Traders Allegedly Lose Over N300m As Fire Razes Edo Market

Date: 10-11-2015 8:14 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 10-11-2015 08:14 PM (8 years ago)

There was pandemonium at the popular Dumez market, in the Ikpoba-Okha Local Government Area of Edo State, when fire razed a major section of the market and destroyed property allegedly worth millions of naira in the wee hours of Monday.

The fire, which started at about 1am on Monday, razed over 150 shops, sparing only a small section of the market. However, the officials of the state fire service who visited the scene three times, left when they reportedly ran out of water.

It was gathered that at about 8.30am, Tuesday, some of the traders were still seen trying to recover some of their goods, while others who lost everything, counted their losses in tears.

Students from the School of Health Technology, most of whom patronised traders from the market, also thronged the scene to sympathise with the victims.

Some wondered why the inferno lasted for hours when the market was beside a police station; but the Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Osifo Abiodun, said the command contacted the fire service when it received a distress call about the incident.

One of the victims, Mavis Odeh, who narrated the incident, said the most affected part of the market was where cash crops, textiles and other items were sold.

“On Monday morning, around 1am, someone called my mother and told her that the market was on fire. When she got to the place, we had to carry her home because of the shock. I feel very bad, especially because the year is coming to an end.

“It is very painful because my mother, who sells provisions, lost her goods to the fire.

“About four or three days ago, we spent close N250, 000 to buy some items before Christmas; the value of what we lost is between N700, 000 and N800, 000,” Odeh lamented.

One Mama Osayande, who described the inferno as a tale of double tragedy for her, was said to have lost three stores and goods worth millions of naira, three weeks after she lost a child.

A beverage seller, who identified herself as Mrs. Oserheinmen, said that she had six stores filled with crates of drinks, and three deep freezers, all of which were consumed by the fire.

She said, “My three deep freezers and six stores were affected by the fire. You know what that means,” she lamented.

The leader of the market women, Mrs. Rose Isibor, said over 150 shops were affected by the inferno, with goods worth over N200m destroyed.

Isibor, confirming the incident, divulged that the council authorities had been informed of the disaster; however, she noted that a power surge was suspected to be the cause of the fire.

“Around 1am, I got a call that the market was on fire. So, I called the security guards, who said that they had informed the police. The firemen came without water; when they returned, the damage had already been done.”

Isibor alleged that the goods destroyed would be over N300m because the fire affected the section of the market where the most valuable items were sold.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 10-11-2015 08:14 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 10-11-2015 08:34 PM (8 years ago)
wow sorry oo
Posted: at 10-11-2015 08:34 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Novic at 10-11-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago)
ohhhh.. this is great loss.
Posted: at 10-11-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 10-11-2015 09:15 PM (8 years ago)
Edo people with bad things. may God help u people
Posted: at 10-11-2015 09:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wikigenius at 10-11-2015 09:22 PM (8 years ago)
What a great loss, na sarafoam burn nau na market again within d period of a day
Posted: at 10-11-2015 09:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- temi_1 at 10-11-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago)
Omg sry for the loss there's a purpose for everything
Posted: at 10-11-2015 09:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 10-11-2015 09:45 PM (8 years ago)
Kpele,oya oshi na ole go&sympatise with dem,write cheque give dem for compensation no be only your oyibo wife u go de maintain,see ur pple help now
Posted: at 10-11-2015 09:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- robertedo3 at 10-11-2015 10:27 PM (8 years ago)
The firemen came without water  dats quite  funny  lol   Somwtimes i wonder if  this country called nigeria  have a direction   The whole of benin city have only two  fire service  vehicles outdated one  pust  and start  vehicles  this same  same state billions of naira  are stolen  by past and present govt  what  a shame
Posted: at 10-11-2015 10:27 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 11-11-2015 12:29 AM (8 years ago)
Can u imagine, fire men cake wit water. Were they planning to use d air in their mouth to quench d fire? Kai naiiaaaaa
Posted: at 11-11-2015 12:29 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ayodun1 at 11-11-2015 01:14 AM (8 years ago)
Eeyah!!! So sorry. May God help you all with your losses.

Posted: at 11-11-2015 01:14 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 11-11-2015 01:16 AM (8 years ago)
@winace.... The firemen didn't go there without water.. They ran out of water I.e They use am finish.

Posted: at 11-11-2015 01:16 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 11-11-2015 01:18 AM (8 years ago)
@robertedo3.... Read the article well na. Make una no dey frustrate posters.

Posted: at 11-11-2015 01:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugarwealth at 11-11-2015 04:30 AM (8 years ago)
My condolences to the traders affect by the fire, it's a pity
Posted: at 11-11-2015 04:30 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugarwealth at 11-11-2015 04:32 AM (8 years ago)
The rate at which fire keep breaking out in markets is now too high, something needs to be done about it oo
Posted: at 11-11-2015 04:32 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bennieben at 11-11-2015 05:23 AM (8 years ago)
How the fire to enter the market?
Posted: at 11-11-2015 05:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 11-11-2015 06:31 AM (8 years ago)
We get fire service...?
Posted: at 11-11-2015 06:31 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 16-11-2015 11:52 PM (8 years ago)
eyhaa, dis a great lost to all d traderz ooo
Posted: at 16-11-2015 11:52 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 16-11-2015 11:56 PM (8 years ago)
accept my condolence to all dose who lost one or two tyns, may God reward ur pple bak in riches
Posted: at 16-11-2015 11:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 16-11-2015 11:57 PM (8 years ago)
d govt shud try nd put fire service standby at places lyk dis so as to prevent great lost
Posted: at 16-11-2015 11:57 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac