Marriage breakdown: 9ice divorces Toni Payne (Page 5)

Date: 09-01-2010 1:09 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 14
- Bazemaster at 9-01-2010 10:39 PM (14 years ago)
Na bcos say u no be woman

Posted: at 9-01-2010 10:39 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orland at 9-01-2010 10:42 PM (14 years ago)
Ehehehehee nice na wan...Hp u don hear dat song..."wedding day" no truth talk o
Posted: at 9-01-2010 10:42 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- popo2009 at 9-01-2010 10:42 PM (14 years ago)
Is 9ice the first person to divorce his wife, so why are so interested in his case
Musician......So what!
Abeg make I pass
Posted: at 9-01-2010 10:42 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 9-01-2010 10:47 PM (14 years ago)
No turn back, runaway! *sighs*

Posted: at 9-01-2010 10:47 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 9-01-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 9-01-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- younggloid at 9-01-2010 11:25 PM (14 years ago)
make una pray so dem go come back 2geda.some people no dey shame.
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:25 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- enogieru at 9-01-2010 11:27 PM (14 years ago)
9nice no mind them bohh just do ur thing after all na so them dey do am for America........I owe u one bottle johh!!!
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:27 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- popo2009 at 9-01-2010 11:28 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Bazemaster on  9-01-2010 10:47 PM

See wahala...how weyin I talk come dey pepper you
i just say my own mind Oo Embarrassed Embarrassed Grin Grin
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:28 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruffrugged at 9-01-2010 11:36 PM (14 years ago)
wow! wonder what went wrong
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:36 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- bootyly at 9-01-2010 11:44 PM (14 years ago)
God knows why;they should try 2 settle their differences cuz they are both old enough to keep a home ..this days a guy starts to think of settling down at d age of 25..............they should grow up!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:44 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Atati at 9-01-2010 11:49 PM (14 years ago)
 Is only those who are married, that knows & can paint the real picture of it.
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:49 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nametalkam at 9-01-2010 11:52 PM (14 years ago)
PRESS RELEASE FROM 9ICE’s PR Company

LAGOS| NIGERIA

January 8, 2010

It’s a brand new year of opportunities and possibilities; and we’ll specially like to thank you for your love and support for 9ice and his label this past year.

That 9ice has grown from an upcoming singer-performer, to become one of Africa’s most promising exports, is not just as a result of his talent, hard work and can-do spirit; but because the media in Nigeria (print, broadcast and online) have been extremely kind to him and his music.

Unfortunately, we may have some sad news for you.

9ice and his beautiful wife Toni Payne; with whom he tied the knots last year; are separating.

The couple have agreed to separate for a while, even though they continue to remain good friends and business partners.

Their baby Zion will reside with Toni for now.

This is a very very tough decision for the couple, and it’s a tough, even trying time for the young partnership we all admire so much. And they’re even the more constrained to make this announcement; knowing it will shatter many of their fans, and admirers inside and outside the country.

But they have both agreed to be responsible about the development, and make public what is necessary, to avoid unnecessary speculations, and rumours.

And it is their wish that we all respect their privacy at this period.

Neither 9ice nor Toni will be granting any press interviews on this matter.

Story Developing…

Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:52 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jimmyk1 at 9-01-2010 11:54 PM (14 years ago)
its a pity.jst last wk i was watchin one of 9ice's video, n i wondered hw d wife could allow a girl 2 be rocking him so intimately, i knew sth was wrong somwhere. anyway, divorce saga is like a norm wth entertainment industry. i wish dem bth God's grace in their tryin times.  
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:54 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- jimmyk1 at 9-01-2010 11:58 PM (14 years ago)
its a pity.jst last wk i was watchin one of 9ice's video, n i wondered hw d wife could allow a girl 2 be rocking him so intimately, i knew sth was wrong somwhere. anyway, divorce saga is like a norm wth entertainment industry. i wish dem bth God's grace in their tryin times.   
Posted: at 9-01-2010 11:58 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ogunfunmi at 10-01-2010 12:00 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: just2sexy on  9-01-2010 01:12 PM
Goodnews Grin Grin Grin
u get sis wey u wan give am
Posted: at 10-01-2010 12:00 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Atati at 10-01-2010 12:16 AM (14 years ago)
Who wan give him sister to musician ( boyfriend& husband of all girls?
Posted: at 10-01-2010 12:16 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- nametalkam at 10-01-2010 12:26 AM (14 years ago)
The entertainment industry in Nigeria is still in shock.  Newsrooms are buzzing up; and fans are scrambling for information. Yes, it’s true. The couple we love and admire; the union we so fancy, is breaking up – leaving us all jaw-dropped with saliva almost escaping from our mouths.

It’s not the first time couples are parting ways. And it will not be the last. We’ve seen it over and over again – From Kris and Tina Okotie to Bukky Wright and Bolaji Basia and Kefee and Alec Godwin – celebrity marriages world over appear to have very short shelf lives. What’s different in this case, however, is that not many saw the union of 9ice and Toni as ‘another celeb marriage”. Just like Betty and Soni Irabor  or Joke and Olu Jacobs, we saw 9ice and Toni as two driven, focused and passionate people whose souls are intertwined; two young people who know their destination, and are willing to go all the way, hand-in-hand, in spite of whatever trials or tribulations accost  them on the way.

Sadly, the announcement today, of the couple’s separation, has  dashed hopes and defeated all expectations; causing us to stop and ponder: was the relationship what we thought it was all along? Or did something go wrong along the line?

9ice was yet to hit it big with ‘gongo aso’, when he announced to a reporter at Hip TV that he’s dating Toni Payne, and that they’ll be getting married. The year was 2007. Toni at the time, was known simply as the owner of an online  entertainment journal, along with the Toni Payne fashion and cosmetics range. 9ice was a struggling musician who was about to join the A-league, following the growing success of his single.

The blogs praised their relationship, and many expressed confidence that Toni’s experience and exposure would help 9ice’s growing career.

And indeed, the months that followed saw 9ice’s career grow in leaps and bounds. 2008 was a great year – the year he finally hit it big, and joined the millionaire’s club. And, in spite of rumours that he was having an affair with a certain Globacom executive, he re-stated his commitment to Toni, and went on to exchange wedding vows with her, at the Surulere Registry, in Lagos, on July 17. Toni was already pregnant at the time. Their baby Zion was born on December 4, 2008.

Yes, they got a baby boy; holidayed in the UK and US, built a home in Lagos, and supported each other’s business.

But in the midst of all that, those close to the couple say there were signs things were not what they ought to be. ”There was often arguments and disagreements and a lot of times, 9ice would get out of the house”, a source who wants to remain anonymous told NET.

There’ll always be disagreements and quarells in a marriage. Couples will disagree. Partners will fight. Friends will be upset with one another. But at what point do you decide you’ve had enough? That it’s all over and done? At what point do you bang the door and take a walk?

When a marriage breaks up, it affects not just the couple involved. Friends, parents, siblings, colleagues, children all bear the burden. Everyone feels the strain, and to those who understand the import of marriage, it seems like a personal loss, even when your most distant married friends/relatives/family friends are waving each other bye.

Apart from the couple though, no one feels the pain, over the  course of time, like the kids involved. The kids have to live through the trauma of a broken home – we can’t begin to enumarate the effects on them, and even the society on the short and long run.

We all welcomed the birth of Zion. We rejoiced on the couple’s behalf and used them as a good example for other celebrity bachelors and bechelorettes who are too scared to take the bold step. And it’s sad to think that Zion will grow up not seeing his parents the way they were in 2007 – lovebirds, lost in their own world and willing to dissolve into one being.

While we continue to ask questions, hoping to get to the root of the cause of this unwanted separation, we’d like to invite you to please join us to appeal to the couple, to please reconsider their stand; leave divorce out of their options now, and please seek practical ways of resolving whatever differences tearing them apart.  This is one request we know baby Zion would make, if he could speak right now.

Let’s make it on his behalf; let all 9ice fans come out and request he reconcile with his wife.

Who knows? The situation might still be redeemable?

20 QUICK FACTS ABOUT TONI PAYNE AND 9ICE

1. 9ice and Toni Oluwaseun Payne met in 2006 at Gbenga Adeyinka’s 10th anniversary at motherland in Opebi.
   2. Their affair started as friendship and later led to marriage.
   3. They were legally married in Lagos on Thursday, July 17, 2008 at Surulere registry.
   4. Toni Payne is based in Los Angeles, Califonia,USA. She is the CEO of Toni Payne line of cosmetics, apparel and publisher of Nigerian entertainment magazine.
   5. She was responsible for the fashion concept on his ‘Gongo aso’ album released March, 2008.
   6. Their baby Zion was born on Thursday December 4, 2008 at Presbyterian hospital, Southern California, United States of America.
   7. 9ice is the CEO of Alapomeji Records which houses artists such as Ajayi Brothers, Streetwise, Snow and Kayefi..
   8. Toni Payne started her apparel business in 2003.
   9. Her mother hails from Abeokuta in Ogun State.

10.  Toni Payne attended the California State University, Northride.

11.  She studied Video Digital Art.

12.  In April 25, 2009, Toni Payne lost her father who hailed from Lagos.

13.  In June 20, 2008 9ice performed at London Hyde Park alongside Will Smith, Amy Winehouse, U2 and many        others; in honour of South African leader Nelson Mandela who clocked 90.

14.  His debut album titled ‘certificate’ was released in 2006.

15.  After the success of the Gongo Aso album released in March 2008, 9ice joined the millionaires club, built a posh duplex christened ‘Alapomeji’ on the Lagos-Abeokuta express way.

16.  9ice released his third alum ‘tradition’ on the December 7, 2009.

17.  As at last count, 9ice’s collaborations amounts to twenty

18.  9ice was born on January 20, 1980.

19.  In Wednesday 15, 2008, 9ice won the MOBO best African act award.

20.  Their wedding lasted for 20 months

Posted: at 10-01-2010 12:26 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Amatex at 10-01-2010 01:09 AM (14 years ago)
IF NA SO I NO MARRY AGAIN NA SO?
Posted: at 10-01-2010 01:09 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dolphinkate at 10-01-2010 02:24 AM (14 years ago)
GOD shall bring them together again after their alone time. Their son deserves a good home.

Posted: at 10-01-2010 02:24 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- 25_vivi at 10-01-2010 03:03 AM (14 years ago)
some1 ( D-GUY ) deleted my comment
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Posted: at 10-01-2010 03:03 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 14