Nigerians Are Great Liars

Date: 21-01-2010 10:18 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-01-2010 10:18 PM (14 years ago)
A research conducted to find out the truth rating of Nigerians has shown an appalling result: Nigerians are great liars.

The research, conducted by the Love of Fatherland Initiative, a non-governmental organisation based in Lagos State, polled 3,000 respondents and discovered that all of them had told lies within the period of the researched.

The respondents, selected from schools, banks, churches and mosques, were asked: “How many of you have not told or written a lie in the last one year?”

The answer was zero as all the respondents agreed that they had lied within the period.

The question was asked again and the time frame reduced to six months. The answer was still zero as the respondents had told lies within the period.

The same question was further reduced to 24 hours and of the 3,000 polled, only five respondents agreed that they had not told any lie within the specific period.

Commenting on the outcome of the survey, the head of the NGO, Engr. Tunde Araoye, explained that “telling lies is a fruit of darkness of people’s minds and memories.”

According to him, “we went further in our research to look at the damage that lie telling does to an individual.

“We found out that any time you speak, it goes to the memory to register itself, but each time you tell a lie, it goes to the memory and blinds our mind.

“So, the reason why Nigerians are like this is because we have blinded minds. This is why we cannot reason straight.”

He disclosed further that internationally, the truth rating of Nigeria is put at 0.1 percent as against that of the Americans, put at 75 percent and Japanese, put at between 25 and 28 percent.

Despite the proliferation of religious groups in the country, Nigerians have refused to imbibe the culture of truth, he lamented, stressing that anybody who failed the three questions is as bad as any Nigerian leader.

“Nigeria is naked. There is no garment of love, integrity and honesty in the society.

“Like everyone else, I am bothered that if you go to the American and British embassies every morning, you will see a crowd wanting to leave this country, whereas if the Americans or British were to occupy Nigeria today and everyone of us is evacuated from Nigeria, by the time they live in Nigeria for 10 years, this place would have been transformed and it would be amazing. They would make cars and aeroplanes without importation.”

He said God had given Nigerians the ability to develop, but due to lies, their brains have refused to help them contribute to technological advancement in the world.

Attitude, he said, can either be one’s friend or foe and in the case of Nigerians, “it is our enemy.”

Araoye said he would continue to sensitise Nigerians on the importance of truth in their daily lives through his organisation.

He added that the organisation had taken the campaign to 200 schools and would soon extend the campaign to higher institutions in the country.

Posted: at 21-01-2010 10:18 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 21-01-2010 10:54 PM (14 years ago)
Tell those researchers to try and carry out the research proper.. becos i know none of them get closer to me with any questions. so they cant say all Nigerians.

Posted: at 21-01-2010 10:54 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- GlamourPuss at 21-01-2010 10:55 PM (14 years ago)
but many of dem ar reli great liars Sad sad fact
Posted: at 21-01-2010 10:55 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- sparklingstar at 21-01-2010 10:58 PM (14 years ago)
Are you a journalist/a reporter? Lo that's lie. NIGERIA GOOD PPL GREAT NATION.
Posted: at 21-01-2010 10:58 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- popo2009 at 21-01-2010 11:24 PM (14 years ago)
Which country doesnt lie
the research was carried out in Lagos State not in the whole country
so better say Lagosians are great liars
Posted: at 21-01-2010 11:24 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fatimaaisha at 21-01-2010 11:26 PM (14 years ago)
they should do more reserch so that all the nigerian people have taken the survey and be able to make this result reliable.... Undecided
Posted: at 21-01-2010 11:26 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Helga at 22-01-2010 12:26 AM (14 years ago)
Yes i agree with the above. Not all but lots of Nigerians lie with a straight face. Even with the proof at hand and being confronted with the lie they will not admit they did commit one.

Wonder how this goes together telling lies and then praying to God???
Posted: at 22-01-2010 12:26 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- PHINO at 22-01-2010 01:04 AM (14 years ago)
I MET A LADY IN ITALY AND WHEN I ASKED HER HOW OLD SHE WAS,SHE TOLD ME 34 AND I LATER FOUND OUT THAT SHE WAS 39.MANY WHITE WOMEN LIE ABOUT THEIR AGES AND AS WELL LIE ABOUT SO MANY OTHER THINGS.SOME HAVE FOUR HUSBANDS IN DIFFERENT COUNTRIES WHICH NO NIGERIAN LADY WILL EVER DO.THEIR MEN LIE ABOUT FACTS AND STILL TELL THE TRUTH WHILE TALKING WITH THEM NEXT TIME WITHOUT REMEMBERING THE FIRST LIE.THERE ARE LIARS EVERY WHERE BUT THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IN NIGERIANS OWN CASE IT THAT THE LIE AND REMEBER IT WHEN ASKED AFTER 90 YEAARS.NIJA  HAS TRUTHFUL CITIZENS TOO.UNA KNOW HOW EUROPE DEY,IF U DO SOMETHING COME TALK TRUE,THEY GO PUT U INSIDE BACKYARD FOR MANY MONTHS OR YEARS.U NEED TO LIE SOME TIMES TO COMMOT FROM TROUBLE THOUGH LIE NO GOOD Grin
Posted: at 22-01-2010 01:04 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ifeyemi5 at 22-01-2010 01:08 AM (14 years ago)
why telling us.what lessons does it teach u.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 01:08 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- myolu at 22-01-2010 01:33 AM (14 years ago)
Nonsense
Posted: at 22-01-2010 01:33 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 22-01-2010 01:40 AM (14 years ago)
@phino  Grin
I agree with you on that one too.
My mother used to say " lies have short legs ", meaning who lies has to have a very good memory.
So thank God im blessed with a exceptional good memory. Roll Eyes

As for husbands im afraid i lost count but uhhhmmm that might be a lie from my side  Wink

Posted: at 22-01-2010 01:40 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- omatu at 22-01-2010 03:06 AM (14 years ago)
Tell the researchers that they are the greater liars.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 03:06 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osas4joe at 22-01-2010 03:56 AM (14 years ago)
I think the reseachers are jobless and lazy people,because they can't just conduct their research only in Lagos and jump to the con clusion that all Nigerians are liar,pls Mr Araoye go and conduct your survey in all the 36 state before making us to belief we are lias.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 03:56 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sheileys at 22-01-2010 09:04 AM (14 years ago)
If the foundation is faulty, what can the righteous do? Go ASO ROCK and conduct a thorough test. Na there u go fear FEAR!
Posted: at 22-01-2010 09:04 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- shokolokobango at 22-01-2010 10:07 AM (14 years ago)
Una all lie wether born again or not! even the former president of USA but one lie. Was he a nigerian?
Posted: at 22-01-2010 10:07 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- livingmodel at 22-01-2010 10:47 AM (14 years ago)
 Sad Sad Well sha, what i believe is that all Nigerians are not liars because wheresoever we Jesus we must have Judas & wheresoever we have good people we must bad people as well. so Nija still have honest people ok.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 10:47 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- musatony at 22-01-2010 11:56 AM (14 years ago)
could you people please tell the research team that their research is not 100% correct, since all the respondents told the truth that they had lied within a specified period. This means they were honest in answering the questioniare. so you cannot not conclude that Nigerians are great liars. i humbly rest my case.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 11:56 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- musatony at 22-01-2010 12:11 PM (14 years ago)
Could somone please tell the researchers that their research in not 100% because if virtually all the respondent admitted telling lies, the it automatically means they were honest in their answers, thus truthful. Had they all deny, it would then be ok to say nigerians are great liars. so i dont agree with the outcome of the research. i humbly rest my case.
Posted: at 22-01-2010 12:11 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ktalent at 22-01-2010 12:32 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on 21-01-2010 11:24 PM
Which country doesnt lie
the research was carried out in Lagos State not in the whole country
so better say Lagosians are great liars

Posted: at 22-01-2010 12:32 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ktalent at 22-01-2010 12:34 PM (14 years ago)
stupid research stupid researchers. dey dnt have anything worthwhile to do with their time dan to be carrying out research on stupid lil things everybody in the world does everyday.."LIE"...stupid research topic dat won't make our country a better place.

MCHEW! who are these ppl gaaaan, ii need to call Trump to do me a favour. FIRE DEM!

Posted: at 22-01-2010 12:34 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming