A Married Woman and Her Boyfriend to Die by Hanging in Ebonyi State, See Reason Why

Date: 06-05-2016 9:39 am (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 6-05-2016 09:39 AM (7 years ago)

The housewife, Mrs. Josephine Onwuzuruike, and her boyfriend, Ekene Onyeka, were yesterday sentenced to death by hanging by Justice Benson Ogbuh of an Ebonyi State High Court. Josephine and Onyeka had in 2008, at Azuiyiokwu in Abakaliki, the state capital butchered her husband and kept his parts inside a cupboard.
 Josephine had accused her husband of attempting to marry another wife by building a separate house other than the one they were living. She, therefore, contacted Onyeka who joined her in killing the husband.
 Delivering judgment on the case, Ogbuh found the accused guilty of the offence and convicted them. He sentenced them to death by hanging. During trial, Josephine, broke down and wept uncontrollably. She pleaded with the judge to be lenient on her because of her children.
 Also yesterday, another state High Court sitting in Abakaliki, sentenced two persons, Onyemachi Oge and Okechukwu Oma, to death by hanging for kidnapping a medical doctor, Dr. Chuka Manyinke. The duo, alongside Chukwuemeka Levi, Idris Oken, Edeke Desmond and Ijeoma Oge, were accused of kidnapping Manyinke, a doctor of paediatrics at the Federal Teaching Hospital, Abakaliki on May 5, 2013 at his private hospital located on 15, Owerri Street, Abakaliki. Manyinke’s security guard, identified simply as Peter, was shot dead for attempting to prevent the hoodlums from kidnapping his boss. The sum of N3 million ransom was paid before the medical doctor was released after six days in captivity.
 Onyemachi Oge and Oma got N200,000 from the ransom. Oma, a tailor opposite Manyinke’s hospital, provided information to the kidnappers and gave them directives on how to perfect the act while Onyemachi supplied beer, biscuits and water to the doctor during his days in captivity. All the accused persons have been in prison custody since the incident.
 Delivering judgment on the matter yesterday at High Court 3, Justice Eze Udu said the prosecution counsel, I. I. Anikwe, proved his case against Onyemachi Oge the 4th accused and Okechukwu Oma 6th accused beyond reasonable doubt and sentenced them to death by hanging. He discharged and acquitted the 1st accused (Levi), 2nd accused (Oken), 3rd accused (Desmond) and 4th (Oge).
 The judge, however, recommended that the 5th accused (Ijeoma Oge) and her husband, who is still at large, be charged for conspiracy and kidnapping for allowing their house to be used in keeping the victim during the incident.
In his reaction, counsel to the 3rd, 4th and 5th accused, D. I. Njoku, said he was already preparing to appeal the judgement against the 4th accused who was convicted and sentenced to death by hanging.

Posted: at 6-05-2016 09:39 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rashjr at 6-05-2016 09:45 AM (7 years ago)
Ah. . . . . Killing by hanging?? Did they really deserved this kind nf punishment for their crime. . . . Hmmm
Posted: at 6-05-2016 09:45 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eazyatumeyi at 6-05-2016 09:50 AM (7 years ago)
hmm nawa o
Posted: at 6-05-2016 09:50 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- teral at 6-05-2016 09:56 AM (7 years ago)
Yes  it serves them Wright
Posted: at 6-05-2016 09:56 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- princess2639 at 6-05-2016 10:12 AM (7 years ago)
Fair hearing and due sentence is just for the high and mighty in the society.
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:12 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- SweetDaddy1 at 6-05-2016 10:29 AM (7 years ago)
Reasonable judgement.... Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:29 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 6-05-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago)
Good
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 6-05-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago)
Why did you kill the man
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 6-05-2016 10:47 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: princess  akujekwe on  6-05-2016 10:12 AM
Fair hearing and due sentence is just for the high and mighty in the society.

You talk well
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:47 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 6-05-2016 10:53 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: teral  enehizena on  6-05-2016 09:56 AM
Yes  it serves them Wright

You are right
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:53 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 6-05-2016 10:54 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Hassan Rasheed  link=topic=291363.msg4844034#msg4844034 date=1462524307
Ah. . . . . Killing by hanging?? Did they really deserved this kind nf punishment for their crime. . . . Hmmm

Read the articles again
Posted: at 6-05-2016 10:54 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- luckingto50 at 6-05-2016 11:24 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Hassan Rasheed  link=topic=291363.msg4844034#msg4844034 date=1462524307

Yes they deserved it because it has already been passed into law that if u kidnap is death sentence or firing squad.
Posted: at 6-05-2016 11:24 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- odegbalegu at 6-05-2016 11:36 AM (7 years ago)
The arm of Law is very long. and it must run its full course.
Posted: at 6-05-2016 11:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 6-05-2016 12:02 PM (7 years ago)
Oh yes dey do, abi u wan join dem...?
Posted: at 6-05-2016 12:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 6-05-2016 12:08 PM (7 years ago)
About time someone was hanged...
Posted: at 6-05-2016 12:08 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Philzylove at 6-05-2016 12:16 PM (7 years ago)
noted
Posted: at 6-05-2016 12:16 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Slimchery at 6-05-2016 12:18 PM (7 years ago)
tailor you see waiting greed send u now? to early grave, you wey b tailor that nor reach you you plan and kidnap ur customer because i know say in one way or another that doctor dey give you cloth  and also joke with you that na why you get details about am, go rest well-
Posted: at 6-05-2016 12:18 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okuboye at 6-05-2016 12:20 PM (7 years ago)
yes they deserve more
Posted: at 6-05-2016 12:20 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 6-05-2016 12:51 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 6-05-2016 12:51 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- maxray at 6-05-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago)
All people are now saying they deserve that, that's good for them......What happen to all this our law makers who fail to protect us or use public funds for their private lives what will be there sentence?....All ppl here need to wake up and fight for our right No water, No electricity, No good roads, No job for fresh and old graduates, No good hospital and there is government that each of them in power drive any latest car in the world enjoying  luxury lifestyle with the money being allocated for one project or the other in our nation, is time for us to stand and ask the so called law makers to implement the same death sentence for any official that found guilty of misusing  public funds for private purposes too and law should not be for poor masses only. After roll the poor are more in numbers if the government did what they suppose to do for our beloved country by reducing the percentage of unemployment down to 10% in this nation nobody will be talking about kidnapping here or there but now the so called politicians we have in this nation all of them are now afraid of there lives and their relatives but forgotten to ask themselves why this kidnapping growing and other crimes related to that in number as each day passes, what is the root cause for this. We need to kill it from the root by ingange 80% of our youths with one work or the other. Let's see if the kidnapping will not vanish from where it came from.....Let all our politicians occupying Government positions use our money in our nation and stop using our money to build order nations in the name of having companies abroad or saving our money in swiss bank while millions of ppl are not able to feed in one dollar per a day....In as much as i hate kidnapping and order crimes related to it i also hate the root cause of the kidnapping more which is our government for failing from there obligations since 1960 till today for not able to tell us which way we are going. All we hear every day is armed robbers killed here, boko haram killed there, kidnappers killed there, ppl died in ghastly motor accident on so so road there and our government sentenced so so ppl to death....No good news like order countries shearing with the world may God help us all in this nation my beloved country Nigeria.
Posted: at 6-05-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie