Protesters Storm The National Assembly Complex, Abuja Over Sacking Of University VC

Date: 17-02-2016 4:30 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 17-02-2016 04:30 PM (8 years ago)

Protesters under the aegis of Coalition of Civil Society Groups on Wednesday took to the streets of Abuja protesting against the sacking of 13 Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Universities, Punch reports. Numbering over 2,000, the protesters barricaded the entrance of the National Assembly, calling for the removal of the Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu. The Director-General, COCSG, Bassey Etuk said the sacking of the VCs and their replacement with people mostly from the North violated the federal character principles. “Six Professors were taken from Bayero University, Kano as replacement… Haba! Why? ,” one of the placards held by the protesters read. The protesters were heard chanting, “Adamu must go”, “Reinstate the sacked VCs now” and “Nigeria needs a better administrator in the Education Ministry”, among others. A petition to the Senate President, Bukola Saraki and Speaker, House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, was received on their behalf by the National Assembly’s Deputy Sergeant-At-Arms, Dennis Maaji. According to the group the Minister should resign his appointment “because he doesn’t seem to understand the working of University system and administration.” Etuk said the coalition would be heading to court to stop the sack as the tenure of five of the sacked VCs had yet to expire.

Posted: at 17-02-2016 04:30 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Maxwell29 at 17-02-2016 04:38 PM (8 years ago)
Wasted generation
Posted: at 17-02-2016 04:38 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- emma4love3 at 17-02-2016 04:44 PM (8 years ago)
mmmm.....Adamu Adamu....equals to mumu....is the
minister for education...kai walli ta lie...i don die....
i sack am four 13 vc.... i put am 6 aboki like me
for their.....the man is sick Adamu....PMB abeg wakeup
now bf things spoil.....
Posted: at 17-02-2016 04:44 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 17-02-2016 04:46 PM (8 years ago)
hmmmm... I dey here dey watch where is gonna land.....
Posted: at 17-02-2016 04:46 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 17-02-2016 04:50 PM (8 years ago)
high risk people!!
Posted: at 17-02-2016 04:50 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 17-02-2016 05:53 PM (8 years ago)
Ok oo
Posted: at 17-02-2016 05:53 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 17-02-2016 06:16 PM (8 years ago)
Your right,Your freedom,welldone protesters,I was wondering since yesterday about the sacking of the VCs,What really is happening in this country called nigeria? God please we need a LEADER&not a RULER,Chaaii.
Posted: at 17-02-2016 06:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- evilgenius at 17-02-2016 06:33 PM (8 years ago)
ethnicity not in graveyard
Posted: at 17-02-2016 06:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 17-02-2016 08:21 PM (8 years ago)
All na wash

Posted: at 17-02-2016 08:21 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 17-02-2016 09:05 PM (8 years ago)
what are they protesting?  when the deed is already done.
Posted: at 17-02-2016 09:05 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- lilchuks28 at 18-02-2016 02:03 AM (8 years ago)
I said it before, Buhari and his Appointees are the real definition of cluelessness. Buhari is gradually revealing himself to Nigerians. ....Que Sera Sera
Posted: at 18-02-2016 02:03 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- yebo15 at 18-02-2016 08:37 AM (8 years ago)
My pity goes to the Yoruba people who never knows their rights buhari will appoint 10 aboki mallams and only one Yoruba person and the Yoruba people will be very happy commending the president as if he had done something special knowing fully well that buhari becoming the president was because he got the 100% support of the aboki president.
Posted: at 18-02-2016 08:37 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Trueyarn at 18-02-2016 09:52 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmm,make the minister of education explain himself maybe them fit see reasons for him action.
Posted: at 18-02-2016 09:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ujmaria at 18-02-2016 09:56 AM (8 years ago)
Buhari come and answer ur people
Posted: at 18-02-2016 09:56 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 18-02-2016 10:49 AM (8 years ago)
Another senseless act
Posted: at 18-02-2016 10:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac