Baby Dies In Fire Outbreak After Mum Locks Her Indoor In Lagos

Date: 11-12-2015 6:31 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-12-2015 06:31 AM (8 years ago)

PUNCH Metro learnt that the child was locked up in the room by the mother, who was cooking in the kitchen.

She was said to have left the kitchen for somewhere else, when the fire broke out.

Residents called officials of the Lagos State Fire Service. But it was too late as the building had been razed down, while the child was burnt to death.

A witness said:
 “The family, Mr. and Mrs. Monday, just moved into the house. The woman was cooking something in the kitchen and she locked up her baby in the room. She later left the house. A few minutes later, fire broke out in the house and people called the fire service. But by the time they came, the structure had been razed, while the baby was dead.”

The Director of the state fire service, Rasak Fadipe, who confirmed the incident, said firefighters from the Lekki Phase 2 station responded with 10,000 litres of water, adding that the damage had been done before they could get there.

Fadipe, who said the rate of fire outbreak was increasing due to the harmattan season, said the agency responded to other four fire incidents. He said:
 “The incident happened around 10am and our men from Eti-Osa went there. Preliminary investigation shows that the baby was locked up inside the room while the mother cooked in the kitchen where the fire started from.

People should be careful at this period. Refuse burning is rampant and people have to be warned to stop the habit. We should start policing one another. If you see somebody packing refuse, or bags of dirt, watch how he or she will dispose it because if the person sets fire on it, there is a tendency it can lead to a fire outbreak.

“Anytime there is fire, please don’t hesitate to call the fire service. Even if you can handle it, call us just in case it gets out of hand.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 11-12-2015 06:31 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- temi_1 at 11-12-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago)
What a mother!  See how you carelessly wasted your child's life
Posted: at 11-12-2015 06:48 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 11-12-2015 07:02 AM (8 years ago)
The mother is very careless. How can she leave the baby all alone in the house, what stops her from taking the baby with her? Useless mother
Posted: at 11-12-2015 07:02 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 11-12-2015 07:11 AM (8 years ago)
The mother is indeed very careless and should be charged for such a terrible n extremely avoidable mistake, but away from the mother, my people na when Nigeria firefighters go begin respond swift enough b4 damage had been done?

Posted: at 11-12-2015 07:11 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- x-avier at 11-12-2015 08:22 AM (8 years ago)
Let us not be too hasty to blame the mother here.
A lot of us here know how caring for a baby is. Once the baby sleeps, we don't want to wake her up and it's time for you to do all the things you were supposed to do like house chores....etc.
We also know babies can be stolen from their parents' houses if left unattended for even as little as 5minutes (I think there was a story like that here earlier this year).
If she'd left the door open and the baby was missing when she got back, we'd label her BAD MOTHER.
If she'd carried the baby into the kitchen while cooking (probably with kerosene), and the baby had developed respiratory problems from smoke inhalation, we'd have labeled her CARELESS MOTHER.
The only question we should be asking is "for how long was she gone?"
If it wasn't long, then I see it as no fault of hers.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 08:22 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ayodun1 at 11-12-2015 08:33 AM (8 years ago)
Eeyah...... The mother can't really be blamed for keeping her child indoor. She wouldn't have know such incident would occur..

Posted: at 11-12-2015 08:33 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 11-12-2015 09:10 AM (8 years ago)
@x-avier,you have spoken well,you are the true son of your mother,you spoke as if you are a woman&a mother,am strongly behind u.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:10 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 11-12-2015 09:37 AM (8 years ago)
Now dat harmattan is here. We shld be careful. We don't know cause d fire but whatever it is , she shld not have locked d child inside in d name of protection.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:37 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 11-12-2015 10:27 AM (8 years ago)
Careless mother, this will show as a good example to other mother to always have good care and vigilant to their babies.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 10:27 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 11-12-2015 11:00 AM (8 years ago)
evil mom on rampage
Posted: at 11-12-2015 11:00 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- diezo at 11-12-2015 03:11 PM (8 years ago)
يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 11-12-2015 03:11 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yemoma at 12-12-2015 02:49 AM (8 years ago)
Very sad news
Posted: at 12-12-2015 02:49 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- AmazingMarie at 12-12-2015 12:53 PM (8 years ago)
so painful that the baby died
Posted: at 12-12-2015 12:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 13-12-2015 06:46 AM (8 years ago)
sum woman of nowaday are so just wicked that they dnt hav any feeling for there children. why can she carry the baby with him when his going. must she lock the babe indoor. nw see wetin u cause urself, useless woman.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 06:46 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 13-12-2015 07:40 PM (8 years ago)
It's not advisable for any parent to lock up a child in the house but she never had knew this will happen,sorry woman and R.I.P poor child.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 07:40 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 16-12-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago)
dis very bad oo. may d child soul rest in peace
Posted: at 16-12-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 7-01-2016 04:06 AM (8 years ago)
Oh no. What sad news.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 04:06 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac