I Want Back Stolen Money, Not Cameron's Apology - President Buhari

Date: 11-05-2016 12:00 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
[1] 2 3 4
- at 11-05-2016 12:00 PM (7 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari has said that he would not be demanding any apology from British Prime Minister, Mr. David Cameron over his diplomatic gaffe, describing Nigeria, along with Afghanistan as ‘fantastically corrupt’.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7pdEakmFf4" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7pdEakmFf4</a>

Cameron and Buhari President Buhari said instead, he would demand action from Cameron, by returning Nigeria’s stolen money and assets stashed in the United Kingdom. Buhari made his frustration clear as he addressed a Commonwealth conference in London Wednesday morning in the wake of Mr Cameron’s diplomatic gaffe.
Clutching a glass as he made small talk with the Queen at a Buckingham Palace reception, the PM was caught on camera being indiscreet about the countries he had invited to a key anti-corruption summit tomorrow.

The Presidency and several other Nigerians, have however, lashed back at the British PM for that scathing remark. This came as the Presidency, yesterday, expressed ‘shock’ at the unguarded comment, saying that Cameron must have been looking at an old snapshot of Nigeria.

However, the president Wednesday morning refused to criticise Cameron directly when he was asked about the blunder at the conference. Instead he said he expected the UK to help him reclaim Nigerian assets that had been fraudulently stripped from the country. Buhari said:
“I am not going to demand an apology from anybody. What I am demanding is a return of assets … This is what I am asking for. What would I do with an apology? I need something tangible.”
Earlier, Commonwealth Secretary General Baroness Scotland said Mr Cameron’s remarks had been ‘unfortunate’ and countries like Nigeria needed support rather than criticism.
Mr Cameron’s candid comments risked causing diplomatic ructions ahead of the major international anti-corruption summit in London on Thursday. As well as Buhari, and Afghan President Ashraf Ghani is due to attend. He has also acknowledged corruption in his country and pledged to clean it up.

The gathering of the world’s political and business leaders in London will aim to ‘galvanise a global response to tackle corruption’ and is being staged in the wake of the Panama Papers leak, which revealed widespread tax avoidance among the world’s elite earlier this year. Afghanistan is at number 166 in campaign group Transparency International’s latest Corruption Perceptions Index – second from bottom. Only North Korea and Somalia, jointly ranked at number 167, are perceived to be more corrupt. Nigeria is at number 136.

Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:00 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 11-05-2016 12:06 PM (7 years ago)
Well deserved reaction from Mr. President. Yes! We want our money back not Cameron's useless apology.

Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 11-05-2016 12:06 PM (7 years ago)
Buhari is the man, sai baba
Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Haso112 at 11-05-2016 12:13 PM (7 years ago)
"Wonder why everyone's making a mountain out of a molehill on this matter".. Mr president himself ones said something similar about Nigerians and heaven didn't come down... or did Cameron lie?
Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:13 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kachasi at 11-05-2016 12:13 PM (7 years ago)
Well deserved reaction from Mr. President. Yes! We want our money back not Cameron's useless apology.

LET HIM STILL APOLOGIZE AND RETURN THE MONEY OR WE TELL HIM WHAT WE HAVE IN MIND. COLONIAL MASTER.
Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:13 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- taung89 at 11-05-2016 12:15 PM (7 years ago)
mumu why you go care hope them nor leave you outside number 10 this time
Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:15 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ficull at 11-05-2016 12:38 PM (7 years ago)
Keep ur apologies.... repatriate our monies instead.
UK creates safe heaven for looters and their loots, and yet they have the temerity to call us corrupt?
PMB, you are on point.
Posted: at 11-05-2016 12:38 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 11-05-2016 01:27 PM (7 years ago)
People even dey wey corrupt pass us?hmm
Posted: at 11-05-2016 01:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 11-05-2016 01:42 PM (7 years ago)
Good oneMr Presidet, we need the money back and if they are not corrupt as well they should approve your request , as me i know that UK&US are the most corrupt country in the world
Posted: at 11-05-2016 01:42 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 11-05-2016 02:00 PM (7 years ago)
Now baba is talking sene. I wonder what was new about what Cameroon said on Nigeria's corruption that all these hoodlums have gone mad about. 
Posted: at 11-05-2016 02:00 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 11-05-2016 02:19 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 11-05-2016 02:19 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Philzylove at 11-05-2016 02:22 PM (7 years ago)
noted
Posted: at 11-05-2016 02:22 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 11-05-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago)
make them return our money simple!!!
Posted: at 11-05-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- morgan1 at 11-05-2016 02:34 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 11-05-2016 02:34 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 11-05-2016 02:54 PM (7 years ago)
No big deal,Cameron said d truth,and buhari concurred..I support u on this one.aboki
Posted: at 11-05-2016 02:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eric2000 at 11-05-2016 03:19 PM (7 years ago)
Mr. Cameron does not need to apologize. You don't apologize when you speak the truth...History is there for us all to look at. The u.k should ask the Nigerian government what they did with the previous monies returned before they return more money to Nigeria. I don't trust any Nigerian president or government officials with that kind of money. instead the government of these countries should use these monies stashed abroad to finance projects in Nigeria that they will monitor and ensure that its done...there are hospitals, roads, universities that needs to be repaired and new infrastructures and airports that needs to be modernized and schools..
Posted: at 11-05-2016 03:19 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 11-05-2016 06:39 PM (7 years ago)
Look at this country,,it don finish
Posted: at 11-05-2016 06:39 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 11-05-2016 06:52 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: eric on 11-05-2016 03:19 PM
Mr. Cameron does not need to apologize. You don't apologize when you speak the truth...History is there for us all to look at. The u.k should ask the Nigerian government what they did with the previous monies returned before they return more money to Nigeria. I don't trust any Nigerian president or government officials with that kind of money. instead the government of these countries should use these monies stashed abroad to finance projects in Nigeria that they will monitor and ensure that its done...there are hospitals, roads, universities that needs to be repaired and new infrastructures and airports that needs to be modernized and schools..
It's none of dere bizness wat we do wit d returned assets and money and y r dey holding it if we r corrupt...
Dem dey enjoy d interest of d money to feed dere own people and dem no wan release am, now tell me who is corrupt..?
Y didn't dey stop d looters wen dey were bringing in d money to invest in dere own country...
Buhari will monitor it and why should we allow dem to do it...? If Jonathan was in power i would agree to let dem monitor it,  Jonathan is d most corrupt president ever known to mankind and dis is a result of his rule, corruption everywhere which we don't need..
Posted: at 11-05-2016 06:52 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 11-05-2016 06:59 PM (7 years ago)
Cameron is a tif bcos why did he allow d looters to invest in his country and wen d money was coming in why didn't he expose dem at dat time...?
Just give us back wat belongs to us including all d tifs in ur country so dey may face justice.
Cameron is just one arrogant bastard who went to a naija church soliciting for votes and praising us wit his sweet mouth..
Now he has d audacity to say sometin like dat in public, yes it's true and na Jonathan cause all dis insults...
Well done Buhari for ur reply, fcuk d apology give us our money back...
Posted: at 11-05-2016 06:59 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- okuboye at 11-05-2016 08:33 PM (7 years ago)
phyuk apology,,, let them return our money
Posted: at 11-05-2016 08:33 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4