PHOTO: This 83-Year-Old Army Retiree Has Been Sleeping Under Bridge For 17 Years

Date: 05-02-2016 9:21 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-02-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago)

An 83-year-old man, Sule Yusuf, says he has been sleeping under the Oshodi Bridge in Lagos State since 1999 after losing contact with his family.

Yusuf, who hails from Igboora, Oyo State, and claimed to have retired from Nigerian Army, told PUNCH that after he retired, he lost contact with his wife and children, but decided to stay put in Lagos.

It was gathered that the octogenarian had been spared during constant raids of the area by policemen after he explained to them that he was a retired soldier and his family members had allegedly deserted him.

Baba Yusuf, who once worked as a security man at the Mosafejo Motor Park, was relieved of his duty a few years ago because of old age.

It was gathered that after he reportedly retired from the army in 1979, had moved to the Makoko, Yaba area of Lagos, until his rent expired and he was asked to vacate his apartment.

It was learnt that Yusuf had been staying in the Mosafejo Motor Park during the day, and had been sleeping under the Oshodi Bridge at night.

When PUNCH spoke with Yusuf, he said he last saw his wife, Beatrice, and his two children – Morili and Jimoh – around 1999 before they relocated to Owerri, Imo State, where his wife hailed from.

Yusuf said he wanted to be reunited with his family and needed some financial help to live a better life.

He said, “I joined the Nigerian Army in 1967. When I left in 1979, my last place of service was at the cantonment in Adekunle Fajuyi, Ibadan, Oyo State. I met my wife when I served in Owerri, Imo State, and we had the two kids.

“She returned with the children to her hometown in Owerri in 1999. I was in Makoko, Yaba, till I packed out when I could not pay the rent. So, I moved to Oshodi. I was collecting my pensions from the army until I lost my ID card in the park.

“I retired from the army as a staff sergeant. I was usually given N12,000 monthly as pension. I used to sell herbs in the motor park area. Selling herbs was my father’s handiwork. So, I returned to it after misplacing my ID card.

“Since I got to Oshodi, I have not had anyone personally taking care of me except God. When I stopped selling herbs, the union executives assisted me by making me a security man in the park.

“But since that 1999, I have been sleeping under the bridge. I have been sleeping there for about 17 years. I need to see my family again. I need to be helped out of this situation.

“When the taskforce policemen raided the Oshodi area, they saw me, and I approached one of their commanders and explained my situation to him.

He said his men should leave me alone. I do not have money to rent any house again. I want the government to help me. I do not have any sickness. I am not taking any injection. I only need help,” he added.

The Assistant Secretary of the Mosafejo Motor Park, Hamzat Sanusi, said the octogenarian was allowed to stay in the park because they saw the military ID card on him before he misplaced it.

Sanusi added that it was the union which had been bearing the burden of Yusuf’s survival.

He said, “He used to have a military ID card. We know him very well. But since he lost that card, he had not been given any entitlement… Since he had served the government, we think the government should rise to his plight.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 5-02-2016 09:21 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 5-02-2016 09:36 PM (8 years ago)
Nigeria haa! we can never improve. ordinary retiree she cannot save. I shake my head for d next generation coming.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 09:36 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 5-02-2016 09:48 PM (8 years ago)
Poor old guy, once a soldier always a soldier.. i hope someone take up your matter very soon, so that u could see your family once again.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 09:48 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Eazyatumeyi at 5-02-2016 10:00 PM (8 years ago)
This is one out of million suffering, its not easy to be a prisoner in najja.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 5-02-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
This is one out of million suffering, its not easy to be a pensioner in najja.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- nwaafoigbo at 5-02-2016 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
sometimes the evil that men do flow them
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dynamond at 5-02-2016 10:16 PM (8 years ago)
Once a soldier now a wanderer, God have mercy
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:16 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 5-02-2016 10:26 PM (8 years ago)
Seriously I will not accept dis claim. Even if u lost ur ID card, u can still collect ur pension and live a normal life excerpt d fact dat he wants his family which he can find them wit good information. D army will definitely give him his pension if he gives them his army number and few details. My humble opinion anyway.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:26 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 5-02-2016 10:37 PM (8 years ago)
@WINACE , GO SIT DOWN ONE SIDE JARE!! WHICH PENSION OFFICE FOR NAIJA DEY GIVE ANY BODY MONEY WITH JUST NUMBER?  EVEN WITH YOUR ID SELF THEM NO DEY PAY
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:37 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Trueyarn at 5-02-2016 10:38 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm,Naija I hail o,nah one person go dey chop him money like this,so many of them like that,human being are the worst creature ever.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:38 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 5-02-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago)
Seriously I will not accept dis claim. Even if u lost ur ID card, u can still collect ur pension and live a normal life excerpt d fact dat he wants his family which he can find them wit good information. D army will definitely give him his pension if he gives them his army number and few details. My humble opinion anyway.
[/quote]
Winace,talk wetin you know o,he no easy like that,those people for pension board self dey find one or two excuses to take withhold people money. nah today you know Naija pattern?
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 5-02-2016 10:47 PM (8 years ago)
Sorry grandpa. Oya make una comment I dey baf.
Posted: at 5-02-2016 10:47 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 5-02-2016 11:05 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on  5-02-2016 10:37 PM
@WINACE , GO SIT DOWN ONE SIDE JARE!! WHICH PENSION OFFICE FOR NAIJA DEY GIVE ANY BODY MONEY WITH JUST NUMBER?  EVEN WITH YOUR ID SELF THEM NO DEY PAY
.    I never knew u are a pensioner. Anyway I don't have to argue wit u cus it will be meaningless. Pension as been reform. Its not like b4 dat they steal dis pple money claiming ghost workers. If he really wants to collect his money, he shld go bak to this divisions . make complain and they will direct on wat to do. D military are jot like d para military dat one oga go jt chop their money anyhow. 
Posted: at 5-02-2016 11:05 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 5-02-2016 11:27 PM (8 years ago)
huh....oga we hear you oh.... but then you can stil
your pay without the ID nah....retired in 1979....mmm
over 37 years now.....govt wil help u sha
Posted: at 5-02-2016 11:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 6-02-2016 12:06 AM (8 years ago)
Pathetic
Posted: at 6-02-2016 12:06 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dollar22 at 6-02-2016 12:18 AM (8 years ago)
Only in the ZOO
Posted: at 6-02-2016 12:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- imaria at 6-02-2016 02:03 AM (8 years ago)
Oga sorry i really feel your pains but look for your children and your wife because after God na family
Posted: at 6-02-2016 02:03 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ujmaria at 6-02-2016 03:58 AM (8 years ago)
I feel your pain, the government should come to the aid of these man, let them unite him with is family
Posted: at 6-02-2016 03:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Blessed75 at 6-02-2016 05:13 AM (8 years ago)
   I never knew u are a pensioner. Anyway I don't have to argue wit u cus it will be meaningless. Pension as been reform. Its not like b4 dat they steal dis pple money claiming ghost workers. If he really wants to collect his money, he shld go bak to this divisions . make complain and they will direct on wat to do. D military are jot like d para military dat one oga go jt chop their money anyhow.

Thats it
Posted: at 6-02-2016 05:13 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dleg at 6-02-2016 06:02 AM (8 years ago)
It is a pity but this man has a village he came from rather than suffering under the bridge.
The government should assist him all the same
Posted: at 6-02-2016 06:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

3. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. I've Paid IT Experts To Pull Down My S3x Tape Off Internet And Mobile Devices -Tiwa Savage Says

8. Suspended UNN Lecturer Caught Sexual Assaulting His Married Female Student Arrested

9. Naira Slumps Against Dollar To N1,300 In Official Market

10. Men No Longer Lose Weight In The Gym - Lady Reveals Reasons In A Video

11. 'Kidnappers, Terrorists Don’t Deserve Mercy'- Murdered Professor Says In Last Interview

12. Kanye West Reportedly Planning To Launch Porn Studio

13. Photos Of Kogi University Lecturer, Sarinus Kano Killed By Suspected Armed Robbers

14. Actor, Femi Adebayo's Wife Calls Out Online Aunties Who Come To Her DM With 'Dumb Advice'

15. Despite Men’s Craziness, Women Can’t Do Without Them Says Singer, Tiwa Savage

16. Alleged N8bn Nigeria Air Fraud: EFCC Arrests Ex-Aviation Minister, Sirika

17. BBN Venita Called A ‘Bully’ After Neo Shares Family Ordeal With One

18. HARDWORK PAYS; Lady Opens Own Shop After Years Of Hawking Chin Chin, Egg Rolls, Puff Puff

19. Heartbreaking; Man Losses Wife And Baby After 14 Years Of Barrenness

20. Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello, Group Tells EFCC

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office