Nigerian Pastor Jailed For 30 Years In Tanzania For Drug Trafficking

Date: 13-11-2015 2:13 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 13-11-2015 02:13 PM (8 years ago)

A Nigerian pastor who preached in Tanzania under auspices of his has been handed a 30-year jail sentence after being convicted of smuggling cocaine worth Sh3.1 billion.
Mr Chukwudi Okechukwu was jailed along with compatriot , South African Stan Hycent and Pakistani Shoaib Mohammad Ayazi over the same offence. High Court Judge Amir Mruma has also ordered the accused to pay Sh9 billion in fines.Anti-narcotics police believe that the preacher is one of the top members of a drug syndicate operating in Tanzania, Nigeria and South Africa.
He and his three accomplices were hiding in a mansion in Dar es Salaam’s Kuduchi Mtongani suburbs when the police surrounded the house and arrested them.

Anti-narcotics police had received information about foreigners who were planning to smuggle into the country a huge quantity of cocaine and store it in a house in Kunduchi Mtongani. A surveillance team was deployed to keep an eye on the mansion that the the preacher and his accomplices had rented. Led by head of Anti-Drugs Unit (ADU) Godfrey Nzowa, the police knocked on the front gate in their bid to arrest the suspected drug dealers.

Their arrest was dramatic. Soon after the police knocked on the gate and introduced themselves, the four suspects started running around the house in apparent fear and panic.There was a cat-and-mouse chase drama inside the compound as the police tried to get hold of one of the suspects as he was attempting to jump over the fence. Three suspects were arrested inside the house.
Pastor Okechukwu was the only suspect who managed to jump over the wall but was arrested after a dramatic chase by the police.Upon searching the house, anti-drugs police seized 81 packets of drugs which were later confirmed by the chief government chemist to be cocaine hydrochloride.Pastor Okechukwu first came to Tanzania in January 2011, two months before his arrest, on an evangelical mission under the umbrella of his Lord Chosen Church of Nigeria.
However, intelligence report show he had came to Tanzania some years back and had made a name for himself as a pastor at his Kinondoni Biafra church and won many followers.Yesterday, Mr Nzowa described their jailing as “another great achievement” in Tanzania’s efforts to fight drug trafficking.“Unlike a gun or pistol which kills people instantly, drugs are killing the young generation slowly. If we are not aggressive in fighting the illicit trade we may find ourselves losing the young generation,” he said, adding that drug business was a threat to national security especially when foreigners are left to operate in the country.

The jailing of the Nigerian pastor and his accomplices brought to three the number of high profile drug cases that have ben heard and determined by the High Court in the space of three months. Early in September, the same court sentenced to 20 years a young Tanzanian Fred William Chonde to 20 years in jail after it found him guilty of possessing 180kg worth Sh 5.2 billion and ordered him to pay a Sh 15 billion fine.Again, last month the court sentenced businessman Kadiria Saidi Kimaro who attempted to smuggle 91 heroin capsules that he had swallowed, through Julius Nyerere International Airport (JNIA), to 20 years in jail. He was also ordered to pay Sh122 million in fine.
The speed with which the Judiciary hears and determined the drug cases has renewed hopes by anti-drugs campaigners who had accused courts of mishandling drug cases. There has been a concern that the way court handled drug trafficking cases might make it easy for the convicts to later secure freedom or bail in what could be viewed as disregard of the law.
Corruption and influence peddling by highly placed individuals have been cited as one factor that frustrates the war against traffickers.However, the judiciary has repeatedly defended itself over the accusations, saying shoddy police investigations and poor prosecution was highly to blame for the situation.

Posted: at 13-11-2015 02:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- deboalabi262 at 13-11-2015 02:18 PM (8 years ago)
Pastor of all people?  -God punish you....... Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 13-11-2015 02:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 13-11-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago)
Biafran pastor see ur life???
Posted: at 13-11-2015 02:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 13-11-2015 02:57 PM (8 years ago)
the way Nigerians dey go about this money matter how Pastor go also involve in such act as the matter dey go so make dem divide naija  oooh i know why i dey talk thins thing
Posted: at 13-11-2015 02:57 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 13-11-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago)
these criminals only use religious titles to deflect peoples attention from their nefarious crimes.
Posted: at 13-11-2015 03:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- victorstic1 at 13-11-2015 03:40 PM (8 years ago)
IGBO KWENU!  IGBO ALL THE WAY!  MSY GOD DELIVER UNA FROM THIS DEPARTMENT
Posted: at 13-11-2015 03:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 13-11-2015 03:47 PM (8 years ago)
MAY
Posted: at 13-11-2015 03:47 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 13-11-2015 03:50 PM (8 years ago)
THANK GOD IS NOT NIGERIAN PASTOR IS BIAFRAN PASTOR
Posted: at 13-11-2015 03:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 13-11-2015 04:07 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: victorstic1 on 13-11-2015 03:50 PM
THANK GOD IS NOT NIGERIAN PASTOR IS BIAFRAN PASTOR
Na you talk am ooh because me be reserve my comment for next person, that na why i say make dem quick divide the naija before biafra go spoil naija name finish and go their way, well the world done know dem say na the be naija headache
Posted: at 13-11-2015 04:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 13-11-2015 04:09 PM (8 years ago)
Again ?  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 13-11-2015 04:09 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- joblock at 13-11-2015 04:16 PM (8 years ago)
They said they want Biafra , only God knows how the Biafra country they want to create will look like.
Posted: at 13-11-2015 04:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 13-11-2015 04:16 PM (8 years ago)
better luck next time boys!! you have meet your waterloo!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 13-11-2015 04:16 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Slimchery at 13-11-2015 04:22 PM (8 years ago)
all kind of shoe and bags dey bags wey i carry go naija, if you dey benin, let me know so that i go give you person wey you go call go see anyone you like, many and nor cost much for the people wey need to look like her and this is not joke, let me know, i have 20feet container in naija with my friends and nice stuff dey inside but na benin direct so if you reside in benin you need good stuff from Italy call me +393512403339
Posted: at 13-11-2015 04:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 13-11-2015 05:33 PM (8 years ago)
Abeg biafra make una move out of naija, am tired of reading about drug smugglers...
E be like say somebody don curse una wit dis drugs tin...
Posted: at 13-11-2015 05:33 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 13-11-2015 05:58 PM (8 years ago)
After the reggae play the blues
Posted: at 13-11-2015 05:58 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Troublemenot at 13-11-2015 05:59 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: victorstic1 on 13-11-2015 03:40 PM
IGBO KWENU!  IGBO ALL THE WAY!  MSY GOD DELIVER UNA FROM THIS DEPARTMENT

No count South -South join ooo our hands are clean we are not ibos
Posted: at 13-11-2015 05:59 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 13-11-2015 06:09 PM (8 years ago)
Abeg make I hear word from all of una wey de comment biafra dis,biafra dat,every tribe has their own rogues&criminals,ndi ochi ndi ochi.
Posted: at 13-11-2015 06:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 13-11-2015 08:52 PM (8 years ago)
not all that call.my Father shall enter God's kingdom but only those who do the will of the Father
Posted: at 13-11-2015 08:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 13-11-2015 08:53 PM (8 years ago)
what has he been preaching to the people? I wonder.
Posted: at 13-11-2015 08:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wikigenius at 13-11-2015 09:00 PM (8 years ago)
Biafran no dey carry last
Posted: at 13-11-2015 09:00 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming