Ambode Orders All Occupants Of Lekki Gardens To Vacate Immediately For Safety Test

Date: 15-03-2016 9:55 pm (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 15-03-2016 09:55 PM (8 years ago)

Today, the Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode ordered occupants in all houses built by Lekki Gardens to vacate their apartments in order for integrity test to be carried out on all the buildings to ascertain their safety.

He gave this order when he visited the scene of the 5-storey collapsed building which killed 35 people last Tuesday.

He was displeased with what he saw and ordered immediate action. He said the developer should take responsibility of the relocation of occupants of the buildings as government would not wait for the buildings to kill other people.

He said: “The State Government will undertake a stability test on all other buildings constructed by the developer in the state, whether occupied or not, to ascertain their structural stability. The developer will pay the cost of the tests. Any building found to be defective would be demolished.

For those that pass the integrity test, the developer will pay a penalty for any overdevelopment on the site. Further to the above, the State Government intends to carry out an audit of all structures in Lagos to ascertain those with planning approval or not and evaluate the physical development against the approved building plans. .

Let me reiterate that Lagos is open to business for those who must comply with the state’s laws and regulations in order to prosper. Our main concern is to continue to improve on the ease of doing business and uphold the rule of law at all times. Those who choose non-compliance and defiance will henceforth face the full weight of the law without fear or favour." -

Posted: at 15-03-2016 09:55 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 15-03-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
I see...Ok mr Governor..dats nyc.issokay
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 15-03-2016 10:10 PM (8 years ago)
Ok,action governor.
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:10 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okuboye at 15-03-2016 10:12 PM (8 years ago)
Like government sleeping when dey were building it.  We need a proactive government not a noise maker
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:12 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 15-03-2016 10:13 PM (8 years ago)
mmmmmmm  war on fake buildings nice one
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:13 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Oworen25 at 15-03-2016 10:18 PM (8 years ago)
War against indiscipline
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 15-03-2016 10:27 PM (8 years ago)
Where will they pack to, Mr governor?
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Fran6ixfox at 15-03-2016 10:38 PM (8 years ago)
nice move
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:38 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eniang1 at 15-03-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago)
Mr. Govneor, would you do this to a Yoruba man? Obviously no! Systemattic coverage would have been adopted as in the case of TB Joshua..
Posted: at 15-03-2016 10:41 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vectorcy at 15-03-2016 11:19 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on 15-03-2016 10:27 PM
Where will they pack to, Mr governor?
Lols..Wait let me ask d governor..yu hear...
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:19 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 15-03-2016 11:26 PM (8 years ago)
Hope you must have immediate accommodation also bcos talk is cheap.
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:26 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- imaria at 15-03-2016 11:30 PM (8 years ago)
Ok let them vacate to government house
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 15-03-2016 11:42 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Az  link=topic=286169.msg4743622#msg4743622 date=1458076372
Like government sleeping when dey were building it.  We need a proactive government not a noise maker
Thank u my bro....
What about other areas as well....?
Na Tinubu boy, infact na Tinubu houseboy and a very stupid fool...
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 15-03-2016 11:46 PM (8 years ago)
hope una done hear?
Posted: at 15-03-2016 11:46 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Machealex at 16-03-2016 12:58 AM (8 years ago)
Good for them
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:58 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 16-03-2016 01:12 AM (8 years ago)
yes i love this at leat for rhem to check the houses
strenght...
Posted: at 16-03-2016 01:12 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 16-03-2016 01:13 AM (8 years ago)
all d occupant at lekki gardens should vacate their apartment and submit themselves to alausa for record purpose. abi no be so oga ambode?
Posted: at 16-03-2016 01:13 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 16-03-2016 05:14 AM (8 years ago)
Wen Mr Fashola was d governor and some building fell in Lagos island (isale EKO) He order for all d building in Lagos state to be tested and mark all those building dat are to be demolished. It was a success then. I jt hope Ambode d home boy will be a able to do same. 
Posted: at 16-03-2016 05:14 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- factfinding at 16-03-2016 08:04 AM (8 years ago)
Govt can still check test whatever they wanna test without tenants moving out,is not easy to get home in Lagos specially as things is hard now,  unless the Govt have ulterior motive to convert the lands into Govt own by giving an excuses  that is not suitable for tenants to lives in , which they normally do. especially if the owner is not a Yoruba indigence.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:04 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 16-03-2016 08:17 AM (8 years ago)
KUDOS TO YOU MR GOVERNOR, I BELIVE NO GOVERNOR WE WANT PEOPLE OF THE STATE DIEING. I REALLY LIKE YOUR MOVE.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 08:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac