President Buhari Passes Law for Stiffer Penalties to Money Launderers

Date: 28-01-2016 11:01 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 28-01-2016 11:01 AM (8 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday introduced two bills to the National Assembly to strengthen the war against money laundering. The bills were titled, “The Money Laundering (Prevention and Prohibition) Bill, 2016” and “The Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Bill, 2016.”
The Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, read the letter containing the bills at plenary on Wednesday while at the House of Representatives, the Speaker, Mr. Yakubu Dogara, read Buhari’s letter conveying the bills to members.
Buhari in the letter stated that the first bill sought to repeal the existing Money Laundering Act, which was enacted in 2011 to provide for stiffer penalty for money launderers to discourage the illegal act.
On the second bill, the President explained that its aim was to make provisions that would enable Nigeria to seek international assistance in recovering looted funds.
Part of the letter read, “This bill seeks to facilitate the provision and obtaining by Nigeria of international assistance in criminal matters, including the provision and obtaining of evidence and things, the making of arrangements for persons to give evidence or assist in criminal investigations, the recovery, forfeiture or confiscation of property in respect of offences…” The Money Laundering Prevention and Prohibition Bill, he stated, “seeks to make comprehensive provisions to prohibit laundering and the criminal activities, expand the scope of money laundering offences.
“It seeks to provide protection for employees of various institutions, bodies and professions who may discover money laundering and enhance customer due diligence.
“It provides appropriate penalties and expand the scope of supervisory bodies. It also recognises the role of certain self-regulatory organisations to address the challenges faced in the implementation of comprehensive anti-money regime
.”
Other issues that the proposed law will address, according to Buhari, are, “the execution of request for search and seizure, the location and identification of witnesses and suspects, the service of documents and other matters connected herewith.” According to Buhari, the Bill is expected to provide the framework for other countries to assist in provision and obtaining of evidence, making of arrangements for persons to give evidence.
The biIl, he added, also “seeks to get international assistance in criminal investigations, recovery, forfeiture or confiscation of property in respect of offences.
He said the proposed law also sought assistance in “the restraining of dealings in property or the freezing of assets that may be recovered, forfeited or confiscated in respect of offences.”

Posted: at 28-01-2016 11:01 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- victorstic1 at 28-01-2016 11:10 AM (8 years ago)
WE NEED IT IN NIGERIA  LET IT TAKE EFFECT SOFORT
Posted: at 28-01-2016 11:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 28-01-2016 11:24 AM (8 years ago)
SOUNDS GOOD!!!
Posted: at 28-01-2016 11:24 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- maxzy277 at 28-01-2016 01:18 PM (8 years ago)
Welcome idea
Posted: at 28-01-2016 01:18 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diezo at 28-01-2016 01:24 PM (8 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool WATCHING & WAITING MEANWHILE PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON COME DEY TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 28-01-2016 01:24 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 28-01-2016 02:07 PM (8 years ago)
Posted: at 28-01-2016 02:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HUMANresurce at 28-01-2016 03:16 PM (8 years ago)
WATCHING..
Posted: at 28-01-2016 03:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 28-01-2016 04:10 PM (8 years ago)
Till then nah PMB.
Posted: at 28-01-2016 04:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 28-01-2016 05:27 PM (8 years ago)
Dis is good cus 90% of money launderers are ur brothers mallam who do money changing.
Posted: at 28-01-2016 05:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 28-01-2016 06:31 PM (8 years ago)
copy copy
Posted: at 28-01-2016 06:31 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 28-01-2016 07:02 PM (8 years ago)
It is the right thing to do....

Posted: at 28-01-2016 07:02 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 28-01-2016 07:36 PM (8 years ago)
good idea i hope it sail through the four stages and passed into law
Posted: at 28-01-2016 07:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- tunasco4u at 28-01-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago)
We shall see
Posted: at 28-01-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- tunasco4u at 28-01-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago)
We shall see
Posted: at 28-01-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Anny01 at 28-01-2016 10:40 PM (8 years ago)
I know say your Brothers go fall enter this trap. I hope say you no go interfer. What a world of Lies?
Posted: at 28-01-2016 10:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenbazzy at 29-01-2016 08:55 AM (8 years ago)
nice MR  PRECIDO WE ARE FULLY BEHIND YOU ..... OLUWA IS YOUR STRENGTH
Posted: at 29-01-2016 08:55 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- Oworen25 at 29-01-2016 09:57 AM (8 years ago)
Mr president please whatever you know that will bring change to us go ahead and do it we are strongly behind your government.
Posted: at 29-01-2016 09:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 29-01-2016 10:32 PM (8 years ago)
GOGOMAN YOU ARE VERY
STUPID AND A BRAINLESS
IDIOT SO BECAUSE ITS
BUHARI OR APC NO ONE
SHOULD TALK USELESS
IDIOT... NOW I KNOW YOU ARE A BORN BASTARD WHAT HAVE
YOU BENEFITED FROM YOUR
USELESS god BOKARI THE
MOST TRAVELLED PRESIDENT
IN WORLD WITHOUT BRAIN..IF
IT WAS GOODLUCK YOUR KUNU MOUTH WILL BE RUNING
LIKE TOILET MONKEY FROM
THE ZOO see oppression Buhari's APC bribed a yoruba boy
studying at Universiti sains Islam
Malaysia with N7 million in
December 2014 for his facebook
propaganda posts. The same boy
was the one whose friend reported to the university management that
he was suffering from terminal
disease called HIV besides being
a scammer and fraudster. To my
chagrin, the person who made the
report got expelled and deported back to Nigeria
Posted: at 29-01-2016 10:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 29-01-2016 10:33 PM (8 years ago)
GOGOMAN YOU ARE VERY
STUPID AND A BRAINLESS
IDIOT SO BECAUSE ITS
BUHARI OR APC NO ONE
SHOULD TALK USELESS
IDIOT... NOW I KNOW YOU ARE A BORN BASTARD WHAT HAVE
YOU BENEFITED FROM YOUR
USELESS god BOKARI THE
MOST TRAVELLED PRESIDENT
IN WORLD WITHOUT BRAIN..IF
IT WAS GOODLUCK YOUR KUNU MOUTH WILL BE RUNING
LIKE TOILET MONKEY FROM
THE ZOO see oppression Buhari's APC bribed a yoruba boy
studying at Universiti sains Islam
Malaysia with N7 million in
December 2014 for his facebook
propaganda posts. The same boy
was the one whose friend reported to the university management that
he was suffering from terminal
disease called HIV besides being
a scammer and fraudster. To my
chagrin, the person who made the
report got expelled and deported back to Nigeria
Posted: at 29-01-2016 10:33 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 30-01-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago)
Very good. We need laws like they have in China and North Korea. Death penalty straight up when found guilty.
Posted: at 30-01-2016 10:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac