Jonathan Calls THISDAY from Cote d‘Ivoire, Says I’m Not in Exile

Date: 24-05-2016 6:45 am (7 years ago) | Author: ANGELICA DIVINE MUSA
- at 24-05-2016 06:45 AM (7 years ago)
Former President Goodluck Jonathan has disputed THISDAY’s monday report that he had opted to go on exile in Cote d’Ivoire, confirming, however, that he was indeed in the West African country, but was not in exile.

Speaking exclusively to THISDAY on the phone monday, the former president confirmed that he had been out of the country for over a month, revealing that he travelled to some cities in the United States of America, then departed the country for London before arriving Cote d’Ivoire via Paris.
When reminded that THISDAY had tried to reach him several times last week to verify allegations that he was in exile, he said: “So what… I am not in exile. I am here resting.”
He said: “Yes I am in Cote d’Ivoire, I have been here for a week resting and this is my second trip to the country since I stepped down as president.”
He maintained however that he was not in exile because he had no reason to leave Nigeria as he had done his best for his country as president.
“I have made sacrifices for Nigeria. I am praised all over Africa for averting bloodshed and for the peaceful transition from one government to another, but it seems Nigeria does not appreciate my efforts.
“I have done my best for this country and if I have to die for it, I will do so. However, I am taking it easy here (Cote d’Ivoire) and when I am ready, I will come back,” he said.
THISDAY had reported that Jonathan had gone into exile following the resolve by the federal government to arrest him on allegations of corruption.
The perception that the government was going to reel him in was linked to the heightened attacks on oil and gas installations in the Niger Delta.

Source

Posted: at 24-05-2016 06:45 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sparky12 at 24-05-2016 06:51 AM (7 years ago)
No mind de nonsense paper
Posted: at 24-05-2016 06:51 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ficull at 24-05-2016 08:11 AM (7 years ago)
correction.... you did NOT step down as president, you were VOTED OUT as Nigeria's president.
Enjoy ur rest.
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:11 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 24-05-2016 08:21 AM (7 years ago)
SO BECAUSE U SURRENDER THAT BUHARI HAS WON WILL LET PEOPLE IGNORE UR ATROCITIES FAR FAR FOUL, U MUST SAY WHAT U KNOW ABOUT THE LOOTED MONEY
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:21 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 24-05-2016 08:27 AM (7 years ago)
EXODUS MOVEMENT OF JAH PEOPLE.
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:27 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 24-05-2016 08:28 AM (7 years ago)
OK, thank you poster, I know this this is going to generate some arguments, you guys can enjoy yourselves, if Jonathan is not above the law he should present himself if need be.
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:28 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 24-05-2016 08:32 AM (7 years ago)
Hmmmmm.... that was great mr president, its good that you are letting everybody knw that you dnt run away...
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:32 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- robertedo3 at 24-05-2016 08:52 AM (7 years ago)
why is it that only in Africa  when president lives powers they go to other country to rest  or stay   cant you rest in the country you presided over ?  you lost an election and handover to the winner does not make you a hero   all fingers are pointing to your direction about the missing money ,  we  need you to come and clear the air  tell us how far you , i voted for you in 2011  but was disappointed  the day you said corruption was not stealing ,  the mess we are today was caused  by your incompetency
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:52 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgan1 at 24-05-2016 08:59 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 24-05-2016 08:59 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Maxwell29 at 24-05-2016 09:07 AM (7 years ago)
Pls account for our 30 trillion Naira .me I be igbo Abeg no sentiment
Posted: at 24-05-2016 09:07 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 24-05-2016 09:11 AM (7 years ago)
Jona, Jona, Jona, how many times did I call you?
Posted: at 24-05-2016 09:11 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 24-05-2016 09:18 AM (7 years ago)
why u dey call them self   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 24-05-2016 09:18 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- slimmygal at 24-05-2016 09:28 AM (7 years ago)
oga jonah, leave story just come clear d whole mess u put d country into. or stealing is still not corruption for ur book?
Posted: at 24-05-2016 09:28 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kachasi at 24-05-2016 10:50 AM (7 years ago)
carry go. no issue
Posted: at 24-05-2016 10:50 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 24-05-2016 11:01 AM (7 years ago)
Subject: Europe Is Not The Only Solution.

With sad heart after I read the news of today and i decide to let people know that Europe is not the only place greener pasture can be found, I am in Europe and i know why i said this  because people risk their life through the land and sea to get here while many die alone the way. Many guys here beg  to feed, I mean as banbi ala just as we call them in Nigeria (Begger), They stay in traffic, supermarket, even streets they beg whoever is coming or going, There is no work here and  many are regreting why they came here in the first place but it's already late as they cannot go back to Nigeria empty handed because many sold one thing or other things to come here, this europe is like secret cult, you don't know what you are getting into till you get in and it's when you get inside you get to know how the game goes then it's too late to get out,(As we do say in Naija) You done already enter and you nor fit come out.) My brothers and sisters stop taking this risk, Europe don't worth it.

Like what happen last time my younger bro girlfriend elder's brother that was doing well in Nigeria decide to take this same risk and he dead in the sea, (Now europe he nor reach he business for naija go to another person)someone like that guy that has something doing should have not take such risk but what should i say, maybe ungreatful or greed because i cannot call that greener pasture, leave that to you people reading this to answer?. Someone that has his own business and paying workers but decide to come to europe by land/sea and he dead on the sea, here begging is a lucrative business, people do fight for space to beg here in Italy.

Again maybe the way people in Europe dress make people in Nigeria believe everyone is living fine, It's not easy asd you think as many in Nigeria are better than many of us here and that is just the simple truth. When you see their pictures on facebook and you start to think and cry, my people all those things are nothing as we pick many from the durtbin,as you people wears used cloths in Nigeria the same way we wear them here here too, just it's more cheaper here than there,All those pictures that you see were the guys look fine all is camera and all those cloths may cost nothing more than 2k Naiara because they many also pick some from the trash, there is a place they call (Arabu) there you can see good stuff, quality shoe,shirt and jeans for just 5euro which is about 2k Naira and some time if you can wait till market close you can get all this things for free, You just go into the dustbin pick anyone you like because they trough them away so it is for you to bend down and pick, come see were we dey fight for this aloko wey una go see for facebook una head go dey burst say i must come europe, the tin they pain me na make me dey share all this thing for my people with my little time because many done die for that sea .

I will be very happy if anyone can help me spread this post in all over Nigeria
Posted: at 24-05-2016 11:01 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- amaka55 at 24-05-2016 11:10 AM (7 years ago)
you people should live Goodluck alone
Posted: at 24-05-2016 11:10 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- kachasi at 24-05-2016 11:27 AM (7 years ago)
stop this cos this man is too big for that
Posted: at 24-05-2016 11:27 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 24-05-2016 01:24 PM (7 years ago)
Even if u run we go still catch u...Useless nonentity..
Posted: at 24-05-2016 01:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 24-05-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy  i heard he is living in Ojukwu's former house in Cote d'Ivoire.
Posted: at 24-05-2016 02:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kachasi at 24-05-2016 02:39 PM (7 years ago)
seen
Posted: at 24-05-2016 02:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac