VIDEO: Violence Erupts In Nasarawa State House of Assembly As Lawmakers Exchange Blows

Date: 05-04-2016 5:44 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-04-2016 05:44 AM (7 years ago)

Members of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly engaged in a free-for-all on Monday over the appointment of sole administrators for 11 local government councils by Governor Tanko Al-Makura.
The free-for-all occurred on the floor of the legislature barely two hours after the governor inaugurated the 11 sole administrators.

Glasses were shattered while tables and chairs were upturned in the violence that engulfed the House.

A faction that described the governor’s action as illegal was opposed by another faction that supported the action of the governor. Some legislators sustained injuries during the violence while some had their clothes torn.

Briefing newsmen at the legislative complex, a member, House Committee on Information, Mr. Makpa Malla, said that seats and tables were broken during the fight.

Describing the appointment by the governor as illegal, Malla said the Assembly could not continue to watch the governor perpetrate illegalities in the state.

He said, “As you can see, this is the executive room of the state House of Assembly, where we sit down every morning to discuss matters which would bring development to the state and the country at large.

“Categorically, I want to state here that the division which caused this chaos was as result of the appointment of the sole administrators by the governor. As a responsible legislature with some of us as lawyers, we insisted that the right thing must be done.

“The Section 7 of the Federal Republic of Nigeria – as amended – guarantees a democratic system of governance at the local government level. The provision of the constitution is explicit on how the local government structure should be run.

“That is why we are kicking against the appointment of the sole administrators. Sole administrators only existed during the military era and as respecters of the rule of law, we must ensure that the executive must also respect the rule of law.”

Malla, however, urged the people of the state to remain calm and be law-abiding as the law would take its course in the matter.

Watch video below;

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hbxz4cw47ec&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hbxz4cw47ec&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 5-04-2016 05:44 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 5-04-2016 06:32 AM (7 years ago)
I dey laugh ooo Grin Grin Grin,,,,,See ur Politricians? see deir life outside,,,,
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:32 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- sagiru at 5-04-2016 06:35 AM (7 years ago)
God forbid these Animals to be called "our leaders".
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:35 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso112 at 5-04-2016 06:44 AM (7 years ago)
Oya CLAP for them....!!! Awon CIRCUS CLOWNS....
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:44 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan22 at 5-04-2016 06:47 AM (7 years ago)
All this politicians like to disgrace themselves
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:47 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan22 at 5-04-2016 06:48 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Haso on  5-04-2016 06:44 AM
Oya CLAP for them....!!! Awon CIRCUS CLOWNS....

No body go do that
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:48 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan22 at 5-04-2016 06:48 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: muhammad sagir on  5-04-2016 06:35 AM
God forbid these Animals to be called "our leaders".

And they are northerners
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:48 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akpan22 at 5-04-2016 06:49 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: teejay on  5-04-2016 06:32 AM
I dey laugh ooo Grin Grin Grin,,,,,See ur Politricians? see deir life outside,,,,

They no get shame
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 5-04-2016 06:55 AM (7 years ago)
Chaaiiii,,, dem don start again
Posted: at 5-04-2016 06:55 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 5-04-2016 07:20 AM (7 years ago)
WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BLAME THIS ON BUHARI...NEXT TIME Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 5-04-2016 07:20 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dleg at 5-04-2016 07:49 AM (7 years ago)
Law breaker asking people to be calm and law abiding .............Animal Talk
Posted: at 5-04-2016 07:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 5-04-2016 08:04 AM (7 years ago)
Yeye they worry them
Posted: at 5-04-2016 08:04 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 5-04-2016 09:50 AM (7 years ago)
stupid set of animal on the loose!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 5-04-2016 09:50 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- dickieponga at 5-04-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago)
Even for Europe dem dey fight dis kin fight so it's no news to me....
Posted: at 5-04-2016 09:52 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 5-04-2016 09:26 PM (7 years ago)
WWF Useless people
Posted: at 5-04-2016 09:26 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 5-04-2016 09:26 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on  5-04-2016 09:52 AM
Even for Europe dem dey fight dis kin fight so it's no news to me....
abi o
Posted: at 5-04-2016 09:26 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 5-04-2016 09:27 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: teejay on  5-04-2016 06:32 AM
not my own o
Posted: at 5-04-2016 09:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 5-04-2016 09:44 PM (7 years ago)
We know say una dey gain d post, if not una no go dey set blows.
Posted: at 5-04-2016 09:44 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- showskill at 6-04-2016 12:48 AM (7 years ago)
SO CAN WE LEARN 4M DIS ANIMALS AS A LEADER WHAT IS DIFFERENT BETWEEN THEM AND AREA BOYZ ,GOD WILL PUNISH ALL OF U D EVIL LEADERS
Posted: at 6-04-2016 12:48 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- willyking at 6-04-2016 01:50 AM (7 years ago)
Make una kill each other.
Posted: at 6-04-2016 01:50 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac