Mother Of Two Detained By Police For Allegedly Reporting The Death Of Her Neighbour

Date: 09-12-2015 6:33 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-12-2015 06:33 AM (8 years ago)

Residents of Tapa Community in  Ebute-Meta area of Lagos State, have called on  Governor Akinwunmi Ambode to come to the aid of a 32-year-old mother of two detained at  Denton Police station for allegedly reporting the death of her neighbour to the police.

The woman, identified as Gbemisola, they alleged was being detained for her inability to pay N80,000 to bail herself from the police.

The residents claimed that trouble started for the mother of two, sometime in November when the apartment of one of her neighbours called Timothy was gutted by fire. Gbemisola was said to have raised alarm that attracted others who assisted in putting out the fire.

One of the residents who spoke on the condition of anonymity said, the arrest and detention of the woman came as a surprise to everybody in the community.

She said:
“We were sleeping when the deceased’s neighbour raised  alarm about the fire incident; we all rushed to the building and put out the fire. Few days later, there was serious odour enveloping the community. So, some concerned youths went into the deceased’s apartment only to find his bloated body on the floor and that was what prompted the neighbour to report the matter at the station.

“When we heard about the woman’s arrest and detention, we went to the station in an attempt to persuade the Investigation Officer to release her only for us to be told that we should pay N80,000 or she would be charged to court for murder and arson.

“We are appealing to Governor Ambode to come to the aid of the woman because she is suffering over what she knew nothing about.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:33 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maizaxx at 9-12-2015 06:43 AM (8 years ago)
How disheartening. Tomorrow you will tell us the police is our friend. Please I am equally throwing my weight on the governor to come to the aid of this innocent woman.
Where are all the non governmental organizations? Please come to the aid of this innocent and concerned and upright citizen
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 9-12-2015 06:44 AM (8 years ago)
Oh my goodness Nigeria police ooooooo . Na wetin dey worry dis pple. And some are educated among them o How can u detain someone who came to report a case??? U see why pple don't help each other any longer cus of d kind of security personnel we have now? D woman good has turn to bad. And since wen bail money sky rocket to 80,0000?Huh?? Wen will d govt inspect and over haul d police force,
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:44 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 9-12-2015 06:50 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa o
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:50 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 9-12-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago)
But is this lady not tired of openning her mouth.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:52 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 9-12-2015 06:55 AM (8 years ago)
Why is our police officers so now incident cannot happen then someone rush to the police station and report the matter. Please they should allow the woman to go and take care of her kids.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 9-12-2015 07:03 AM (8 years ago)
Hahaha,police is your friend,woman relax in the cell cos the police wants you to be their friend,if you go now,they will not see you again.Seriously nigeria police need to be wipe from this surface of the earth,walahi,they are all,I mean all corrupt.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 9-12-2015 07:17 AM (8 years ago)
Seriously we dnt have police in this country. 9ja police were so wicked and heartless, all they knw is money and they can do anythn to get money frm people. Government need to do sumthn abt this country police.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:17 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 9-12-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago)
Can you see the behavior of nigerian police? To tell you the truth, sometimes I am ashamed to be called a Nigerian.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:54 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bennieben at 9-12-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago)
I think this was d reason why that uniform refused to help that sick man on 3rd mainland bridge. If he help and that man die, the police won't say he is a uniform man cos he will be detain and force to write statement. Naija police see na wa for dem ooo!
Posted: at 9-12-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 9-12-2015 09:42 AM (8 years ago)
That is what u get when u make illiterates police officers. Failed govt

Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 9-12-2015 10:46 AM (8 years ago)
DON'T BLAME THOSE THAT CALLED THAT COUNTRY ZOO
IT IS ONLY IN ZOO ONE WILL HEAR ALL THIESE KIND NEWS
Posted: at 9-12-2015 10:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 9-12-2015 11:38 AM (8 years ago)
Zoo police (TUFIAKWA)
Posted: at 9-12-2015 11:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 9-12-2015 11:50 AM (8 years ago)
Naija police no follow tey tey,nah greed and selfishness go kill them.if no be say them no fit them go fit rob all of us 4 9ja.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 11:50 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zeeken at 9-12-2015 01:01 PM (8 years ago)
huhmmmm , i can't blame people not reporting news to the police cause u will be scapegoat...
Posted: at 9-12-2015 01:01 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- james987 at 9-12-2015 01:17 PM (8 years ago)
Naija anything goes.. once officers in uniform see citizens all they see is money and not humans. No justice.. Too bad for the innocent.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 01:17 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ayodun1 at 9-12-2015 01:46 PM (8 years ago)
That's police for you.... Those guys aren't normal.

Posted: at 9-12-2015 01:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 9-12-2015 04:01 PM (8 years ago)
u too pay for bail!! we all know bail na police salary it not freeeee
Posted: at 9-12-2015 04:01 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- SweetDaddy1 at 9-12-2015 04:23 PM (8 years ago)
Crying for Nigeria police... Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 9-12-2015 04:23 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zauber at 9-12-2015 07:35 PM (8 years ago)
wellcome to zoo. baboons and monkeys
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:35 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. See Tuition Fee Receipts Yahaya Bello Paid American School From 2025 Session Through 2031

2. PZ Cussons Considers Leaving Africa After 140yrs Over Nigeria’s Sales Plunge

3. SuperComputer Predicts EPL Title Winners After Victories For Both Arsenal And Man City

4. ‘One Chance’ Robbery Gang Escape Lynching In Umuahia

5. PART 2: Zenith Bank’s Management Pay A Visit To Allegedly Apologize To Fayose - Photos+Video

6. Nigerian Lady, Clara Chizoba Breaks Guinness World Record For Longest Interview

7. Davido Reveals Why He Filed Lawsuit Against Perpetrator Of Fake News Of His Arrest

8. Customs Intercepts 6,240 Bags Of Dynamite Explosives, Arrests Two Suspects In Kebbi

9. Man Declared Wanted For Stabbing Wife To Death & Attempted Murder Of Their 2 Children

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

9. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

10. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says