Why Jonathan Ordered Sambo To Pay Me N670M – Thisday Publisher, Nduka Obaigbena

Date: 11-12-2015 9:01 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-12-2015 09:01 PM (8 years ago)

Publisher of ThisDay Newspapers and President, Newspapers Proprietors Association of Nigeria (NPAN), Nduka Obaigbena has made clarifications over the purpose of the N550 million and N120 million payments he received from the office of the former National Security Adviser, Sambo Dasuki.

Mr. Obaigbena made the clarifications in response to an invitation by the Economic and Financial Commission (EFCC) in connection to the ongoing probe into the disbursement of $2.1 billion arms procurement fund by the office of the former NSA.

The ThisDay publisher, who also owns Arise News, a US-based world news channel, denied ever receiving any suspicious funds from the office of the former NSA, explaining that all funds he received were “payment for compensation to mitigate” terror attacks on the head office of his newspaper in Abuja and another attack on the newspaper’s office in Kaduna in 2012.

He estimated the damage done to his business by the Boko Haram attacks to be worth over N2.5 billion.
In a letter, dated December 9, 2015, addressed to the Chairman of the EFCC, Mr Obaigbena explained that he was in the United States and would honour the invitation in person as soon as he returned to the country.

He, however, stated that he thought it necessary to make the clarification prior to his return to Nigeria.

“N100,000,000 +N100,000,000 and N250,000,000 respectively received in August, November and February 2014 as compensation to mitigate the dastardly Boko Haram twin bombing of the Thisday newspapers offices in Abuja and Kaduna on Thursday April 26, 2012, during which four innocent Nigerian lives were lost, our building destroyed and we lost full colour Goss printing towers and three (3) pre-press Computer-To-Plate and auxiliary equipment and other (in)valuable property valued at over N2.5 billion having lost our printing facility to terrorists due to inadequate protection by the Federal Government of Nigeria”, he wrote.

Justifying his request for compensation, Mr Obaigbena said that the federal government spent N3 billion in reconstructing the United Nations office that was bombed by Boko Haram in August 2011 with more earmarked for furnishing.

He further wrote that he received additional N120 million in March 2015 on behalf of the NPAN, of which he is its president and 12 newspapers, who demanded compensation for the “unlawful seizure and stoppage of circulation by armed soldiers in Abuja and several cities”.

Mr. Obaigbena explained that as president of the NPAN, he led media leaders to hold discussions with the Goodluck Jonathan administration to avert a planned class action the newspapers were going to institute against the Armed Forces and Nigerian government.

He further explained that on both occasions, former President Jonathan initially refused to accede to the demands so as not to create a precedence but later approved the payment after he (Nduka) confronted him with the effort the government had undertaken to reconstruct the UN building.

“On both occasions, President Jonathaan said he did not wish to lay precedence and in our case, he specifically said there were many victims of Boko Haram, I had to confront President Jonathan on the Issue when I learnt of the approval for the reconstruction of the Abuja United Nations Building, since we were the second major organisation that would be attacked by Boko Haram after the UN attack. He therefore directed me to meet with the National Security Adviser who processed the three payments in question”.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:01 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 11-12-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago)
Jonathan! Jonathan! Jonathan!......GOD, when did Nigeria offend YOU that YOU sent him to us?
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 11-12-2015 09:16 PM (8 years ago)
What?Huh? compensation for Terror attack?? Since when does Nigerian Govt. starts paying compensations?Huh? Your business was properly insured Mr. Publisher, so therefore, its the insurance company's headaches..
Sorry, but I am NOT buying ur excuse.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 11-12-2015 09:19 PM (8 years ago)
All dis thieves are now looking for who to blame in their problems. If truly dis govt want transparency then they shld prove all from 1999 till date then I will support them. I don't trust them Dats why am against them.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:19 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 11-12-2015 09:37 PM (8 years ago)
In these race don't trust no anyone but yourself and even when you trust yourself you might not be satisfy with the end result. God is all.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:37 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 11-12-2015 09:38 PM (8 years ago)
President Goodluck Jonathan was only trying to make peace reign and trying to compensate this man for the damage the northern boko haram boys have done is not bad at all.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- bennieben at 11-12-2015 09:45 PM (8 years ago)
Jona regime again? The tori don dey long ooooo. Sit down luk na dog name.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 09:45 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Asterimou at 11-12-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: oworen obong on 11-12-2015 09:38 PM
President Goodluck Jonathan was only trying to make peace reign and trying to compensate this man for the damage the northern boko haram boys have done is not bad at all.

Someone just said that His insurance company is supposed to pay his loss. How about the millions displaced by BK? Were they compensated? how much was used to compensate those people? My friend don't take side with evil OK? You shouldn't even conclude yet. No corrupt person will just owe up immediately. Wait until the trail begins and more allegations  start pouring in.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 10:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 11-12-2015 10:42 PM (8 years ago)
I hate it with passion when some people keep saying why the current government didn't say the corruption war from IBB, OBJ and other thieves..    if i were buhari i would do the same thing, JONATHAN and his CREW must face the music!!  na dem just comot government office !!!!!
Posted: at 11-12-2015 10:42 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- DemmyBlack at 11-12-2015 11:33 PM (8 years ago)
So Nigeria Govt is now the insurance company to pay compensation. Jonathan...
Posted: at 11-12-2015 11:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wazubia at 11-12-2015 11:55 PM (8 years ago)
How can Jonathan been so coward, to west Nigerian money like this if all this is truth. Power!!! He just easily forgot how he went to school with naked foot. Because his parents could not afford shoe for him. I am disappointed.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 11:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okuboye at 12-12-2015 05:54 AM (8 years ago)
You can tell us u don't insure your property.  This is so sad see how Jonathan finish this country.  Look at the Value of our naira
Posted: at 12-12-2015 05:54 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 12-12-2015 05:58 AM (8 years ago)
OMG...! Is this even possible? Government of a country using the countries money to compensate a private business??? And the mumu man is justifying the stealing? Wait ooo? Did this man just say his business and properties are worth over 2.5 billion Naira? Haba, Naija which way? @Winance, I dey respect you gan for this place, but chale, you dey surprise me oooo....! How much your family enjoy for JONA looting sef?
Posted: at 12-12-2015 05:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sonofman25 at 12-12-2015 06:08 AM (8 years ago)
And our soldiers dat lost there live wen fighting BK how much were there family given, were dey even compensated at All. Someone said dis govt should start probing corruption from 1999. Cus sentiment, TRIBALISM etc dey worry u. Am pretty sure if GEJ become president again in 2019 he will also probe PMB. gej should av probe d administration b4 his own but he choose not to
Posted: at 12-12-2015 06:08 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sonofman25 at 12-12-2015 06:16 AM (8 years ago)
It bother me how we Nigerians will just leave d matter at hand n start saying trash we r talking abt $2.1b dat is been control,  manage and misuse by less than 1% of d total population.
Posted: at 12-12-2015 06:16 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dleg at 12-12-2015 06:18 AM (8 years ago)
His business was not the only one that is damaged by boko haram. Every other business men and women should be compensated too. This has to be taken care by the insurance if it is insured. All this are excuses to justify themselves.
Well, it should be check if it is right for FG to pay such compensation under the law. If so, then no issue. But if not, he should be probe also and the money should be recover from him
Posted: at 12-12-2015 06:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- youngrashy at 12-12-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago)
Jonathan is a confirm thief..He should be arrested too
Posted: at 12-12-2015 08:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 12-12-2015 11:36 AM (8 years ago)
People using country money to settle someone's personal loss. What of those whose families are affected by bokoharam, were they compensated? This country don tire me i swear
Posted: at 12-12-2015 11:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Maxwell29 at 12-12-2015 08:57 PM (8 years ago)
Heeeey!!! Singing tym
Posted: at 12-12-2015 08:57 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 12-12-2015 11:47 PM (8 years ago)
I really like mr jona so much, this stupid man just they share this country money has he like. i dnt knw hw many ways this man has wrong this country. You must pay for all this jona.
Posted: at 12-12-2015 11:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

2. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

3. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

6. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

7. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office