I Joined An Armed Robbery Gang To Buy School Books – 15 Years Old Teenager

Date: 17-05-2016 10:38 am (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 17-05-2016 10:38 AM (7 years ago)

Joseph Owa is a 15 years old teenager and a Senior Secondary School II student of Comprehensive High School, Irele in Irele local government area of Ondo State. He was desirous of a better education by getting involved in all class activities and buying all needed literature and story books for a better performance in the class.

So during the second term holiday he went to Area J4 in Ijebu North Area of Ogun State, a border town between Ogun and Ondo where his mother resides. He was ready to do any job to ensure buying a story book worth N800 before the school resumes for another term, but he was not lucky as he joined a robbery gang to make some money.
Owa was recruited into armed robbery without knowing it and was successful in his first outing with his other colleagues as they were able to rob a vehicle which they waylaid at a bad portion of the road and collected some money from the passengers but the success was short-lived as the police from the Ogun State, following a tip-off, got them arrested within 24 hours of the operation.
The teenager who was paraded by the Ogun State Commissioner of Police, Abdulmajid Ali at the Comprehensive High School in J4, it was holiday that took me to J4 and I wanted to buy a story book which is sold for N800 in school, my mother is very old, I requested for the money from her and she gave me her words but later I saw a friend called Ayo who hunts snails and I requested him to take me to the farm to hunt for snails because I had no money.
“I don’t want my mother to suffer because of a story book and I don’t want her to suffer because of her age and I told Ayo to invite me whenever he is going hunting and Ayo agreed to take me along. The following morning, I went to Ayo and requested that we should go early in the morning because I wouldn’t want to go when it is sunning and he asked me to be patient.
“We later went to play football and after which we went to the river to clean up and that was where I met Ayo again and he asked me to come the following day to follow him somewhere, I asked him where we were going but he didn’t disclose but told me that we will go to the place with a bike and that is why I suggested a friend who leaves in the same place with me.
“I spoke with the friend and he agreed to provide the bike, I never knew it was a robbery mission until machetes were brought out and I asked him if that was our mission there. I also asked him if he was into robbery and that it was a bad business but he never listened and I also need money for the story book and that was why I joined them but I was given only N1, 000 because all I needed was N800 for the story book.”

But Owa and Ayo were not alone in this illicit business. Another teenage member of the gang, Gbenga Longe’s case is not different from that of Owa. The 17 year old Longe, a native of Ikale in Ondo State dropped out of the school because of lack of fund to continue his education because his parents, according to him, couldn’t afford further sending him to school. At a time, he lost both parents at a very tender age.

Longe also required buying tools for his carpentry work which he chose after abandoning the education and also had to seek for help from Ayo who later led them to the robbery scene. Like Owa, Longe also explained that he wasn’t aware of the mission at the expressway until when cutlasses were brought out.

He said,
“I don’t go to school because I was into carpentry. I am a native of Ikale in Ondo. I followed my friends as they requested that I should follow them somewhere but I never knew where they were going because I was new in that town and I followed him. He is now at large. He had a motorcycle but doesn’t know how to ride and that is why I rode the motorcycle and when we got there, I was asked to pack beside a bush where he brought out cutlasses and it was only N1, 000 I collected from the money.

Fase Samson is the oldest of the gang, but guess what? He’s just 19 and a product of broken home yet desirous of being somebody in life through education after his mother, who had been sponsoring him alongside two other siblings died when he was only in primary six.
Samson, who is from Ilu Tuntun also in Ondo State and a colleague of Owa at the Community Comprehensive High School said his step brothers and sisters who were much older were not willing to sponsor them to schools because they weren’t in support of their father’s second marriage to Samson’s mother, the relationship which later produced three children.

Command’s headquarters in Eleweran, Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital alongside other teenagers, many of whom are students of the same school, said he only attempted to assist her aged mother who had earlier agreed to pay for the story book and confessed to have been part of the robbery team. He explained that he had offered to go for snail hunting with a friend who now became the kingpin, simply identified as Ayo only for the snail hunt to become manhunt along the highway. After the robbery, Owa was happy as he got N1, 000 from the proceeds of the outing since what he needed was N800 for the story book.

Confessing to the robbery, Owa said, “I am arrested because I followed my friends to go for robbery near Olorunsogo in Ogbere, Ogun State. We were arrested last week Friday and that is the only day I followed them for robbery. I was arrested inside our house with my mother in Area J4 because I was part of that robbery and we only collected one phone and N25, 000. It was a lorry we robbed, we laid ambush at a bad portion of the road, the lorry was almost falling before we moved in and we collected the money, we don’t have guns but we only used machetes that were provided by the leader of the gang who is now at large.
“I am an SSS 2 student of Comprehensive High School in J4, it was holiday that took me to J4 and I wanted to buy a story book which is sold for N800 in school, my mother is very old, I requested for the money from her and she gave me her words but later I saw a friend called Ayo who hunts snails and I requested him to take me to the farm to hunt for snails because I had no money.
“I don’t want my mother to suffer because of a story book and I don’t want her to suffer because of her age and I told Ayo to invite me whenever he is going hunting and Ayo agreed to take me along. The following morning, I went to Ayo and requested that we should go early in the morning because I wouldn’t want to go when it is sunning and he asked me to be patient.
“We later went to play football and after which we went to the river to clean up and that was where I met Ayo again and he asked me to come the following day to follow him somewhere, I asked him where we were going but he didn’t disclose but told me that we will go to the place with a bike and that is why I suggested a friend who leaves in the same place with me.
“I spoke with the friend and he agreed to provide the bike, I never knew it was a robbery mission until machetes were brought out and I asked him if that was our mission there. I also asked him if he was into robbery and that it was a bad business but he never listened and I also need money for the story book and that was why I joined them but I was given only N1, 000 because all I needed was N800 for the story book.”

But Owa and Ayo were not alone in this illicit business. Another teenage member of the gang, Gbenga Longe’s case is not different from that of Owa. The 17 year old Longe, a native of Ikale in Ondo State dropped out of the school because of lack of fund to continue his education because his parents, according to him, couldn’t afford further sending him to school. At a time, he lost both parents at a very tender age.
Longe also required buying tools for his carpentry work which he chose after abandoning the education and also had to seek for help from Ayo who later led them to the robbery scene. Like Owa, Longe also explained that he wasn’t aware of the mission at the expressway until when cutlasses were brought out.
He said,
“I don’t go to school because I was into carpentry. I am a native of Ikale in Ondo. I followed my friends as they requested that I should follow them somewhere but I never knew where they were going because I was new in that town and I followed him. He is now at large. He had a motorcycle but doesn’t know how to ride and that is why I rode the motorcycle and when we got there, I was asked to pack beside a bush where he brought out cutlasses and it was only N1, 000 I collected from the money.
Fase Samson is the oldest of the gang, but guess what? He’s just 19 and a product of broken home yet desirous of being somebody in life through education after his mother, who had been sponsoring him alongside two other siblings died when he was only in primary six.
Samson, who is from Ilu Tuntun also in Ondo State and a colleague of Owa at the Community Comprehensive High School said his step brothers and sisters who were much older were not willing to sponsor them to schools because they weren’t in support of their father’s second marriage to Samson’s mother, the relationship which later produced three children.

Posted: at 17-05-2016 10:38 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 17-05-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago)
Of course situations or bad conditions lead people into this kind of things
Posted: at 17-05-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 17-05-2016 10:45 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmm you have a good reason but you messed up by going in to robbery. I sorry for you
Posted: at 17-05-2016 10:45 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 17-05-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago)
na from lie robber dey start.. which book you won buy liar
Posted: at 17-05-2016 10:46 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Novic at 17-05-2016 11:15 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmmmm.... God have mercy upon your people in this country, nothing person eye and ear no go see and hear in this country, imagine 15year old get mind to do that kind of thing. well you type of prison they.
Posted: at 17-05-2016 11:15 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mykie010 at 17-05-2016 11:32 AM (7 years ago)
I don't believe u
Posted: at 17-05-2016 11:32 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 17-05-2016 12:00 PM (7 years ago)
Nark me tori
Posted: at 17-05-2016 12:00 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgan1 at 17-05-2016 01:51 PM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 17-05-2016 01:51 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kachasi at 17-05-2016 01:55 PM (7 years ago)
u are just a criminal criminal
Posted: at 17-05-2016 01:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- botlex at 17-05-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago)
See you in jail just because of 1k
Posted: at 17-05-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kabukabu at 17-05-2016 04:51 PM (7 years ago)
How I wish they could be released and be given stern warning. Also they should be supported financially. I pity them
Posted: at 17-05-2016 04:51 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 17-05-2016 04:53 PM (7 years ago)
Send them to rehab pls not jail
Posted: at 17-05-2016 04:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- raynebee at 17-05-2016 07:05 PM (7 years ago)
story story                                                                     
Posted: at 17-05-2016 07:05 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 17-05-2016 07:58 PM (7 years ago)
they are underaged especially the 15 years old boy his story is pathetic and also got its twist. with proper defence he may get a lesser charge and punishment
Posted: at 17-05-2016 07:58 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Sparky273 at 17-05-2016 08:30 PM (7 years ago)
part of change
Posted: at 17-05-2016 08:30 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 17-05-2016 08:35 PM (7 years ago)
This country they rear many kind of people.... even frm when then they inside there mama belle, how 15years old go get mind of that bad thing. i really pity your yeye parent.
Posted: at 17-05-2016 08:35 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 17-05-2016 10:24 PM (7 years ago)
him no too small to enter jail
Posted: at 17-05-2016 10:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- BournIdentity at 17-05-2016 11:48 PM (7 years ago)
Na which kind talk be this sef?
Posted: at 17-05-2016 11:48 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yawa_don_gas at 18-05-2016 12:00 AM (7 years ago)
yawa don gas
Posted: at 18-05-2016 12:00 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickieponga at 18-05-2016 05:05 AM (7 years ago)
I feel sorry for dem, na situation cause am and for d fact say na books dem wan buy makes me pity dem more...
Posted: at 18-05-2016 05:05 AM (7 years ago) | Hero

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

3. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

4. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

5. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer