Office Romance, How good and bad is it?

Date: 09-08-2008 12:26 am (15 years ago) | Author: Osadolor O. Clemson
- at 9-08-2008 12:26 AM (15 years ago)
Office romances are no longer taboo. They are expected. Most people work, and since that is where they spend most of their time and energy, it makes sense that that is where they will meet other attractive singles. segxwal harassment in the work place does exist, so it's important to keep boundaries clear when you're interested in someone you work with.

If you find yourself in an office romance DO NOT inform your boss. In fact, you should be very careful that your romance does not impact your work in a negative way. Telling your boss that you are seeing someone is too much information and none of anyone's business at a business. However, don't make it their business by making out at the water cooler or sneaking off to long lunches that turn into romantic dates. Keep your work hours and your romance hours separate. Even though you're excited about this someone new, discipline yourself to keep these boundaries. It will even make the time you are together -- but can't show your affection -- more of a turn on.

Find out if your office has a legal policy about office romance by asking your personnel office. In fact, put the request in writing. Don't give details of your own interest in a co-worker. Just jot down a short letter or e-mail to personnel, asking, quite simply, about your company's policy on office romance. Save the correspondence in case, down the line, you need it.

Dating up or dating down can both be fodder for segxwal harassment issues because of the difference in power. Any time that there is a romance, your co-workers may claim you played favorites or were played a favorite and got a promotion or perks because of your personal relationship. On the other hand, you may find yourself blasted by your ex office romance date if he or she claims you passed him over because you were angry or retaliatory over a romantic break. Watch it. Keep those boundaries in place!

And if you're still in doubt, read on:

(Wolf) whistle while you work? You Betcha!

Even though it’s often advised against, dating people you work with makes practical sense—after all, we spend so much of our lives in the office, there’s often no other way or time to meet anyone else. But that’s not to say you don’t have to be smart—extra smart, in fact — about your choices, and take special precautions if you’re going to venture into an office romance.

The one overriding warning worth heeding — the one that should dictate all of your actions and words — is this: People talk. No matter how friendly your co-workers are, or how tight-lipped the object of your affection seems, secrets are almost always spilled, one way or another, whether accidentally or intentionally. Translation? Say nothing and do nothing that you do not want everyone else to know. This means no chit-chat with the girls at the water cooler about his size or performance, and no pillow talk with him about how much you loathe your boss, and can’t wait to take over his or her job. There’s too much at stake—like, your livelihood—to take risks, and there’s too much to lose—like a potentially great love—not to give it a shot.

Some advice to make dating co-workers easier:

1. Don’t mix business and pleasure on company time. Agree to date out-of-work hours, but don’t turn a business lunch into a romantic lunch.

2. Stay fair. Don’t give someone you’re dating better work or pay, and don’t punish someone you’re breaking up with by giving him or her worse work or pay. Otherwise, you may find yourself on the receiving end of a lawsuit!

3. Make sure he or she is actually single. If they’re not – then keep personal remarks at work limited to sports, the weather and the kids. Don’t gripe or listen to gripes about a spouse. “I’m sorry, I’m not comfortable talking about your wife – I want to keep our relationship all business because I value us as co-workers,” is all you need to say – and do.

PROS AND CONS OF DATING A CO-WORKER:

PROS --

1. You know he or she has a job. You know how he or she is thought of at work.

2. You have a lot in common and can be more productive because you have this in common.

3. There is an understanding of each other's work schedules. One of you isn't angry if the other has to work late because you have a better understanding of what's involved.

CONS --

1. If you break up or have a fight, you don't get the respite and space you may need to heal or cool down because you'll see the person so often at work.

2. segxwal harassment is a real problem that can occur more easily when there are lines that get blurred at work. In addition, people gossip and you may make enemies if one of you is higher up in the corporate or business ladder at work, and the one is lower down may be perceived as getting unfair advantages.

3. If one of you wants a break from work and the other is into work, you may not have an escape from it -- even out of the office. for more visite www.smilesparadise.blogspot.com

Posted: at 9-08-2008 12:26 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Vixenx at 9-08-2008 01:31 AM (15 years ago)
To be on a safer side,  stay clear of office romances cuz there's never a positive outcome from it, something always goes wrong in the long run..........
Posted: at 9-08-2008 01:31 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- philomena87 at 9-08-2008 11:46 AM (15 years ago)
lol... na ur own bible u dey write..??
Posted: at 9-08-2008 11:46 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- darkocean002 at 9-08-2008 02:34 PM (15 years ago)
stay clear. except you got another job waiting for ya n u wish to mess the current one up.. its not a good idea having an affair at your work place...
Posted: at 9-08-2008 02:34 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 9-08-2008 03:07 PM (15 years ago)
Sorry, l don't like reading Full Pages
Even 10 lines too dey stressful

Posted: at 9-08-2008 03:07 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jamesbee at 29-08-2008 12:46 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: openparadise on  9-08-2008 12:26 AM
Office romances are no longer taboo. They are expected. Most people work, and since that is where they spend most of their time and energy, it makes sense that that is where they will meet other attractive singles. segxwal harassment in the work place does exist, so it's important to keep boundaries clear when you're interested in someone you work with.

If you find yourself in an office romance DO NOT inform your boss. In fact, you should be very careful that your romance does not impact your work in a negative way. Telling your boss that you are seeing someone is too much information and none of anyone's business at a business. However, don't make it their business by making out at the water cooler or sneaking off to long lunches that turn into romantic dates. Keep your work hours and your romance hours separate. Even though you're excited about this someone new, discipline yourself to keep these boundaries. It will even make the time you are together -- but can't show your affection -- more of a turn on.

Find out if your office has a legal policy about office romance by asking your personnel office. In fact, put the request in writing. Don't give details of your own interest in a co-worker. Just jot down a short letter or e-mail to personnel, asking, quite simply, about your company's policy on office romance. Save the correspondence in case, down the line, you need it.

Dating up or dating down can both be fodder for segxwal harassment issues because of the difference in power. Any time that there is a romance, your co-workers may claim you played favorites or were played a favorite and got a promotion or perks because of your personal relationship. On the other hand, you may find yourself blasted by your ex office romance date if he or she claims you passed him over because you were angry or retaliatory over a romantic break. Watch it. Keep those boundaries in place!

Even though it’s often advised against, dating people you work with makes practical sense—after all, we spend so much of our lives in the office, there’s often no other way or time to meet anyone else. But that’s not to say you don’t have to be smart—extra smart, in fact — about your choices, and take special precautions if you’re going to venture into an office romance.

The one overriding warning worth heeding — the one that should dictate all of your actions and words — is this: People talk. No matter how friendly your co-workers are, or how tight-lipped the object of your affection seems, secrets are almost always spilled, one way or another, whether accidentally or intentionally. Translation? Say nothing and do nothing that you do not want everyone else to know. This means no chit-chat with the girls at the water cooler about his size or performance, and no pillow talk with him about how much you loathe your boss, and can’t wait to take over his or her job. There’s too much at stake—like, your livelihood—to take risks, and there’s too much to lose—like a potentially great love—not to give it a shot.

1. Don’t mix business and pleasure on company time. Agree to date out-of-work hours, but don’t turn a business lunch into a romantic lunch.

2. Stay fair. Don’t give someone you’re dating better work or pay, and don’t punish someone you’re breaking up with by giving him or her worse work or pay. Otherwise, you may find yourself on the receiving end of a lawsuit!

3. Make sure he or she is actually single. If they’re not – then keep personal remarks at work limited to sports, the weather and the kids. Don’t gripe or listen to gripes about a spouse. “I’m sorry, I’m not comfortable talking about your wife – I want to keep our relationship all business because I value us as co-workers,” is all you need to say – and do.

PROS --

2. You have a lot in common and can be more productive because you have this in common.

3. There is an understanding of each other's work schedules. One of you isn't angry if the other has to work late because you have a better understanding of what's involved.

CONS --

1. If you break up or have a fight, you don't get the respite and space you may need to heal or cool down because you'll see the person so often at work.

2. segxwal harassment is a real problem that can occur more easily when there are lines that get blurred at work. In addition, people gossip and you may make enemies if one of you is higher up in the corporate or business ladder at work, and the one is lower down may be perceived as getting unfair advantages.

3. If one of you wants a break from work and the other is into work, you may not have an escape from it -- even out of the office. for more visite www.smilesparadise.blogspot.com

Is bad.Badluck to the coy.I mean setback.

Posted: at 29-08-2008 12:46 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goingwithyou at 29-08-2008 02:58 PM (15 years ago)
nothing to add to dis ...U have read it all from people out there ...wht is not gud is not gud ...
Even i can't do dat n my office why should some one i pay moni to do Job for me do dat ...
Bad idea i know for sure ...And do u know dat people will never see u responsible with dat ....
Posted: at 29-08-2008 02:58 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babieada at 30-08-2008 06:46 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: goingwithyou on 29-08-2008 02:58 PM
nothing to add to dis ...U have read it all from people out there ...wht is not gud is not gud ...
Even i can't do dat n my office why should some one i pay moni to do Job for me do dat ...
Bad idea i know for sure ...And do u know dat people will never see u responsible with dat ....
yea u r rt,people will never see u responsible with dat
Posted: at 30-08-2008 06:46 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- mazi at 30-08-2008 07:25 AM (15 years ago)
honest...couldn't read all dat....can someone surmarize it 4 me in 3 lines.
Posted: at 30-08-2008 07:25 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- myragonza at 30-08-2008 09:44 AM (15 years ago)
there is no one in my office to romance with anywayz...

Posted: at 30-08-2008 09:44 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennee at 31-08-2008 08:09 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 30-08-2008 09:44 AM

Pls Apply at my Office then

Posted: at 31-08-2008 08:09 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 31-08-2008 10:29 PM (15 years ago)
Which kind of insurance benefit are u offering?..lol
Posted: at 31-08-2008 10:29 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- darkocean002 at 31-08-2008 11:51 PM (15 years ago)
taking a step
Posted: at 31-08-2008 11:51 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 1-09-2008 12:02 AM (15 years ago)
watch your step, the floor is slippery...lol
Posted: at 1-09-2008 12:02 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Rulz at 2-09-2008 12:25 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: vixenx on  9-08-2008 01:31 AM
To be on a safer side,  stay clear of office romances cuz there's never a positive outcome from it, something always goes wrong in the long run..........
Some couples have ended up gettin married from Office romance.
A typical eg is my cousin(girl) who got married last May
Posted: at 2-09-2008 12:25 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- mazi at 2-09-2008 12:31 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 30-08-2008 09:44 AM
ha!...u can't be working alone....or do work only with gals.....i can apply there. Grin
Posted: at 2-09-2008 12:31 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- indie at 2-09-2008 01:05 PM (15 years ago)
office romance...baaaaaaaaad. no do!

except its with ur boss or d MD... guuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuud!
Posted: at 2-09-2008 01:05 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- prencess at 2-09-2008 02:02 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: openparadise on  9-08-2008 12:26 AM

PROS --

CONS --

watin be this now, i dont have space to type my reply
Posted: at 2-09-2008 02:02 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- darkocean002 at 2-09-2008 02:53 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: vixenx on  1-09-2008 12:02 AM

aww thnx Vixenx, but wish to fall on you Grin
Posted: at 2-09-2008 02:53 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 2-09-2008 03:01 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: darkocean002 on  2-09-2008 02:53 PM
Quote from: vixenx on  1-09-2008 12:02 AM

aww thnx Vixenx, but wish to fall on you Grin
if miss?...the impact might kill u. Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 2-09-2008 03:01 PM (15 years ago) | Hero

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

3. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

4. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

5. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

6. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

7. Gunmen Kill One, Abduct Seven Along Sagamu-Ijebu-Ode Expressway

8. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

9. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

10. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

11. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

12. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

13. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria