#Dasugate: Dasuki Files Case Against FG In Ecowas Court, Demands N500m Damages

Date: 21-01-2016 1:01 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 21-01-2016 01:01 PM (8 years ago)

Following his continued detention despite meeting his bail conditions, former National Security Adviser (NSA), Sambo Dasuki, has filed a suit against the Federal Government before the ECOWAS Court in Abuja and is demanding payment of N500 million damages for alleged rights infringement.
In the suit filed by his lawyer, Robert Emukpoeruo, Dasuki asked the court to declare his continued detention as “unlawful, arbitrary and an egregious violation” of his human rights. Dasuki in the suit also asked the court to declare that the alleged invasion of his Abuja and Sokoto residences on July 16 and 17, 2015 and the “forceful and unlawful seizure” of his properties, “without any lawful order or warrant” constituted a gross violation of his fundamental rights and offended the country’s treaty obligations as a signatory to the listed legal instruments.
No date has been set for hearing of the suit. In a related development, Justice Adeniyi Ademola of the Federal High Court, Abuja yesterday ordered the Federal government to produce him in court on February 16th. Dasuki's lawyer, Joseph Daudu (SAN), told the court that his client was abducted by security agents six weeks ago to an unknown destination. He told Justice Ademola that since the ex-NSA was whisked away, all efforts by his family and his lawyers to access him had been scuttled. Justice Ademola said:
“I am worried that the accused is not here. I do not want to set a bad precedent. Except the court gives express order for the defendant not to be in court, the accused must be brought to court from wherever he is. The accused must be here because I am not sure if what I am doing right now in the absence of the accused is not an illegality. Government and whoever is concerned must endeavour to do the necessary thing. The accused having been formally charged in court, must be produced in court for trial on the appointed days in compliance with the provisions of the law,”
Dasuki’s trial has been fixed for February 16 and 17 before Justice Ademola

Posted: at 21-01-2016 01:01 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ficull at 21-01-2016 01:19 PM (8 years ago)
Very Good. Pls, let ECOWAS court hear the matter and lets see how it goes. Precendence will really guide the future generations and put lid to Nigerian sentiments.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 01:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 21-01-2016 01:27 PM (8 years ago)
To whom it may concern.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 01:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bebmigared at 21-01-2016 01:28 PM (8 years ago)
This Dasuki and Metuh never know what's up, them stil dey claim right. On the long run na at least 10 years imprisonment go end their case.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 01:28 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 21-01-2016 01:30 PM (8 years ago)
mumu dansuki, who started ECOWAS no be naija be the head...  see face the music like a man.. u don enjoy reach na
Posted: at 21-01-2016 01:30 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Wazubia at 21-01-2016 02:03 PM (8 years ago)
His right,  government is fighting crime and corruption,  but they dont remember this is democracy you have to follow the rule of law, not detain and killing people unlawfully,  that is not democracy.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 02:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PaskyWosky at 21-01-2016 02:17 PM (8 years ago)
Everybody is claiming right nobody wan claim left
Posted: at 21-01-2016 02:17 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- zezprincess at 21-01-2016 02:37 PM (8 years ago)
He dasuki is doing the right thing,government abi buhari charge dasuki to court,why must you lock him up in efcc&dss dentention,this na authocracyooo,abi efcc don become law court,see as them dey man handle person.mtcheeewww.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 02:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 21-01-2016 02:46 PM (8 years ago)
like seriously dis movie is getting interested. I can't wait to see d end. Danskgate Season 2.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 02:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 21-01-2016 08:16 PM (8 years ago)
Waiting til it unfold
Posted: at 21-01-2016 08:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 21-01-2016 08:38 PM (8 years ago)
Nah only Naija I for see wey person go loot still use the money do case win.
Posted: at 21-01-2016 08:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 21-01-2016 08:41 PM (8 years ago)
heheheh....oldman he stil dey look fir way
to run after all ur confession.....
Posted: at 21-01-2016 08:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 21-01-2016 09:56 PM (8 years ago)
since their crimes are bailable they ought to let them go but their passports be dropped with EFCC. let's see how the ECOWAS court Will rule
Posted: at 21-01-2016 09:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 21-01-2016 10:06 PM (8 years ago)
Eewu.................So you know about human right? You go rotten for jail. Fool
Posted: at 21-01-2016 10:06 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 21-01-2016 10:07 PM (8 years ago)
Eewu.................So you know about human right? You go rotten for jail. Fool
Posted: at 21-01-2016 10:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- factfinding at 22-01-2016 09:27 AM (8 years ago)
Keep dreaming, after the crime you've committed against the country that trusted their security into your hand, you have the gut to sue them, we will see how it goes. 
Posted: at 22-01-2016 09:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 22-01-2016 11:56 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Angel on 22-01-2016 09:27 AM
Keep dreaming, after the crime you've committed against the country that trusted their security into your hand, you have the gut to sue them, we will see how it goes. 

My brother I can't say anything again in this one because am out of words
Posted: at 22-01-2016 11:56 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-01-2016 07:34 PM (8 years ago)
He dasuki is doing the right
thing,government abi buhari charge
dasuki to court,why must you lock
him up in efcc&dss dentention,this
na authocracyooo,abi efcc don
become law court,see as them dey man handle person.mtcheeewww
Posted: at 23-01-2016 07:34 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 23-01-2016 07:35 PM (8 years ago)
Keep dreaming, after the crime
you've committed against the
country that trusted their security
into your hand, you have the gut to
sue them, we will see how it goes
Posted: at 23-01-2016 07:35 PM (8 years ago) | Hero