Nuhu ribadu's demotion

Date: 08-08-2008 1:17 am (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
- at 8-08-2008 01:17 AM (15 years ago)
During the week,the Nigeria's former anti-corruption czar Mallam Nuhu Ribadu was demoted from the rant of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) to a Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) by the Police Service Commission,a step that is three times below his level.
What do U think is responsible for this action?Do u think some powerful bad people are trying to get back at him?Or is the IG & his boys trying to force the young man out of the force?Let's get ur take on this.

Posted: at 8-08-2008 01:17 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Tapiya at 10-08-2008 11:22 AM (15 years ago)
thats just it, who are the PSC? they are all politicians, In Femi's Word' I sorry sorry o' I sorry for Nigeria, I sorry sorry o' I sorry for Africa, its an embodiment of anti Development, People with ill gotten wealth want to control us for how Long? God dey sha!

Posted: at 10-08-2008 11:22 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 16-08-2008 10:28 PM (15 years ago)
if i say i am surprised ,i wont be telling u d truth.those of us that saw it coming and were arguing it out many months ago were told that nigeria is now beyond that era ,but c wats happening .is there a future 4 d anti-corruption war? NO not with this kind of thing happening..................zie Lips Sealed

Posted: at 16-08-2008 10:28 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 18-08-2008 12:59 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: zie85er on 16-08-2008 10:28 PM
if i say i am surprised ,i wont be telling u d truth.those of us that saw it coming and were arguing it out many months ago were told that nigeria is now beyond that era ,but c wats happening .is there a future 4 d anti-corruption war? NO not with this kind of thing happening..................zie Lips Sealed

I kinda agree with u.However,the drama is still unfolding.Lest watch.
Posted: at 18-08-2008 12:59 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 18-08-2008 01:10 AM (15 years ago)
the drama is still unfolding?
give me a break. u know wats gonna unfold.
i can give u d statistics of poeple in both the public and private sector dat got vindicated after similar scandals,
i tell u brother ;its not encouraging. we r good @ letting things be good or bad.

Posted: at 18-08-2008 01:10 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- khadijah at 30-08-2008 08:02 PM (15 years ago)
hmmm....d problem is no1 is ready to stand up to them..so unfortunate and so unfair.
Posted: at 30-08-2008 08:02 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 05:37 PM (15 years ago)
I think this is one issue where we are allowing sentiments 2 over-cloud our sense of reason.We should take time to ask our self some questions.
1.Was Ribadu's accelerated promotion under OBJ in line with the Due process?
2.Are there other very effective persons in the force who were not promoted @ the time our friend was getting his promotion?
3.Was Ribadu supposed 2 be an AIG without the necessary training for that position?
4.Was he the only person that was demoted.& finally
5.Why was he demoted?
I do not think Ribadu is a saint.Yes he achieved a great deal as EFCC boss.However,if we consider the above questions and some more,I think we'll be in a better position 2 discuss this.If Ribadu is not supposed to occupy the rank he was occupying,then,I dont ve a problem ith his demotion.U cannot destroy a whole system because of one man.There was the NPF before Ribadu.& it ll be there far after him.
Posted: at 31-08-2008 05:37 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- princeishere at 31-08-2008 05:55 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 31-08-2008 05:37 PM
I think this is one issue where we are allowing sentiments 2 over-cloud our sense of reason.We should take time to ask our self some questions.
2.Are there other very effective persons in the force who were not promoted @ the time our friend was getting his promotion?
3.Was Ribadu supposed 2 be an AIG without the necessary training for that position?
5.Why was he demoted?
I do not think Ribadu is a saint.Yes he achieved a great deal as EFCC boss.However,if we consider the above questions and some more,I think we'll be in a better position 2 discuss this.If Ribadu is not supposed to occupy the rank he was occupying,then,I dont ve a problem ith his demotion.U cannot destroy a whole system because of one man.There was the NPF before Ribadu.& it ll be there far after him.

well said..
couldnt have said it better, Ribadu may have fought and won turbulent corruption wars, that doesnt make him above d law and due process. Its time fr us to shove away sentiments and be realistic. Even though Ribadu was tagged to be Obj's watch dog, that doesnt change the fact that the awareness was not created...certain individuals might have been victimised though but the fear of EFCC has been instilled on the minds of greedy politicians and i believe that has gone a long way in acheiving postive results in the fight against corruption
Posted: at 31-08-2008 05:55 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 3-09-2008 12:45 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: princeishere on 31-08-2008 05:55 PM
5.Why was he demoted?

well said..
couldnt have said it better, Ribadu may have fought and won turbulent corruption wars, that doesnt make him above d law and due process. Its time fr us to shove away sentiments and be realistic. Even though Ribadu was tagged to be Obj's watch dog, that doesnt change the fact that the awareness was not created...certain individuals might have been victimised though but the fear of EFCC has been instilled on the minds of greedy politicians and i believe that has gone a long way in acheiving postive results in the fight against corruption
Posted: at 3-09-2008 12:45 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 4-09-2008 03:56 AM (15 years ago)
5.Why was he demoted?

the question is 'why was he demotedin the first place?

Posted: at 4-09-2008 03:56 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- khadijah at 4-09-2008 09:51 AM (15 years ago)
they sure gave some silly excuses...and it was mass demotion i think..ve got to confirm for real..didnt put much mind to it cause i's pissed when i heard it.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 09:51 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- walerian at 4-09-2008 04:02 PM (15 years ago)
the best thin for him is to resign. he is already known world wide and can get appointed else where. he did his best but wen OBJ was leaving he shld av left then too.
Posted: at 4-09-2008 04:02 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 8-09-2008 10:21 PM (15 years ago)
I think,ordinarily,resignation would ve being the honorable thing to do.However,that's exactly what those behind the scene want him to do.So,I guess,he's not ready to give them the pleasure.To prove my point,last Friday,they promoted some of those officers that were demoted with him.However,his name was not on the list.
Posted: at 8-09-2008 10:21 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 9-09-2008 02:27 AM (15 years ago)
can u feel the scam...could you give an insight to this..and shouldnt be waziri watching her back?
Posted: at 9-09-2008 02:27 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 9-09-2008 10:50 PM (15 years ago)
It's simple.The NPF promotes its men on the basis of seniority & not merit.Ribadu is number 2000 in the List of DCPs in the Force.Therefore,his superiors ve to get promotion before him.Pls do note that this explanation is the fact on the ground.This is the basis of the demotion in the first place.This is what the rules state.Now the question we will now ve to ask ourselves is:how fair are these RULES?How do they contribute to the overall development of the force,in terms of motivating officers to pursue excellence,which will in turn,lead to efficiency & effectiveness in crime fighting?

These are the pertinent questions.If we are talking about the rule of law,we should also talk about the fairness of these laws that are suppose to RULE.If they are draconian in nature,then the Rule of Law is injustice.

As for Farida(I love her name.lolz)she's on her own.She must ve to earn our truth and support.Also,it should be noted that their cases ain't similar.Ribadu is a serving officer,while Waziri is already retired before she was offered the job.So they are in different pedestrians.
Posted: at 9-09-2008 10:50 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- walerian at 10-09-2008 12:09 PM (15 years ago)
lets see wat she's got to offer. records will tell.
Posted: at 10-09-2008 12:09 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chuboy at 30-09-2008 03:24 PM (15 years ago)
CORRUPTION FIGHTS BACK
Posted: at 30-09-2008 03:24 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- swagga at 30-09-2008 04:25 PM (15 years ago)
mhmhm
Posted: at 30-09-2008 04:25 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- easylifeg at 1-10-2008 08:00 PM (15 years ago)
naija is corrupts dey sha want to bring that man down by all means 
Posted: at 1-10-2008 08:00 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- prince1973 at 6-10-2008 10:06 AM (15 years ago)
HE SHOULD RESIGN VOLUNTARILY AND ENJOY HIS MONEY WITH HIS FAMILY
Posted: at 6-10-2008 10:06 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie