21-Yrs-Old Student Pretend To Be Lagos CP To Raise His School Fees

Date: 01-12-2015 12:11 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 1-12-2015 12:11 PM (8 years ago)

The police in Lagos have arrested a polytechnic student, Obinna Collins, who allegedly impersonated the Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, to defraud some members of the public.
We learnt that 21-year-old Collins allegedly opened a fake Facebook account in the name of the CP, through which he solicited funds to run a non-existent charity.
According to the police, Collins was trailed and arrested after defrauding one of his victims ─ a woman ─ who he allegedly asked to send N20,000 to his account.
It was gathered that the woman, after realizing that she had been duped, reported the matter at the Lagos State Police Command headquarters, which eventually led to Collins’ arrest at a filling station in the Ikeja area.
Speaking with us, Collins, who claimed to be an Electrical Engineering student of the polytechnic, said he had defrauded only one victim before his arrest. He added that he was looking for money to pay his school expenses.

He said,
“I opened a Facebook account for the Lagos CP in September. I chose the CP of Lagos because I knew it was a popular office. I opened the account as a means to sustain my studies. I opened it to help myself in school. I only defrauded a woman. She sent N20,000 to my bank account.
“The lady’s name is Ronke. She said she wanted to date the Commissioner of Police, and she wanted to also meet me. She added that she had feelings for me. I told her that I run a charity and had a group of boys that I sponsored their education. So, I asked her to send in a support and she sent the money.
“I was arrested by the police at a filling station in Ikeja. I did not know the lady had reported me after paying the money. I came to the area to meet her and I was arrested.

Posted: at 1-12-2015 12:11 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Wikigenius at 1-12-2015 12:21 PM (8 years ago)
Only in biafra
Posted: at 1-12-2015 12:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- bennieben at 1-12-2015 12:23 PM (8 years ago)
After d reggae na d Blues!!! Face d dance my friend
Posted: at 1-12-2015 12:23 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mopera at 1-12-2015 12:37 PM (8 years ago)
Can you imagine... i dnt knw why some people dnt want to use there hand to work for money.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 12:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mopera at 1-12-2015 12:41 PM (8 years ago)
Can you see what you put yourself into nw becz of money, Na only igbo people they do this kind of things. they can go any lenght to look for money.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 12:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 1-12-2015 01:18 PM (8 years ago)
 real mumu,u dey impersonate comissioner of police the woman invite u and u realy go .wen u know say u no be the real CP
Posted: at 1-12-2015 01:18 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 1-12-2015 01:20 PM (8 years ago)
You try boy thou u were caught,put more effort next time,you for go to all those top greedy politicians.hmmmmmm.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 01:20 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 1-12-2015 01:25 PM (8 years ago)
Bad market for u
Posted: at 1-12-2015 01:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 1-12-2015 01:57 PM (8 years ago)
We don hear dis b4, why repeating it...?
Posted: at 1-12-2015 01:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- maizaxx at 1-12-2015 01:58 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry but I have a contrary opinion to the issue. Can we find out if he is truly a student? What is his background like? If truly all he said was true, I am of the opinion he should be sponsored to go to school and then giving community service. Militants who had no future ambition other than bunkering are giving stipends where as here is someone who wants to go to school but has no means to doing it. I believe we should start looking at things from different perspectives. Don't get me wrong what he did is wrong but there are different ways to correct a child. Because I bet you send him to prison and he will come back more hardened than before.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 01:58 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yebo15 at 1-12-2015 01:58 PM (8 years ago)
People are so gullible God forbid
Posted: at 1-12-2015 01:58 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ken1230 at 1-12-2015 02:17 PM (8 years ago)
Give the boy amnesty as he did not kill anyone.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 02:17 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 1-12-2015 03:12 PM (8 years ago)
leave the boy alone!!!  make una  go catch real criminal in abuja
Posted: at 1-12-2015 03:12 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- winace at 1-12-2015 04:35 PM (8 years ago)
Where ur parents? Can't they pay ur school fee? Or u have gone to show ur self as a rich kid in school and u want to meet d standard.
Posted: at 1-12-2015 04:35 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- botlex at 1-12-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago)
Guy u for look another alternative to raise your fees. But our police sef, person go steal billions dem go cover am, but another person go theif 20k dem go manhandle am.
Not saying stealing is good though
Posted: at 1-12-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oways at 1-12-2015 05:27 PM (8 years ago)
Biafra man
Posted: at 1-12-2015 05:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 1-12-2015 05:48 PM (8 years ago)
This is going to be bad he is going straight to jail
Posted: at 1-12-2015 05:48 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 1-12-2015 06:03 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Michael Oluwapelumi on  1-12-2015 12:21 PM
Only in biafra
Guy, e be  like say na candle wax dey ur skull. Which tribe no dey commit crime?
Posted: at 1-12-2015 06:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 1-12-2015 07:27 PM (8 years ago)
NA ALL TRIBE O...

Posted: at 1-12-2015 07:27 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 2-12-2015 05:58 AM (8 years ago)

Where ur parents? Can't they pay ur school fee? Or u have gone to show ur self as a rich kid in school and u want to meet d standard....My sister why not ask the boy if his parent are in position to give him financial support toward his education,some parents born like rabbit,dem no dey even send any of dem. 
Posted: at 2-12-2015 05:58 AM (8 years ago) | Hero