I Received Professional Training As An Armed Robber In Ikoyi Prisons - Bakare Ayodeji

Date: 30-01-2016 12:27 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 30-01-2016 12:27 PM (8 years ago)

Mr Bakare Ayodeji is a 34-year old self-confessed armed robber and an ex-inmate of the popular Ikoyi Prisons in Lagos. He was imprisoned for 9 months before he was admitted to bail. While breathing his air of freedom, he got involved in a more serious armed robbery case. He is pres­ently with the men of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, Lagos. In this report by our Special Cor­respondent, LUKKEY ABAWURU, Ayodeji said it was evident he was on his way back to prisons where he came from even as he reminisced on his days back at the Ikoyi Prisons where he claimed to have received his professional training as an armed robber.

Enjoy As far back as the 16th and 17th centuries, prison has been one of a num­ber of sanctions available to the courts to deal with those who commit criminal offences. It is a facility in which inmates serv­ing a jail term or sentence are forcibly confined and denied a variety of freedoms under the authority of the state as a form of punishment.

People charged with crimes may also be imprisoned until they are brought to trial or while awaiting punishment.
Various explanations had been put up by the state for put­ting people in prison.

Such justifications are ex­plained by various theories of rehabilitation, deterrence, in­capacitation and retribution.

Specifically, it is the argu­ment of the state that the ex­perience of being imprisoned will cause such persons to change their ways of lives in a way that will make them pro­ductive and law abiding mem­bers of the society (rehabilita­tion); deter other people who might be considering criminal activities in future out of fear of being clamped as well (deter­rence); incapacitate them from committing fresh crimes while in custody and keep the com­munity safer (incapacitation) and exact revenge on criminals by shaming them for the harms caused their victims (retribu­tion).

In essence, prison is sup­posed to rehabilitate and re­form inmates rather than hard­en those who find themselves there. The concept of establish­ing various prison formations in Nigeria is also not different.

But a 34-year old Baka­re Ayodeji, an ex-inmate and self-confessed armed robber has said that the Nigerian pris­ons, rather than reform inmates, have the capacity to harden criminals, saying his experience is a good example.

He told our correspond­ent that way back 2011, he was detained at the Ikoyi Pris­ons where his mother extract­ed a promise from him that he would turn a new leaf.
He confessed that he actual­ly planned to change his way of life and make his parents happy but that immediately he inter­acted with the Ikoyi Prison in­mates, the story of his life took a dramatic turn.

Hear him: “I was arrested af­ter robbing an Oyinbo man in Ikoyi. The matter was charged to court and I was remanded in Ikoyi prisons. When I was in the prisons, I promised my moth­er that I would turn a new leaf. She said she would perfect my bail conditions. My mum tried as she was bringing good food for me in the prison.
“In the inside world (Prison),there are no good food like in the outside world.

But my mother made it a duty to feed me. I was magnani­mous to other inmates that they enjoyed the food with me.

“However, it was my gener­osity that added more sorrow to me because the hardened crim­inals in the prison who enjoyed my mother’s food decided that it was time they favour me,” he said.
Ayodeji who claimed that he was an amateur armed rob­ber when he got to the prison in 2011 said he left the prison yard as a professional armed robber nine months after.
He said he spent nine months awaiting trial in the Ikoyi prisons before his moth­er perfected his bail conditions and got him released.
He however added that un­known to his mother who la­boured every day to ensure his release, the nine month impris­onment offered him an oppor­tunity to receive training as a professional armed robber in the prisons while he was also given a password to the network of the criminals both in Nigeria and beyond.
Hear him: “The inmates at the Ikoyi prisons initiated me into their cult (Aiye). After in­itiating me, they had my confidence and taught me many things I did not know. There is nothing that I don’t know about crime.

“I am now a confirmed ex­pert in all manners of crime. I can recruit, initiate people and provide arms and ammunition. The greatest asset that makes me the man to beat is that I can handle any type of gun.

“I am an armed robber. I won’t lie about that. I was ar­rested in 2011 for armed rob­bery and I was on the awaiting trial list before my family ar­ranged for my release. I spent about nine months there. I robbed a white man at Ikoyi club, I was arrested and charged to court.

“It was these my fellow in­mates and senior dare devil criminals that took me high in crimes. It was in the prison that I learnt how to handle gun per­fectly. When I was in the outside world, I was only following peo­ple who handle guns but I didn’t know how to operate a gun.

“Today, I can handle any kind of gun. It is not that there are guns inside the prisons but we used to mould or use papers to design guns.Those who know better will be teaching those who don’t know.

“It was in the prison that I was given the telephone num­bers of one Kefu who is supply­ing me arms and ammunition. He lives in the Republic of Be­nin. When I came out from the prisons, it was Kefu that I met in Cotonou.

“He helped me to procure the gun and ammunition that I was arrested with. I bought the gun at N20,000 and I used to buy groundnuts (bullets) N1,000 each.

“The day I met him, after our transaction, he was the person who dropped me off on his mo­torcycle at the border. We fol­lowed apian ways to beat secu­rity operatives. He is still the one supplying me with bullets. He used to bring the bullets to me at Seme border where I picked them.

“He taught me also that if I was moving arms from any­where, I should not join buses or cars that are conveying loads.The Police and Customs always concentrate on vehicles carry­ing loads. They don’t bother to search vehicles that are not car­rying loads.

“While in prison, majority of us succeeded in adding more to what we already knew be­fore. Also, while I was in prison, there were some people who teach skill acquisitions but how many of the inmates who see themselves as big guys would want to learn petty works that only fetch small coins?
He further confessed that his gang operates with Okada (mo­torcycle).

“We used to be three on Okada and we would move round the city. Once we sus­pect any person with money, we would ‘pack’ the person at gun point and search him or her. We can also ‘pack’ a motorist and rob him or her.

“We used to get money but I collect more than others during sharing because I own the gun, ammunition and I am the gang leader. I have killed but won’t know how many,” he added.

The impertinent robber said that he fired randomly during cross-fire with security agents and would not mind who got killed in the process.
He said he would not know what fate keeps for him for now but that if he would not return from the journey which he just embarked upon, he said he would have some regrets.

His words: “My regret is that I don’t know whether I will come out alive from this my second journey to prison. If I will come back, it is only God that can decide. If I come back, good. If not, no problem, let the will of God be done. If I dont come back, I will miss a woman that I love so much; she is preg­nant for me. The implication is that I may not know my child.

Explaining further, Ayode­ji said he would want to live, at least to see his child who would be delivered soon as “my love­ly girlfriend is heavy. But it is only God that can decide if I will come back alive or not.
“Another regret I will have is that I don’t know whether I would stop robbery if I am re­leased because I have gone far in the operation. My oth­er regret is that all the money I made from armed robbery operations and sales of bul­lets were all squandered; I did not save a dime. I make hap­py because I am a cheerful giv­er. I wish I would be released so that I work for my future before retirement,” he added.

However, the state Commis­sioner of Police, Mr. Fatai Ow­oseni said the suspect and oth­ers would be charged to court soon.
He advised parents and guardians to monitor their chil­dren and wards so as to know what they do.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 30-01-2016 12:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 30-01-2016 12:45 PM (8 years ago)
poster you are an arm robber!! u no why, because u keep writing the same sentence from top to bottom.. na wa for u
Posted: at 30-01-2016 12:45 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- angesco at 30-01-2016 12:51 PM (8 years ago)
Proffesional training?

I would SUE your lecturers as the "professional training" they gave you  was a waste because you got CAUUGHT!!!!
Posted: at 30-01-2016 12:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 30-01-2016 01:22 PM (8 years ago)
Hahahaha,this buffoon is a joker,after u don kill and all dis ur confession,you come want come out alive?thunder fire you reach grave. abeg make them waste that idiot sharply.
Posted: at 30-01-2016 01:22 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 30-01-2016 01:53 PM (8 years ago)
where is ur certificate???
Posted: at 30-01-2016 01:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 30-01-2016 02:05 PM (8 years ago)
This Yoruba man say he is not even sure if he will stop Robbery and killing people.....so what is the need of letting him go ?
Posted: at 30-01-2016 02:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 30-01-2016 03:08 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm, speechless
Posted: at 30-01-2016 03:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 30-01-2016 03:09 PM (8 years ago)
Oh back in d days in d military era, he will not be trial at all. He will be killed thru firing squad straight wit out blinking an eye. They shld fry him straight
Posted: at 30-01-2016 03:09 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- freethinker at 30-01-2016 03:09 PM (8 years ago)
FROM ANINI OR SHINO RAMBO?
YORUBAS
Posted: at 30-01-2016 03:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 30-01-2016 03:54 PM (8 years ago)
KILL DIS IDIOT. DERE IS NO SIGN OF REMORSE FROM HIS STATEMENT.
Posted: at 30-01-2016 03:54 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 30-01-2016 04:20 PM (8 years ago)
what a confession terrible on.
Posted: at 30-01-2016 04:20 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 30-01-2016 04:41 PM (8 years ago)
hehehehe....bros u try ....oh
abeg make dem no let this animal
come out alive ooooh.....this man
can not fit into the society again
Posted: at 30-01-2016 04:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- crocatum at 30-01-2016 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
what a pity, our prisons are raising more dangerous and hardened criminal, this is not suppose to be, the prison should rehabilitate and make them better and useful people.
Posted: at 30-01-2016 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 31-01-2016 01:39 AM (8 years ago)
Congrats u have bn baptized
Posted: at 31-01-2016 01:39 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 31-01-2016 04:00 PM (8 years ago)
If truly you're a professional, you shouldn't have been catch
Posted: at 31-01-2016 04:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BusyHorse at 31-01-2016 07:07 PM (8 years ago)
U were trained to be a professional , yet u got caught easily. Agbaya.
Posted: at 31-01-2016 07:07 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- x-avier at 1-02-2016 09:31 AM (8 years ago)
This is hilarious.
He's asking for more time to rob so he can save some money and plan properly for retirement!!!
Posted: at 1-02-2016 09:31 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- x-avier at 1-02-2016 11:01 AM (8 years ago)
This is hilarious.
He's asking for more time to rob so he can save some money and plan properly for retirement!!!
Posted: at 1-02-2016 11:01 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eazyatumeyi at 3-02-2016 09:55 AM (8 years ago)
dey r sending a wounded lion from d zoo to d public hmm.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 09:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- charisVEC at 5-03-2016 08:12 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 5-03-2016 08:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

3. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

4. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

5. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

6. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

9. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

10. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake