Why I Couldn't Stay In Abia and Returned To Borno - Igbo Man Speaks From Boko Haram Zone

Date: 09-05-2016 4:47 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 9-05-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago)

A man identified as Moses who hails from Abia and resides in Borno and trades in vehicle spare parts, has narrates the story behind his leaving Borno to his village and what informed his return to a place (Bornu) many would want to forget forever.
Below is Moses's story as exclusively published on Bits of Borno.
"I'm from Abia state. I was born in Maiduguri in 1979. I attended Lamisula primary school. I was fine in this town running my spare parts business till 2008 when Boko Haram started their disturbance fighting with the armed forces. We were hiding here and there. People ran away from the town. We continued struggling.

"When they were killing Christians, they killed Muslims too. My brother and sister’s husband were killed. They killed anyone and everyone. My other brother got frustrated and took a dangerous trip via the borders on a boat via African countries till he reached London.

"But I stayed. I was threatened severally. I went to the police station to report but they were afraid. The soldiers couldn’t do anything about it also. No one trusted each other. It got sad. I left for my village but still couldn’t stay. I came back to Borno again against my father’s wish. I can’t live in my village, Maiduguri is where I eat [fend for myself].

"I was still being harassed when I got back. I just moved to a new location and no one bothered me again. Here is where I live. It is economical. Houses are cheap. I am happy here currently selling drinks at a hotel.

"But what bothers me the most is the fact that terrorism had opened doors for other forms of evil. They say Boko haram has ended. But we see people with knives killing others, I feel that is Boko haram also. Government has to curb the availability of weapons. It has created room for more terror."

Posted: at 9-05-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kachasi at 9-05-2016 04:52 PM (7 years ago)
I BELIEVE ITS LAZINESS SHA
Posted: at 9-05-2016 04:52 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nottingham at 9-05-2016 05:00 PM (7 years ago)
Good for you
Posted: at 9-05-2016 05:00 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgan1 at 9-05-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago)
Just look at u,,,,,u don dey use to hausa sotey ur face sef don turn aboki face,,,no comot leave deir place for dem until somethin else happen to u,,
Posted: at 9-05-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- benson4you at 9-05-2016 05:18 PM (7 years ago)
My brother man must survive oh. I understand you perfectly because is not easy leaving where you have survived all your life to a place where you know no one or where to start from.
Posted: at 9-05-2016 05:18 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- dickieponga at 9-05-2016 05:28 PM (7 years ago)
Go back east or south to continue ur bizness and to prolong ur life....
Posted: at 9-05-2016 05:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 9-05-2016 06:14 PM (7 years ago)
na him country like he said he was born and breed there, so no big deal. God will be with u
Posted: at 9-05-2016 06:14 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- zoe61 at 9-05-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago)
is more or less ur home so stay till u get killed
Posted: at 9-05-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kingcalors at 9-05-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago)
My broda run for ur dear life. naija don expire. Virus wey dem dey call Corruption (kworupshan) don chop naija finish.We need to start afresh
Posted: at 9-05-2016 06:33 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 9-05-2016 06:34 PM (7 years ago)
nawa o
Posted: at 9-05-2016 06:34 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 9-05-2016 06:36 PM (7 years ago)
O boy u be Hausa man.u were born and bread in d north
Posted: at 9-05-2016 06:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 9-05-2016 07:09 PM (7 years ago)
Hmm you may die oo
Posted: at 9-05-2016 07:09 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- mia4321 at 9-05-2016 07:37 PM (7 years ago)
ok ooo
Posted: at 9-05-2016 07:37 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 9-05-2016 08:15 PM (7 years ago)
the probability of his dying in Biafra from kidnappers and armed robbers, is higher than that of dying from boko haram in Maiduguri.
Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:15 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- willyking at 9-05-2016 08:16 PM (7 years ago)
Gooluck
Posted: at 9-05-2016 08:16 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kunlegzy at 9-05-2016 09:36 PM (7 years ago)
My Dear brother I must be sincere with you, this is maximum risk. God will  continue to protect you.
Posted: at 9-05-2016 09:36 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Philzylove at 9-05-2016 11:20 PM (7 years ago)
noted
Posted: at 9-05-2016 11:20 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelly41056 at 9-05-2016 11:30 PM (7 years ago)
i don't believe this story,the original Indegene of Borno has left the city for longtime ago.so you should know what you are doing there,better get out from north before they will take prepare their suya
Posted: at 9-05-2016 11:30 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- zezprincess at 10-05-2016 12:30 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmmm,"Ana-agwa ochi nti na agha esu??.
Posted: at 10-05-2016 12:30 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 10-05-2016 12:53 AM (7 years ago)
This is someone who wants Nigeria to be one
Posted: at 10-05-2016 12:53 AM (7 years ago) | Hero