N1.4Trillion Fine: MTN Refuses To Pay, Challenges NCC In Court

Date: 17-12-2015 9:22 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 17-12-2015 09:22 PM (8 years ago)

South African telecoms giant MTN said Thursday it would launch a court challenge against the $3.9 billion fine that Nigeria has ordered it to pay by December 31 for failing to disconnect unregistered users.

MTN, in a statement to shareholders today, said it decided to take this route after exhausting all other options to have the fine reduced.

MTN said that “All factors having a bearing on the matter have been thoroughly and carefully considered, including a review of the circumstances leading to the fine and the subsequent letters received from the NCC.”

“MTN Nigeria, acting on legal advice, has resolved that the manner of the imposition of the fine and the quantum thereof is not in accordance with the NCC’s powers under the Nigerian Communications Act and therefore there are valid grounds upon which to  challenge the fine.”

Details soon..

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 17-12-2015 09:22 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 17-12-2015 10:24 PM (8 years ago)
This MTN really get strong head, they dnt want to agree with NCC. And this money is too small for them to pay out of the money they have chop in this country
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:24 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- NwosuKC at 17-12-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago)
Ghen Ghen!!!!
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:33 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 17-12-2015 10:36 PM (8 years ago)
oya na
Posted: at 17-12-2015 10:36 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 17-12-2015 11:08 PM (8 years ago)
Ok lets see
Posted: at 17-12-2015 11:08 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- benosky4 at 18-12-2015 12:44 AM (8 years ago)
they must pay

Posted: at 18-12-2015 12:44 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beautysharp at 18-12-2015 01:15 AM (8 years ago)
See gbege
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:15 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 18-12-2015 03:00 AM (8 years ago)
Go and challenge it na. I blame una. Can Nigeria company faulted in south Africa and they won't shout it to d whole world dat Nigeria is d most corrupt country and tarnish d country name instead of d company. I don't blame u pple.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 03:00 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- factfinding at 18-12-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago)
WOW i thought they have paid that FINE already ? Challenging Federal Govt, if its in outside country Govt will shut down that MTN company, but i am sure some Corrupt idiots at top have collected Bribes as always and gives MTN an idea and advise on how to Challenge the charges.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 07:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 18-12-2015 08:07 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 18-12-2015 03:00 AM
Go and challenge it na. I blame una. Can Nigeria company faulted in south Africa and they won't shout it to d whole world dat Nigeria is d most corrupt country and tarnish d country name instead of d company. I don't blame u pple.

Well said my darlyn. Are you minding them? After admitting and having their CEO resigned. They thought they can get away with it like they did with DSTV payment increase.Anyway, its too late to cry when the head is off. They must make that payment. Very greedy set of people.South Africans are worse than Indians. 
Posted: at 18-12-2015 08:07 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 18-12-2015 08:38 AM (8 years ago)
MTN came out as the best network in Nigeria, guess nothing last forever

Posted: at 18-12-2015 08:38 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 18-12-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago)
THE AMOUNT IS TOO MUCH NAH!
Posted: at 18-12-2015 10:09 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 18-12-2015 10:51 AM (8 years ago)
Ha this people don the proof stubborn for our land after they have finished their mission on us. Make the government no agree with them.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 10:51 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 18-12-2015 01:31 PM (8 years ago)
Ok nah,I'm waiting to see or hear hw it will turn down.
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 18-12-2015 01:36 PM (8 years ago)
dey must pay oo, mak naija govt no free dem cus south africa na wicked nd greedy pple
Posted: at 18-12-2015 01:36 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- botlex at 19-12-2015 02:25 PM (8 years ago)
This amount is too much, but MTN u guys have collected a lot from we Nigerians. U guys can pay the money so u have to comply. That is the reward of disobedience.
Posted: at 19-12-2015 02:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 23-12-2015 06:47 AM (8 years ago)
I knw this money is not to much for them to be pay nw, They are making more than this money only nigeria in months. They disobey the rules and regulation of NCC and they need to learn frm it.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 06:47 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mopera at 28-12-2015 02:09 PM (8 years ago)
 Go and challenge it na. I blame
una. Can Nigeria company faulted
in south Africa and they won't
shout it to d whole world dat
Nigeria is d most corrupt country
and tarnish d country name instead of d company. I don't blame u pple.
Posted: at 28-12-2015 02:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 5-01-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago)
Hush! Pay the money or give subscribers free credit.
Posted: at 5-01-2016 07:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac