Fuel Scarcity To Continue Till February 2016

Date: 21-12-2015 12:44 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 21-12-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago)

Indications have emerged that the ongoing scarcity of petroleum products across the country is one that would linger until February next year. This is as petroleum marketers are reported to have suspended fresh importation of petroleum products despite receiving N413 billion in subsidy claims from the government.

Some marketers who took news into confidence on the vexed issue specifically noted that the alleged plan by the Federal Government to remove subsidy on petrol next year and com­mence full deregulation by January 1, is already unsettling them.

Disclosing that they are in full support of the deregulation of the downstream sector, the marketers lamented that the secrecy surrounding its implementation and take-off date is already causing uncertainty within the sector.
According to an importer,
“Marketers are not against deregulation. But deregulation must be planned for. It must not be a hasty decision. We are entities that invest a lot in importation of petroleum products. If a decision that is to affect us must be taken, then, we must be taken into consideration. For now, uncertainty pervades the sector.”

A source said
“Nigerians are not considering the va­garies involved in deregula­tion. There are speculations that with deregulation, a li­tre of petrol would sell for N97, which is a possibility on one hand. But consid­ering the current price of crude oil which sells for about $38 per barrel, what if this price slides further in the weeks to come and the permutation declines to less than N87 for a litre, who bears the loss?”

The marketer maintained that all these certainties surrounding the downstream sector have further dealt a debilitating blow on the current fuel scarcity.

Posted: at 21-12-2015 12:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 21-12-2015 12:50 PM (8 years ago)
this is madness why dem like to suffer people anyhow for naija
Posted: at 21-12-2015 12:50 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Fazob at 21-12-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago)
Them dey vex, they'll soon be rendered jobless
Posted: at 21-12-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 21-12-2015 01:16 PM (8 years ago)
This is crazy, seriously this marketer were the one spoiling everythn. This sufferness is to much, and there is no money in the country.
Posted: at 21-12-2015 01:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dleg at 21-12-2015 01:42 PM (8 years ago)
The federal government should start now the deregulation now. l think it is better to bu now at N92 than buying at N100 or more during scarcity and this marketers are still collecting N200 million per day from federal government.
Let's start facing and living in  the reality now than subjecting ourselves to the suspended evil of the markerters
Posted: at 21-12-2015 01:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 21-12-2015 02:21 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm OK o. Dats d change anyway.
Posted: at 21-12-2015 02:21 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DMG17 at 21-12-2015 02:26 PM (8 years ago)
DEAR NAIJAPALS, I GOT THIS FROM SOMEWHERE IN AN ARTICLE IN EUROPE. A NIGERIAN WRITES….DO YOU AGREE WITH HIM? WHAT IS YOUR OPINION?

“FOR HOW LONG MUST WE CONTINUE LIKE THIS? IT'S A SHAME THAT WE ARE BLESSED WITH ABUNDANCE OF CRUDE OIL. WHY SHOULD WE BE SO IRRESPONSIBLE IN THE SAME ISSUE OVER AND OVER AGAIN? WE HAVE FOUR BIG REFINERIES AND WE LIVE LIKE THIS. THERE ARE COUNTRIES WITHOUT A SINGLE DROP OF OIL STILL THEY LIVE A MILLION TIMES BETTER AND WELL ORGANIZED. WHAT A SHAME”

NIGERIA A CURSE OR A BLESSING? I WEEP FOR MY COUNTRY IN THE DARK.

-CHIKA J. NJOKU
MBA, BSC. BBA
Posted: at 21-12-2015 02:26 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Giftous1 at 21-12-2015 03:07 PM (8 years ago)
uhmmmm....gbagam!!!! and on and on it goes...WETIN BE MY OWN
Posted: at 21-12-2015 03:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 21-12-2015 06:40 PM (8 years ago)
Marketers una ear well well.
Posted: at 21-12-2015 06:40 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 21-12-2015 06:47 PM (8 years ago)
Heeeiii,government make una hear this,in the days of john de baptist,the kingdom suffereth violence&the violence taketh it by force,if una dey hood fuel,no wan give to nigerians,we go begin de vandalised petrolooooo.
Posted: at 21-12-2015 06:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Amibomatc at 21-12-2015 06:48 PM (8 years ago)
Sai Buhari!!!
Posted: at 21-12-2015 06:48 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 22-12-2015 05:08 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: PRINCE STEPHEN on 22-12-2015 03:52 AM
Change you voted, change you shall get...
change from frypan to fire

as for me and my family... transformation from Better to Best is our portion
.   Those who voted for change are d ones dat will go thru dat frying pan to fire. As for me and my family we are going on top and d best too.
Posted: at 22-12-2015 05:08 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- botlex at 22-12-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
Whatever issues u guys have should be resolved coz the masses can't continue living like this.
Posted: at 22-12-2015 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 24-12-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago)
dis is totally madness nah, haba we get fuel nd stil dey suffer to buy fuel again
Posted: at 24-12-2015 11:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 5-01-2016 12:51 AM (8 years ago)
Is this the change some Nigerians voted for? You can't make fuel available for your citizens, always giving one excuse or the other.
Posted: at 5-01-2016 12:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac