Nigeria Police Attack & Beat Up Protesting Labour Leaders in Ebonyi

Date: 19-05-2016 3:47 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 19-05-2016 03:47 PM (7 years ago)

Members of the Nigerian Labour Congress were left in shock and panic after policemen in Ebonyi attacked and beat them to a pulp.  Shock and panic greeted Nigerian Labour Congress protesters in Ebonyi state as a team of armed policemen brutally attacked and beat them up for statging a peaceful protest in the state against the increase in pump price by the federal government.

According to The Nation, the workers were intercepted near Pastoral Centre along the Abakaliki-Enugu Expressway as they were on the peaceful protest by a detachment of Police officers who proceeded to attack the workers.

It was also gathered that the policemen not only attacked and beat them up, the protesters were tear gassed ceaselessly with many sustaining various degree of injuries. The Chairman Comrade Ikechukwu Nwafor was not spared as he was seen rolling on the ground as the Police officers kicked and beat him.
He was later bundled into the waiting white Police Hillux van by four police officers and taken to the Police Headquarters in Abakaliki alongside about 15 other labour leaders.

While defending the impunity, police claimed the workers did not obtain Police clearance to carry out the protest, an allegation debunked by Comrade Nwafor.
The report further states that the workers on getting to the Pastoral Center, met a detachment of Police Officers who unleashed an attack against the workers tear gassing them ceaselessly. One of the Labour leaders, Comrade Greg Ishaya was seen at the police Station with minor injuries on his hands from the attack. Comrade Ikechukwu Nwafor was in pain as he sustained serious knee injuries and was limping.
 However, the Police Commissioner in the State has denied that the workers were attacked adding that the police only used minimal force to disperse the crowd.

Speaking on what happened, Ikechukwu Nwafor accused the police of brutality and infringing on their fundamental human rights.
“We were on a peaceful demonstration against the increase in fuel pump price and electricity tariff when the police attacked us. We gave them a letter, I was calling the Commissioner and she didn’t pick my calls and we have evidence to that”

“What we were doing is a peaceful demonstration and all of a sudden the police came and attacked us. The police when we saw them we thought they were coming to protect us. They tear gassed us. They lifted me up and hit me on the ground and gave me a thorough beating. Five of them later lifted me up and threw into their hillux van like a common criminal.”
Comrade Nwafor  said.

Posted: at 19-05-2016 03:47 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 19-05-2016 03:53 PM (7 years ago)
i know say this kind thing go happen, even the police dem nor get sense even protest na benefit to everybody, instead of police to join then, just tell how that country go take better?
Posted: at 19-05-2016 03:53 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 19-05-2016 03:59 PM (7 years ago)
Mad police people,,,dem no dey use d fuel??
Posted: at 19-05-2016 03:59 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 19-05-2016 03:59 PM (7 years ago)
IT WAS AN ILLEGAL PROTEST.....whether peaceful or not.
Posted: at 19-05-2016 03:59 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 19-05-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago)
naija police
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:00 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- dickieponga at 19-05-2016 04:01 PM (7 years ago)
Very good, court don talk say make dem no protest and dem still go ahead dey all deserve it...
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:01 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 19-05-2016 04:02 PM (7 years ago)
what do you expect?
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:02 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- lilchuks28 at 19-05-2016 04:07 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on 19-05-2016 04:01 PM
Very good, court don talk say make dem no protest and dem still go ahead dey all deserve it...
EKPA!
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:07 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kachasi at 19-05-2016 04:09 PM (7 years ago)
i know say this kind thing go happen, even the police dem nor get sense even protest na benefit to everybody, instead of police to join then, just tell how that country go take better?

God will help
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:09 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okuboye at 19-05-2016 04:28 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Eros Okundaye on 19-05-2016 03:53 PM
Nigeria police are not sensible
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:28 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandra78 at 19-05-2016 04:30 PM (7 years ago)
WWE Police officers..lifting and hitting people on the ground.
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:30 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- warribimboye at 19-05-2016 04:37 PM (7 years ago)
Them be robbers in uniform
Posted: at 19-05-2016 04:37 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajepakoromance at 19-05-2016 05:22 PM (7 years ago)
I disobey, you beat me okay.  what of  oga DSS!, oh i forget, mr Kanu is not police problem  but fuel is..
Posted: at 19-05-2016 05:22 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- evilgenius at 19-05-2016 05:47 PM (7 years ago)

Quote from: roland on 19-05-2016 04:37 PM
Them be robbers in uniform

park well-wetin u karry
oya! ur money or ur fuel
bloody civilian
Posted: at 19-05-2016 05:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 19-05-2016 07:51 PM (7 years ago)
too bad
Posted: at 19-05-2016 07:51 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- zauber at 19-05-2016 08:17 PM (7 years ago)
wellcome to zoo. baboons and monkeys. Cry
Posted: at 19-05-2016 08:17 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- mjyabah2 at 19-05-2016 10:20 PM (7 years ago)
Nigeria, Nigeria , Nigeria!!!!. This country continues to show dichotomy in dispensation and discharge of duties. How many herdsmen altercations has the Nigerian police or army brutally attacked and beaten up? How can we continue to call this project "one country" when the authorities pick and choose whom to attack and whom to protect?
Posted: at 19-05-2016 10:20 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 19-05-2016 10:21 PM (7 years ago)
they are sick in the skul.                                           
Posted: at 19-05-2016 10:21 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 19-05-2016 10:49 PM (7 years ago)
What rubbish.... na who send them all that rubbish now... they should becareful.
Posted: at 19-05-2016 10:49 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 19-05-2016 11:14 PM (7 years ago)
Make fight no start oh
Posted: at 19-05-2016 11:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero