Nigerians In UK Who Earn Less Than £35000 To Be Deported From April

Date: 14-03-2016 1:59 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 14-03-2016 01:59 PM (8 years ago)

Nigerians, from next month, non-EU migrants in the UK earning less than £35,000 will be deported. The new Home Office policy, which comes into force on April 6, applies to all overseas workers who have been in the UK for five years on a Tier 2 visa. If they can’t prove that they’re earning more than £35,000, they will be denied settlement and will face deportation. Teachers, IT professionals and journalists could all be badly affected.
A petition launched at the beginning of the year called for the threshold to be reconsidered – it gathered more than 100,000 signatures and was debated in parliament last week.
So what’s actually changing?
To settle in the UK as a skilled worker, non-EU migrants need to have a Tier 2 visa. For this you need:
An offer for a job in the UK that pays at least £20,800
Have had at least £945 in your bank account for 90 days
A certificate of sponsorship from your employer (which can cost between £536 and £1,476)
To pay a £200 annual healthcare surcharge
To prove your English language proficiency

After five years on this visa, skilled workers are able to apply for ‘indefinite leave to remain’ – and this is what is about to change.

From April, anyone applying for indefinite leave to remain will need to earn at least £35,000.

Nurses are temporarily exempt from this threshold, along with PhD-level jobs and any professions that have been on the official ‘shortage occupation list’ while the person has been living here.

However, the earnings threshold could be applied to migrant nurses in the future.

Teachers aren’t exempt (unless they are professors in certain disciplines). Even David Cameron’s mum has lost her job because of Tory cuts

In fact, the Home Office’s own analysis of the policy in 2012 revealed that the new threshold would have a significant impact on teachers, IT professionals and marketing managers.

What if I’ve been in the UK for more than five years?
Then you won’t be deported – the new rule doesn’t apply to anyone who entered the country on a Tier 2 visa on or before April 5 2011.

I’ve been here for a decade, will I be deported?
No – as long as you’ve been living here for 10 continuous years, you can apply for indefinite leave to remain with no salary threshold.

So if you came here in 2006 as a student visa, then moved directly onto a skilled workers’ visa, you can apply to settle here regardless of how much you earn.

The only condition is that you can’t have left the UK for more than 180 days at a time, or 540 days in total.

I’m here on a marriage visa, will I have to leave?

No, the changes only apply to people on a Tier 2 visa.

Posted: at 14-03-2016 01:59 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 14-03-2016 02:06 PM (8 years ago)
na their country na, make Nigeria too pursue any UK person wey dey earn less than 300k
Posted: at 14-03-2016 02:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Vectorcy at 14-03-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Timothy Eazy on 14-03-2016 02:06 PM
na their country na, make Nigeria too pursue any UK person wey dey earn less than 300k
U talk well
Posted: at 14-03-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 14-03-2016 02:12 PM (8 years ago)
Naija pals news i hail ooo, cos me no no where una dey get this news from poster
Posted: at 14-03-2016 02:12 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- victorstic1 at 14-03-2016 02:14 PM (8 years ago)
NA WA O EVERY MEANS TO PURSUE NAIJA THEY ARE EMPLOYING NO BE THEIR FAULT SHA
Posted: at 14-03-2016 02:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 14-03-2016 02:29 PM (8 years ago)
35k per annul or month? That's rather huge, does this apply to only Nigerians or every expert living in the UK
Posted: at 14-03-2016 02:29 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 14-03-2016 03:14 PM (8 years ago)
come poster recheck this info abeg....becos if is true no body go remain for uk oooh
Posted: at 14-03-2016 03:14 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Chrissie036 at 14-03-2016 03:55 PM (8 years ago)
This is serious.
Posted: at 14-03-2016 03:55 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- kp45 at 14-03-2016 04:02 PM (8 years ago)
Still trying to get the concrete info.
Posted: at 14-03-2016 04:02 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- potbelly at 14-03-2016 05:16 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: DRE on 14-03-2016 02:29 PM
35k per annul or month? That's rather huge, does this apply to only Nigerians or every expert living in the UK

it is 35k per annum and its for all skilled migrants on tier 2 visa who are not from the european union countries. the headline is kinda misleading.
its not only nigerians
Posted: at 14-03-2016 05:16 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- zezprincess at 14-03-2016 05:51 PM (8 years ago)
Nawaoo,why almost all the countries in this world dey pursue naija comot for their country? Are we cursed or are we the cause?Even Ghana too dey deport naija,I tireoo.
Posted: at 14-03-2016 05:51 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- nonix22001 at 14-03-2016 06:18 PM (8 years ago)
dt yeye UK wey old man go wear canvas dey do young boy while him mates dey naija dey improve with speed of light. Men don finish for UK be that nah! how many pple evn earn up2 that amount in the UK?? UK wey men dey seat for houz 24/7 as no job & their peeps back home are thinking that these guys are living large. All cos of naija's economic condition. mctweeer
Posted: at 14-03-2016 06:18 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 14-03-2016 07:13 PM (8 years ago)
Many Nigerians will be affected. Cuz..most of em in UK are surviving with peanut
Posted: at 14-03-2016 07:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- SOGaiya at 14-03-2016 08:50 PM (8 years ago)
gudbye uk
Posted: at 14-03-2016 08:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- imaria at 14-03-2016 10:12 PM (8 years ago)
Not interesting
Posted: at 14-03-2016 10:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 14-03-2016 10:34 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on 14-03-2016 03:14 PM
come poster recheck this info abeg....becos if is true no body go remain for uk oooh
UK no be their papa place make them come back jeje o
Posted: at 14-03-2016 10:34 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 14-03-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago)
THIS UK SELF, THERE WHALA TO MUCH. THEY REALLY DISLIKE NIGERIANS, THEY SHOULD CALM THINGS DWN NW.
Posted: at 14-03-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 14-03-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago)
THIS UK SELF, THERE WHALA TO MUCH. THEY REALLY DISLIKE NIGERIANS, THEY SHOULD CALM THINGS DWN NW.
Posted: at 14-03-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 14-03-2016 11:29 PM (8 years ago)
Too bad of them
Posted: at 14-03-2016 11:29 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 15-03-2016 05:26 AM (8 years ago)
omo na uk dey rain now.....hahahahah
Posted: at 15-03-2016 05:26 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

2. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

3. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

4. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

5. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

6. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

9. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

10. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

11. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

12. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

13. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Ex-Nigerian Customs Sole Administrator, Omlago Ango Damages Estranged Wife's Abuja Home

6. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor