional Connections
 For a fresh graduate, it is not often easier to find valuable contacts to recommend a job or get recommended. This is absolutely okay if you have just passed out of university and searching for employment. But, if it is your tenth attempt for a job and you still have no connections, then you are not taking this issue seriously. A valuable connection not only guides you in right direction but also helps you step into a job easily. Employers are followers of technology. They are in a constant search for a common connection that can fit in a vacant position in his organisation. Use social sites, such as LinkedIn, to capture attention of industry-specific professionals in order to gain professional mileage. When you are socially visible on these online spheres, you magnify your visibility. Ultimately, you are in reach of a prospective employer who shares common interests with you.

2. Lack Of Talent Identification
 Majority of fresh graduates blindly follow a field without first realising their own potential. Having a degree in ‘marketing’ does not necessarily mean that you cannot pursue a career in film direction. You can definitely do it if you have the passion in visual art and really think you can make a name in this field.
 If you are excellent in something, it is meaningless to question its relevancy with your degree. Talent is not measured by degrees and certificates. It is an unquantifiable thing that is beyond parameters of worldly norms. Just take initiative and follow your dream. It is never too late to find your passion. It is just a matter of time and place.

3. Lack Of Experience
 Fresh graduates often do not have any practical experience of work. The lack of experience interrupts their job application and causes a significant delay in their employment. If you have just passed your graduation and does have any previous experience, it is natural for an employer to not give you priority for a job. However, there are other more important things in your career portfolio that you can make up with your inexperience. As a starter, you can show your previous on-job training programs or internships that you have completed in your trade. You can even demonstrate your specific life experiences that make you perfect candidate for a job, if this is the case.

4. Graduates Are Too Choosy About Their Jobs
 Nowadays, graduates are too choosy about the job they pick. They expect the best salary figure, ideal location, flexible working hours and lenient work environment. When graduates demand so much perks and benefits, they end up losing an opportunity that could benefit them in the long run. Ultimately, they deprive themselves of the larger benefits that they could have availed in terms of professional exposure and career profile.
 When you land a job interview, consider it as an opportunity to streamline your career success. Do not think about that mundane ‘zeros’ in salary or the trivial benefits. At this stage of your career, you should focus more on skills and professional experience that you can gain from an opportunity. Look into the professional values that an organisation has to offer you rather than salary package that will not do any good at this stage

Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:33 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diutopep at 2-11-2015 11:37 AM (8 years ago)
NO 5: Family forces....
Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:37 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diutopep at 2-11-2015 11:39 AM (8 years ago)
NO 6: Lack of GOD-FATHERISM!!!
Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:39 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- musleh247 at 2-11-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
New graduates remain unemployed bcos our government is corrupt n everything is with connection even wen u have a good certificate
Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benny0047 at 2-11-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: musleh247 on  2-11-2015 11:42 AM
New graduates remain unemployed bcos our government is corrupt n everything is with connection even wen u have a good certificate
Thank you O...cause thats the best explanation of all ... cause how can you graduate and start working for peanuts and they will say I am choosy...rubbish
Posted: at 2-11-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 2-11-2015 12:30 PM (8 years ago)
Yes no7......cos the old cargos refuse to leave.....
Posted: at 2-11-2015 12:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 2-11-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago)
@oweren25,supported
Posted: at 2-11-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 2-11-2015 01:07 PM (8 years ago)
NO 8: non of them want to go into  self employed!!!
Posted: at 2-11-2015 01:07 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- nametalkam at 2-11-2015 01:11 PM (8 years ago)
Tell me something new, like lack of legs and lack of connection, if you have connection all these talent is just for the books, in Nigeria, your talent is your connection, who you know, thats the in thing, shouldn't this topic be in the careers section?

Posted: at 2-11-2015 01:11 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nonix22001 at 2-11-2015 01:44 PM (8 years ago)
...rate of graduates each is highly not proportionate to the number of available jobs, that's all
Posted: at 2-11-2015 01:44 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 2-11-2015 01:53 PM (8 years ago)
no 9,  even b/4 they enterd into primary school,they were thought dat they are the future leaders,and even after graduating they still have the same president and same old ministers so  who is fooling who here???'
Posted: at 2-11-2015 01:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 2-11-2015 02:01 PM (8 years ago)
Poster no graduate will choose in dis country we are and u kn it. Some graduates are okada rider cus of lack of jobs.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 02:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- satsaver at 2-11-2015 02:04 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  2-11-2015 01:07 PM
NO 8: non of them want to go into  self employed!!!
go into self employment!
Posted: at 2-11-2015 02:04 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bangalin at 2-11-2015 02:07 PM (8 years ago)
Federal govt should pls create more employment for the masses
Posted: at 2-11-2015 02:07 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- satsaver at 2-11-2015 02:11 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on  2-11-2015 01:11 PM
Tell me something new, like lack of legs and lack of connection, if you have connection all these talent is just for the books, in Nigeria, your talent is your connection, who you know, thats the in thing, shouldn't this topic be in the careers section?
you right man it should be in careers section.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 02:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- satsaver at 2-11-2015 02:14 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on  2-11-2015 01:11 PM
you right man it should be in careers section.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 02:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 2-11-2015 03:09 PM (8 years ago)
Naija is seriously over populated for a non industrialized country .....and too many unemployable graduates in bogus fields.
the focus should be on self- employable degrees and less reliant on govt employment.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 03:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mcolours at 2-11-2015 03:20 PM (8 years ago)
No5. Family problem
Posted: at 2-11-2015 03:20 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- elchymo at 2-11-2015 04:55 PM (8 years ago)
Who no like better things? Abeg don't blame the graduates, until they experience life in other forms
Posted: at 2-11-2015 04:55 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Bolavivian at 2-11-2015 06:29 PM (8 years ago)
Nigeria is about who you know.
Posted: at 2-11-2015 06:29 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer