Buhari Ignores Britain’s Advice, Moves Truckloads Of Soldiers To The Niger Delta

Date: 22-05-2016 7:18 am (7 years ago) | Author: ANGELICA DIVINE MUSA
- at 22-05-2016 07:18 AM (7 years ago)
President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday, May 20, 2016 said he ordered a heightened military presence in the restive Niger Delta region to deal with a resurgence of attacks on oil and gas facilities, a day after yet another pipeline explosion.

This is contrary the advice of Nigeria’s former colonial master Britain, whose foreign minister Philip Hammond warned on Saturday that military action would not end a wave of attacks in the southern swamps because it did not address rising anger among residents over poverty despite sitting on much of Nigeria’s oil wealth.

The rise in attacks in the Delta in the last few weeks has driven Nigerian oil output to a more than 20-year low, worsening a drain on public finances.
A group calling itself the Niger Delta Avengers has claimed responsibility for several sophisticated attacks.
Speaking at a meeting with Shell’s upstream head, Andrew Brown, Buhari said he had instructed the chief of naval staff to reorganise and strengthen the military Joint Task Force to deal with the militancy.
“We have to be very serious with the situation in the Niger Delta because it threatens the national economy,” Buhari said in a statement.
“I assure you that everything possible will be done to protect personnel and oil assets in the region,” he added.
Nigeria had several times announced army reinforcements to the Delta but diplomats said the military has achieved little as militants were operating in small groups and hiding in the hard-to-access swamps.
“Mr. Brown had appealed for an urgent solution to rising crime and militancy in the Niger Delta,” the presidency said.
An industry source told Reuters that major oil firms warned Vice President Yemi Osinbajo this month that a military crackdown was actually fuelling dissent in the Delta.
The presidency statement also quoted Brown as saying Shell would not pull out of Nigeria despite the violence and that it was in talks with state energy firm NNPC for new oil and gas projects.
There was no immediate comment from Shell, but its country chair said in an interview published on Sunday the firm was committed to long-term investment in the West African nation.
Buhari’s comments came after locals said a gas pipeline operated by NNPC was attacked late on Thursday.
The pipeline, which connects the Escravos oil terminal to Warri, supplies gas to different parts of the country.
Eric Omare, a spokesman for the Ijaw Youth Council, a youth umbrella, said the attack occurred near the village of Ogbe Ijoh, near Warri, on the pipeline belonging to NNPC.
Resident James Dadiowei said he heard a “loud bang” at the pipeline, but an NNPC spokesman was unable to confirm the attack.
On Thursday, intruders blocked access to Exxon Mobil’s terminal exporting Qua Iboe, Nigeria’s largest crude stream. And, earlier this month, Shell workers at Nigeria’s Bonga facilities were evacuated.
In February, the Avengers claimed an attack on an undersea pipeline, forcing Shell to shut a 250,000 barrel-a-day Forcados terminal.
The group also claimed responsibility for blasting a Chevron platform in early May, shutting the Warri and Kaduna refineries. Power outages across Nigeria worsened as gas supplies were also affected.
The army said on Sunday it had arrested several suspected members of the Avengers, but locals said they had been freed.
“They were released on Wednesday evening,” Omare said.
Residents said the military had described them as Avengers but locals had protested they were Chevron pipeline inspectors who had shown the soldiers arresting them their identity cards.
Militant attacks have spiked since authorities issued in January an arrest warrant for a prominent former militant leader who with other rebels in 2009 agreed to stop blowing up pipelines in exchange for cash, a plan Buhari has trimmed as part of an anti-graft drive.

Source

Posted: at 22-05-2016 07:18 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eazyatumeyi at 22-05-2016 07:37 AM (7 years ago)
Buhari is a biased president he is sending a legion of soldiers to Niger Delta but he can't even send an okada of soldiers to fight the useless and stupid fooolanis, its obvious he lacks the political will to make responsible decisions
Posted: at 22-05-2016 07:37 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 22-05-2016 07:56 AM (7 years ago)
If innocent people are touched buhari you go see red for this country am warning you.
Posted: at 22-05-2016 07:56 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 22-05-2016 08:03 AM (7 years ago)
War looming
Posted: at 22-05-2016 08:03 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 22-05-2016 08:17 AM (7 years ago)
This man ur brain is expired truely,,how can u send soldiers to fight people that live in township, ,do u think its boko haram that live in sambisa forest,,Muhammadu zoohari u need to dialogue because ,this is not 1984, we are in 2016
Posted: at 22-05-2016 08:17 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 22-05-2016 08:33 AM (7 years ago)
I think he is insane we are in democracy at least they have the right to do anything is their right to protest this way all they need to do is to reach an agreement let peace reign not using by force to deprive people of their right,we know how soldiers operate go there start killing innocent civilians and label them militant
Posted: at 22-05-2016 08:33 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- sweetypweety at 22-05-2016 09:05 AM (7 years ago)
That's my presido. I hope both parties can come to a singular decission that will benefit all
Posted: at 22-05-2016 09:05 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sparky12 at 22-05-2016 09:07 AM (7 years ago)
En tink say na 1983 we dey... Useless fool
Posted: at 22-05-2016 09:07 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 22-05-2016 09:15 AM (7 years ago)
OOH YES ALL MAN SHOULD BE ABLE TO CONTROL HIS HOUSE!!  NO BE ANOTHER MAN TO TELL YOU WHAT TO DO.. SO BRITAIN FCCCK OFF
Posted: at 22-05-2016 09:15 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- uduehi at 22-05-2016 09:26 AM (7 years ago)
Buhari is evil and I pray all the soldiers going there will never succeed
Posted: at 22-05-2016 09:26 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- maxray at 22-05-2016 09:33 AM (7 years ago)
War looming!!!
Posted: at 22-05-2016 09:33 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Dramaking at 22-05-2016 09:55 AM (7 years ago)
Smh.... Not surprise though coz once a General alwayz a General.... Well, all we want is peace around dat SE/SS region.
Posted: at 22-05-2016 09:55 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freeway001 at 22-05-2016 10:39 AM (7 years ago)
Right decision
Posted: at 22-05-2016 10:39 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- leodavinci at 22-05-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: even on 22-05-2016 09:26 AM
Buhari is evil and I pray all the soldiers going there will never succeed
.... Just passing by.... Me did not say anything o
Posted: at 22-05-2016 10:43 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Novic at 22-05-2016 11:05 AM (7 years ago)
That was good by me... i beliv buhari did a good a thing becz we much not allow wetin boko haram they do in this country nw... i knw if na buhari they in power when boko haram came things might not be in this way.
Posted: at 22-05-2016 11:05 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 22-05-2016 11:05 AM (7 years ago)
That was good by me... i beliv buhari did a good a thing becz we much not allow wetin boko haram they do in this country nw... i knw if na buhari they in power when boko haram came things might not be in this way.
Posted: at 22-05-2016 11:05 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- mia4321 at 22-05-2016 11:10 AM (7 years ago)
mk we hope say e go work..                                                                               
Posted: at 22-05-2016 11:10 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 22-05-2016 11:36 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 22-05-2016 11:36 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 22-05-2016 11:51 AM (7 years ago)
I see say some persons dey comment based on sentiments, no wahala sha everyone is entitled to his  or own opinion
Posted: at 22-05-2016 11:51 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 22-05-2016 12:07 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Opeyemi Oladipupo on 22-05-2016 11:36 AM
You don't know how to write,  try and read what you writing before posting it. Well good decision by Mr President.
Posted: at 22-05-2016 12:07 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

3. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

4. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

5. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

8. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer