There Is Discrimination In Nollywood As Yoruba Acts Are Being Sidelined - Mercy Aigbe

Date: 22-03-2016 7:29 am (8 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 22-03-2016 07:29 AM (8 years ago)

It's just not about the fact that Mercy Aigbe was omitted from the 'best dressed' list, it's more about the fact that there's indeed a kind of discrimination in Nollywood.  On Sunday, March 20, 2016, Nollywood filmmaker Mercy Aigbe called out This Day Style for omitting her name as one of the 'best dressed."
She wrote
"are yoruba movies not part of nollywood? .....is Nollywood not supposed to mean home grown Nigerian movies?
 .....hmmmmm I am very sure they didn't coz, they won't want to STAIN their cover with a 'RAZZ' 'LOCAL' yoruba actor!....
Yes I am razz, Yes I am local and Yes I am a Yoruba actor!.....
No I refuse to speak ur almighty English with fake British or American accent!....
Because I'll always remain true to myself!...I am ME."

Her 'rant' led to people asking questions like "what's the para for?" I get it, I mean, it's just a magazine cover! But then, there's actually a wider picture here.
It's just not about the fact that she was omitted from the 'best dressed,' it's more about the fact that there's indeed a kind of discrimination in Nollywood.

Yes, whoever put the 'best dressed' list is entitled to his or her opinion, but the actress saw it as a perfect opportunity to address a bigger problem.
Are Yoruba movies and actors not part of Nollywood? When we say Yoruba actors, we don't mean actors who are from the Yoruba tribe, we mean actors that feature in Yoruba speaking movies. My answer to that question is "Yoruba movies are part of Nollywood, because Nollywood covers home grown movies, but they are not considered part of Nollywood."
Unfortunately, whoever you ask, even the Yoruba actors, you will get the "everyone is one" response. But because we are in a country and industry where people only react when they feel directly affected, this issue is coming up now. If Aigbe had not felt slighted, she probably would not have remembered that some people actually don't consider Yoruba movies and actors as part of the industry, because she gets almost the same attention other 'Nollywood' actors receive.

This much talked about discrimination doesn't only exist in Nollywood, it's in the media, it's also amongst the Yoruba actors.
You get to hear some actors say things like "in the Yoruba film industry," "Kannywood," and all the other kind of woods. If our Yoruba actors truly want that 'one industry,' then why do they separate themselves? What exactly have they done to bridge this gap we all know does exist?
The discrimination isn't just amongst the Yoruba actors vs English movie actors. Have you even thought of the Kannywood industry it's almost like they are in a whole different world.
Let's even come home to the English movie industry, which is considered the main Nollywood, there's still a kind of discrimination in the thing called "New vs Old Nollywood."
A particular group of people have been selected to be hyped by the media, and very few  Yoruba movie actors are fortunate enough to be amongst the selected.

After most events, you get to see only photos of the likes of Genevieve Nnaji, RMD, Adesua Etomi, OC Ukeje, Beverly Naya, Osas Ighodaro on the red carpet. You begin to wonder, was Queen Nwokoye, Sikirat Sindodo, Rachel Okonkwo, Junior Pope, Rahama Hassan among others not in attendance?
I have never seen a red carpet interview with Yoruba movie actors or 'Asaba Movie' actors. If they get to be interviewed on the red carpet, it's probably because their outfits has got heads turning (positively or negatively).
Mercy Aigbe, Faithia Balogun, Toyin Aimakhu, Doris Simeon and Iyabo Ojo are few of the Yoruba movie actors who have been fortunate enough to receive a certain media coverage. The rest get to make it when they say, do or partake in something controversial.
Most of the Nigerians screaming "take several seats" at Aigbe, are the same ones who will come cry about how white the Oscars nominees list is. How whites were cast in "Gods of Egypt" and the rest of things that aren't even their business.

If you ever thought Jaden Pinkett Smith's rant wasn't completely about Will Smith's supposed Oscars snub, then somehow, you also should understand that Aigbe's rant has more to do with the fact that the Yoruba movie stars are truly not considered as part of Nollywood.

Posted: at 22-03-2016 07:29 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- BournIdentity at 22-03-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago)
I beg d noise don dey become too much,,,  make I carry headphone put 4 ear... Abi she never hear say dem don hear ram ni,,,,, o sorry,, na d moronic moron poster dey repeat wetin u don yarn tey tey
Posted: at 22-03-2016 07:39 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ficull at 22-03-2016 07:49 AM (8 years ago)
I dont get it. What really do u want?
U dont want to speak 'Almighty English' but Yoruba alone which majority of Nigerians dont understand, and u are complaining that more people identify with what they understand.
You made ur choice of representation, live with it.
Posted: at 22-03-2016 07:49 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 22-03-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago)
THIS IS WHAT I CALL ASSOCIATION OF BLEACHES , THIS IS ALSO A DISCRIMINATION BECAUSE NO BLACK LADY IS AMONG THEREBY PROMOTING BLEACHING .MERCY HAVE SAID IT TIME AND TIME AGAIN I WILL INCLUDE U IN MY MAGAZINE SO ENOUGH OF THIS CRY AND SHOUT BEFORE SOME PEOPLE START TO INSULT U.
Posted: at 22-03-2016 08:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 22-03-2016 08:34 AM (8 years ago)
GO SIDON NOISE MAKER.....VANITY UP VANITY.....ALL NA VANITY,,,SO be careful,be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLL...............
Posted: at 22-03-2016 08:34 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- victorstic1 at 22-03-2016 08:35 AM (8 years ago)
MY ADVICE TO THE YORUBA MOVIE ACTORS IS THAT THEY SHOULD NAME THEMSELVES YORUWOOD , SINCE THERE IS KANNYWOOD NOLLYWOOD HOLLYWOOD ALL NA WOOD END AM
Posted: at 22-03-2016 08:35 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- shinenoyi at 22-03-2016 08:53 AM (8 years ago)
MERCY MERCY MERCY how many times i don call u now?Join Noolywood and be recognised
Posted: at 22-03-2016 08:53 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- emma4love3 at 22-03-2016 08:54 AM (8 years ago)
ok what do you want us to do for you
now.....
Posted: at 22-03-2016 08:54 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 22-03-2016 09:01 AM (8 years ago)
And what is so special about u? You are now telling us that u are better than those ones that were included. Huh?
Posted: at 22-03-2016 09:01 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 22-03-2016 09:02 AM (8 years ago)
what's dis story about self? everyone knows that d discrimination has been there long before now. anything wey dem like make dem do.
Posted: at 22-03-2016 09:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Floxitext at 22-03-2016 09:23 AM (8 years ago)
Enter English speaking film if u want to be knwn vry well
Posted: at 22-03-2016 09:23 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 22-03-2016 09:24 AM (8 years ago)
''Ma'm Mercy, you're doing well for YOURSELF, that's what matters most in this PRESENT NAIJA'' So be grateful to God for that and leave all this ARIWO OJA, cause somethings will never CHANGE''
Posted: at 22-03-2016 09:24 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 22-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Azeez Mustapha on 22-03-2016 09:20 AM
Some of them cannot speak good English. Period.

And MERCY AIGBE ain't among those SOME... She's a PROFESSIONAL and can make it on any stage...
Posted: at 22-03-2016 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 22-03-2016 09:47 AM (8 years ago)
You really right jare my dear... That is yoruba for you.. We are meant to discriminate ourselves in this country...
Posted: at 22-03-2016 09:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 22-03-2016 10:49 AM (8 years ago)
creat your own award and give una self
Posted: at 22-03-2016 10:49 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Eazyatumeyi at 22-03-2016 11:59 AM (8 years ago)
All these one na noise you dey make, go sit down for one side make you dey thank God for the success of life.
Posted: at 22-03-2016 11:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 22-03-2016 12:56 PM (8 years ago)
Babe, firstly u are not a Yoruba babe U are an Edo babe jt like TOYIN Aimakhu and Doris Simeon. If u know how to interprete ur role in English very well like d likes of INI Edo, Genevieve, Omotola and others then nobody will sideline u. Beside Dayo Amusan is a Yoruba lady and she is marking her name in d sands of time in movie industry.   
Posted: at 22-03-2016 12:56 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 22-03-2016 01:36 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 22-03-2016 12:56 PM
Babe, firstly u are not a Yoruba babe U are an Edo babe jt like TOYIN Aimakhu and Doris Simeon. If u know how to interprete ur role in English very well like d likes of INI Edo, Genevieve, Omotola and others then nobody will sideline u. Beside Dayo Amusan is a Yoruba lady and she is marking her name in d sands of time in movie industry.   
I beg tell her for me jor.
Posted: at 22-03-2016 01:36 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 22-03-2016 01:37 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: sam dove on 22-03-2016 09:47 AM
You really right jare my dear... That is yoruba for you.. We are meant to discriminate ourselves in this country...
lol no be lie, your talk make some sense.
Posted: at 22-03-2016 01:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 22-03-2016 02:13 PM (8 years ago)
Make we hear word abeg. Because you were not featured in This day magazine, yoruba acts are now sidelined. All the while you were being featured, nothing like that. Abeg pack well
Posted: at 22-03-2016 02:13 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

3. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

4. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

5. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

6. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

7. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

8. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

9. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

10. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

11. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

12. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

13. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

14. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

15. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

16. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

17. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office