How Okonjo-Iweala Transferred N61.4bn Abacha Loot To Dasuki With Jonathan's Approval

Date: 09-12-2015 9:02 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-12-2015 09:02 PM (8 years ago)

Former Minister of Finance, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala reportedly approved the transfer of at least N61.4 billion ($300 million and £5.5 million) to the Office of the National Security Adviser, Sambo Dasuki.

According to Premium Times, the funds were transferred from the loot recovered from late military ruler, Sani Abacha.

Okonjo-Iweala was said to have turned blind eyes to how the money was spent but, according to a document sighted by the online news portal, she requested that former President Goodluck Jonathan directly demand accountability from Dasuki.

Report said Abacha stole an estimated $5 billion from Nigeria, the funds which are being returned to the country's coffers in portions following agreements with  Switzerland and the United States.

About $700 million is believed to have been returned from Switzerland alone - the total amount of funds returned is however unclear.

Dasuki is being investigated for his role in the disbursement of $2.1 billion and N643 billion meant for the procurement of arms to fight the raging insurgency in Nigeria’s north east region.

Also facing probe are former governor of Sokoto State, Attahiru Bafarawa, and founder of DAAR communications, owners of Africa Independent Television and Raypower radio network, Raymond Dokpesi.

According to a letter dated January 20, 2015 and addressed to Jonathan, the money was transferred following a January 12, 2015 request by the office of the NSA under Dasuki for funds for the procurement of arms and ammunition as well as intelligence equipment.

The letter, reportedly seen by Premium Times, also showed that 50 per cent of the recently recovered Abacha loot was allotted for “urgent security need” such as the procurement of arms and ammunition while the other half was set aside to be used for development purposes.

Okojo-Iweala allegedly wrote in the letter, “Please find a request by the National Security Adviser (NSA) for the transfer of $300 million and £5.5 million of the recovered Abacha funds to an ONSA [Office of the National Security Adviser] operations account.

“The NSA has explained that this is to enable the purchase of ammunition, security, and other intelligence equipment for the security agencies in order to enable them fully confront the ongoing Boko Haram threat.

“His request is sequel to the meeting you chaired with the committee on the use of recovered funds where the decision was made that recovered Abacha funds would be split 50-50 between urgent security needs to confront Boko Haram and development need (including a portion for the Future Generations window of the Sovereign Wealth Fund)."

She further said the letter was to seek Jonathan’s approval for the funds to be disbursed to the ONSA and noted that she expected Dasuki to directly give an account of how he spent the funds to the ex-president.

“This letter is to seek your approval to borrow these funds, for now, to disburse to the NSA. These funds form part of the projected Federal Government Independent Revenue, to be appropriated, in the light and for accountability, given the peculiar nature of security and intelligence transactions, we would expect the NSA to account to Your Excellency for the utilisation of the funds,” she added.

The document showed that Jonathan approved the transfer on January 30, 2015.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:02 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 9-12-2015 09:10 PM (8 years ago)
So the dss&efcc go also arrest&detain oga jona for aiding&abetting looting(hahaha) nigeria,we are watching.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emmydon44 at 9-12-2015 09:13 PM (8 years ago)
OK why didn't the apc govt prosecute fashola for lying that he isn't the one approving money for Lagos state.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:13 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- kp45 at 9-12-2015 09:15 PM (8 years ago)
Noted
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:15 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 9-12-2015 09:20 PM (8 years ago)
make then carry Jonathan immediately  !!!
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:20 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- OOSSYY at 9-12-2015 09:40 PM (8 years ago)
I SAID IT THAT THIS NGOZI OKONJO IWEALA IS phyukING CORRUPT
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:40 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 9-12-2015 09:55 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm let's sit and watch as dis drama unfold. Some many pple will be expose soon and it's going to be both parties.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 09:55 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DRBRAIDE101 at 9-12-2015 10:12 PM (8 years ago)
I DON'T SEEM TO UNDERSTAND HOW WE COMMENT SOMETIMES, MAYBE SOME OF US DIDNT READ THE DETAILS BEFORE MAKING COMMENTS, WE READ THE HEADLINES AND GO STRAIGHT TO COMMENT
Posted: at 9-12-2015 10:12 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- DRBRAIDE101 at 9-12-2015 10:18 PM (8 years ago)
I DON'T SEEM TO UNDERSTAND HOW WE COMMENT SOMETIMES, MAYBE SOME OF US DIDNT READ THE DETAILS BEFORE MAKING COMMENTS, WE READ THE HEADLINES AND GO STRAIGHT TO COMMENT.

Someone.Please tell me, what's.the Indication.of Corruption about Okonjo n Jonathan in this publication?

The publication is only making it clear that funds where duely released to Dasuki to get his Job welldone. Please lets be a bit careful of how we caption our posts n also make comments to avoid. Heating up d polity.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 10:18 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- bennieben at 9-12-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago)
Jonathan regime finish Nigeria. The worst looters so far na em government. I pray make Buhari nor yawa am oooo bc the firm nor go get piracy or part two. I sit down da watch first.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 10:28 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Oworen25 at 9-12-2015 11:31 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm so this head of State abacha been really steal from Nigeria, I see why everytime the family will post saying that they can never be poor.
Posted: at 9-12-2015 11:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- showskill at 10-12-2015 12:25 AM (8 years ago)
YOU PEOPLE DAT SAYING GEJ SHLD CONTINUE AS 9JA PRESIDENT YOU ALL INSANE COZ DIS GUY CALLED GEJ IS JUST LIKE ABACHA THAT CAME TO POWER AND SWEEP 9JA MONEY AND MOST PEOPLE BEHIND HIS GOVT REGIME IS IGBOS, I WOULD LIKE PMB SHLD PUT GEJ TO JUSTICE COZ DIS GUY FINISH 9JA !!!
Posted: at 10-12-2015 12:25 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- mjyabah2 at 10-12-2015 03:25 AM (8 years ago)
@oossyy: It seems u were unable to read all of it, or u could not comprehend the post. Sometimes it is okay to read an article more than one to ease better understanding; your comment failed woefully. Madam Ngozi Iweala gave a comprehensive detail of how the money was transferred: who asked for it, the account the money was put into, the person in charge of the department (NSA), notification to her boss, request to validate the need for money transfer, etc. Which part of the story did u not understand; because, she covered her back while executing the request of her superiors. Please read it again, I know her name sounds like Igbo, the hated ethnicity in the country, but keep your hate aside and make rational judgment of the situation based on the elements of facts in the post. 
Posted: at 10-12-2015 03:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 10-12-2015 07:11 AM (8 years ago)
So for this country, if them recover one loot, that loot will then be looted again.. Na wa oo. If them recover the money from dasuki, another people dey wait to loot am still,..
Posted: at 10-12-2015 07:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kwamebuyaya at 10-12-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: OSSY BABA on  9-12-2015 09:40 PM
I SAID IT THAT THIS NGOZI OKONJO IWEALA IS phyukING CORRUPT
Please can you explain how she's corrupt? She simply wrote a letter seeking approval to disburse certain amount of money to aid purchase of arms. I hope you understand English language. Please before you write any shit make it's screen through your brain and ensure you make intelligent argument.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 10-12-2015 07:53 AM (8 years ago)
Oh so she confessed at last. Onye oshin!
Posted: at 10-12-2015 07:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 10-12-2015 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
she worked with approval but the end point was for accountability. some where along the line the gap came. Jonathan and Iweala will only be culpable if it showed they received the proceeds of this sum in their account or shared the loot.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Powerfulify at 10-12-2015 09:36 AM (8 years ago)
Ngozi did a wonderful job by seeking approval b4 d money ws transferred n Gej did a good job 2 by giving d approval for NSA department 4 procurement of arms 2 fight d insurgents, if Gej refused 2 approve it den everybody will turn n blame him 4 fighting d insurgents.so NSA department should give account of the money given to them. Everybody should leave GEJ n NGOZI alone.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 10-12-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago)
Recovered loots are being looted by new looters. This will continue till rapture comes and we will keep on hearing news and nothing would consequently happen.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:07 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 10-12-2015 10:10 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Bennie Blanco on  9-12-2015 10:28 PM
Jonathan regime finish Nigeria. The worst looters so far na em government. I pray make Buhari nor yawa am oooo bc the firm nor go get piracy or part two. I sit down da watch first.
Then let the justice be done. If anyone is confirmed looting let them face the wrath of our laws, but all we keep hearing is this does that and that does this yet no one has been brought to justice.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. "I Did It. I Killed Her" -Man Who Strangles Wife In Hospital Bed Over Medical Bills Confesses

2. "Don’t Look At My Legs. I Can Handle A Woman" - Physically Challenged Nigerian Man Brags

3. Nigerian Man, Desmond Oogwu Celebrates As He Survives Motor Accident, Shares Accident Scene

4. Man, Abdu Hamidu Arrested For Allegedly Sexually Assaulting His Niece In Adamawa

5. Dunamis Testifier, Vera Anyim Reportedly Arrested And Detained by Police

6. Presidency Confirms When President Tinubu Will Return From His 'Unannounced' Trip

7. Disturbing Video of Singer, Skales Covered With Bl00d Raises Concerns on Social Media

8. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

9. Jnr Pope: Adanma Luke Blasts TC Okafor For Using The Boat Mishap He Survived For Content

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years