Nigerian Students On Federal Scholarship Stranded In Cuba Over Non Payment Of Allowances

Date: 09-12-2015 3:39 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 9-12-2015 03:39 PM (8 years ago)

Nigerian students under the Bilateral Education Agreement (BEA) programmer of the Federal Scholarship Board in Cuba, has condemned the incessant late arrival of their stipends.
The BEA scheme is a joint programme run by the Nigerian government through the Federal Ministry of Education in collaboration with governments of other countries including Cuba, China, Russia, Morocco, Algeria, Ukraine.
In the scheme, outstanding students from all the states of the federation are nominated by the Nigerian government to the foreign governments.
In a statement signed by the Nigerian students president in Cuba, Evelyn Balogun–Arogunjo, the stranded Nigerian students said:
“Since January, we have been going through hell and especially for graduates of this year who have been asked to vacate the school premises with the obligation to rent houses to live in and accommodation is extremely expensive.
In the last eleven months, we have not received our stipends from the Federal Scholarship Board (FSB), Abuja. Not a kobo or a single cent.
Having not received a single cent in the last eleven months from the government that sent us abroad, how are we expected to survive?
Due to Cuba economic restrictions, we do not have the right or permission to work nor receive money from outside for those who have the opportunity compared to other Nigerian students on scholarship in other countries, we only depend on stipends promised by the federal scholarship board.”

The statement added that
“Nigerian students on scholarship in other countries have all been paid except for us in Cuba and this is always the case.
“The graduates always receive stipends of eight months in their final year which is from January to August due to the fact that we are expected to be out of the country of residence by the end of August but now we are currently four months passed the expected date of departure, we are now in the obligation to pay rents monthly till when all allowances are sent.
Students were promised flight ticket fees back home after their third year of career during the period of vacation which never arrived.
It is impossible to pay for our accommodation for the last four months from the allowance supposedly being sent due to the fact that the last four months was never budgeted in our stipends for this years.
We the students with the assistance of the Nigerian Embassy here in Havana Cuba have done everything possible to communicate with the present Executive Director of the Federal Scholarship Board Mrs. Ifeoma Agunwah through letters, calls, social media, but no concern has been shown about our present situation.
Also with the expiration of our identification cards, our cost of living has quadrupled due to the fact that our status automatically changes to tourist one.”

Posted: at 9-12-2015 03:39 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- elchymo at 9-12-2015 04:29 PM (8 years ago)
That is the cross you people will have to bear, blame buhari for all the trouble u are going through
Posted: at 9-12-2015 04:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 9-12-2015 04:30 PM (8 years ago)
useless set of politician which future the country go come get now
Posted: at 9-12-2015 04:30 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Larry28 at 9-12-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry
Posted: at 9-12-2015 04:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 9-12-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago)
They will survive.
In Nigeria only those who can afford to pay the huge bribe and know the right people get their children given scholarships. And so, their parents are not poor!

Again they will  survive.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Maureenwhite at 9-12-2015 06:28 PM (8 years ago)
no comment for now
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:28 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 9-12-2015 06:45 PM (8 years ago)
I dey come
Posted: at 9-12-2015 06:45 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oways at 9-12-2015 07:11 PM (8 years ago)
Buhari government
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 9-12-2015 07:15 PM (8 years ago)
Wettin concern me with this one, why they no want stay here for our country school abi our educational system is not good?
Posted: at 9-12-2015 07:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 9-12-2015 08:13 PM (8 years ago)
You people should just ascpt the fact that nothing nigeria can do for this issue. There is no money in this country as buhari said. so nothing this country fit do for that nw.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 08:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- onyenmeme at 9-12-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago)
the scholarship is only for those in the sit of power that loaded with money show me one orphan in your mist who dont have money to pay or one from motherless babies. phyuk nigeria with their seek and hide
Posted: at 9-12-2015 08:24 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 9-12-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago)
And they will say yahoo boys are 419. Govt is d real yahoo yahoo plus, 419 and wash. If they can't do something, they shld not start it
Posted: at 9-12-2015 08:26 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nonix22001 at 10-12-2015 01:28 AM (8 years ago)
all na change. cuba of all places, imagin! mctweee
Posted: at 10-12-2015 01:28 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zezprincess at 10-12-2015 06:41 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm,una still have mouth to complain,other states dey deport their students back home,una still de talk of una own say na late arrival,make una cucuba de arrange una belongings,soonest una go land naija.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 06:41 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Zadok1 at 10-12-2015 08:05 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Novia Kelly on  9-12-2015 06:45 PM
I dey come
What is Nigerian students learning in Cuba, a country that is suffering
from sanction for decades .
Posted: at 10-12-2015 08:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DAMILARE100 at 10-12-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Chimaobi on  9-12-2015 04:29 PM
That is the cross you people will have to bear, blame buhari for all the trouble u are going through
..They should blame Buhari for a situation that has been lingering since January? Do you realise such payment might have been omitted in the year 2015 budget? If it wasn't in the budget, where should Buhari take the money from? Why did'y GEJ pay up till March or even April before he left?
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:26 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 10-12-2015 10:34 AM (8 years ago)
Pathetic!!! So hard to think of coming back home when you are abroad where there are no power failure, stray bullet etc
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:34 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 10-12-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago)
Nigeria is something else. if it were money to send senators on a trip or other frivolities the money will be provided
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 10-12-2015 03:31 PM (8 years ago)
يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 10-12-2015 03:31 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 10-12-2015 05:49 PM (8 years ago)
The whole system is down,I pity Naija.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 05:49 PM (8 years ago) | Hero