Olisa Metuh Willing To Return N400m To FG – Lawyer

Date: 26-05-2016 6:33 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 26-05-2016 06:33 AM (7 years ago)

A counsel to the embattled former national publicity secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Olisa Metuh has said his client is willing to return the N400 million he (Metuh) allegedly received illegally from the national security adviser, Sambo Dasuki.

Speaking to journalists in court today, May 25, Metuh’s lawyer, Onyechi Ikpeazu said that since his client have shown sufficient evidence that he (Metuh) did not know the source of N400 million transferred to his company account by Dasuki, he is willing to refund the said amount.

“Chief Metuh had shown sufficient evidence that he was not aware of the source of the N400 million made available to him by the former President and he has shown his willingness, since the commencement of this matter, to refund the said sum even when there is no guilt knowledge (mens rea),” Ikpeazu said.

Ikpeazu also said that having lost an application made at the Appeal Court, his client has the right to go ahead to the Supreme Court to seek justice.

“There are issues in the Appeal Court ruling the defence team is not comfortable with, after due consultation with our client, he will instruct us on the next action. The client has the right of appeal all the way to the Supreme Court,” he added.

Metuh’s appeal on the Federal High Court’s ruling against his no case submission was today upheld by the Appeal Court.

Also speaking on the dismissal of Metuh’s application to travel abroad for a spinal cord treatment, Ikpeazu said it is pertinent to note that his client’s health is paramount.

“What is important to us for now is the health situation of the defendant whose situation has continued to deteriorate. Even the constitution recognizes the fact that an accused should be alive and fit to face trial and defend himself,” he said.

Metuh has been under admission at the National Hospital in Abuja since Monday, May 23, following his ailing health condition.

He had earlier applied for the court to release his passport and grant him the permission to travel abroad for a spinal cord treatment.

But the trial judge in his matter, Justice Abang said his court lacked the jurisdiction to hear Metuh’s application for the release of his passport and as such cannot decide on his application to travel abroad for treatment.

Abang based his ruling on the grounds that the court having made pronouncements cannot go back on its own order.

The judge also said that Metuh failed to give evidence that no teaching hospital in Abuja can handle his health issue.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 26-05-2016 06:33 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 26-05-2016 06:52 AM (7 years ago)
lolss... sufferness don catch this one.... and some yeye people go they talk say buhari no do anything in this country.
Posted: at 26-05-2016 06:52 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 26-05-2016 07:04 AM (7 years ago)
While he was in ur efcc den, una don give am tea drink na. So make he dey die small small. We understand.
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:04 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgan1 at 26-05-2016 07:08 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Opeyemi Oladipupo on 26-05-2016 06:52 AM
lolss... sufferness don catch this one.... and some yeye people go they talk say buhari no do anything in this country.
No mind dem,,,,Buhari is working,,,Metuh is willing to return N400m...
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:08 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 26-05-2016 07:16 AM (7 years ago)
Return the money and go to jail fast
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:16 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- ficull at 26-05-2016 07:16 AM (7 years ago)
.....'show willingness to return the money since the commencement of the matte'....
Excuse you me Mr. lawyer, Metuh NEVER agreed to  any wrong-doing in collecting  the money. I recall Metuh saying that the money was paid him by GEJ after the 'work'  he executed.
For wasting our time and insulting our intelligence, let the trial  continue, even after return of money.
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:16 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sweetypweety at 26-05-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago)
Better for him
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:46 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EFEJONES1 at 26-05-2016 07:51 AM (7 years ago)
But wait ooo. Na only 400m e wan return out of all d moni. Make e return everything and still go jail ooo.  One woman tif phone for warri last month. Them naked am , molest am and beat hell out of her before she was arrested so y them dey treat this man like butter pikin?

Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:51 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- uduehi at 26-05-2016 08:13 AM (7 years ago)
When money is been transferred to ur account for assignment is not a crime my people still buhari isn't fighting corruption as long Amaechi is moving freely 
Posted: at 26-05-2016 08:13 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Eazyatumeyi at 26-05-2016 08:42 AM (7 years ago)
400million? there are more money let him bring all
Posted: at 26-05-2016 08:42 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- onomskky at 26-05-2016 08:57 AM (7 years ago)
The same 400 million wey efcc ask you to return when them first nab you but you refuse.
Efcc make una hold am well well. Make una double am to 800 million
Posted: at 26-05-2016 08:57 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 26-05-2016 10:01 AM (7 years ago)
NO!! WE NO WANT MONEY, WE WANT YOUR LIFE  Cool
Posted: at 26-05-2016 10:01 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- osarobo62 at 26-05-2016 02:24 PM (7 years ago)
too little.....N400 million out of N1.2 billion Huh?......no deal.
Posted: at 26-05-2016 02:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- luckingto50 at 26-05-2016 03:32 PM (7 years ago)
I THINK U SAY U NO GO RETURN THE MONEY BEFORE? SAI BABA
Posted: at 26-05-2016 03:32 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- mia4321 at 26-05-2016 05:57 PM (7 years ago)
Alright...                                                                                                                       
Posted: at 26-05-2016 05:57 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raynebee at 26-05-2016 06:18 PM (7 years ago)
to ma account please.                                               
Posted: at 26-05-2016 06:18 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 26-05-2016 07:41 PM (7 years ago)
return the money fast fast
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:41 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 26-05-2016 07:46 PM (7 years ago)
return the money fast fast
Posted: at 26-05-2016 07:46 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Okoma84 at 26-05-2016 08:49 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: EDWIN GRACE on 26-05-2016 07:04 AM
While he was in ur efcc den, una don give am tea drink na. So make he dey die small small. We understand.
be honesty for once when the govt. is trying hard to put this country in order for the sake of the orderly people but you are here with hatred becos I been checking your comment all these while some are reasonable but about the govt. u detaste. Pls stop it and help the govt. to move our motherland(Nigeria) forward becos no place like home. Mind you if u support evil, evil nerve depart from your home. Is advice not a curse
Posted: at 26-05-2016 08:49 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Sparky12 at 26-05-2016 09:28 PM (7 years ago)
I can c
Posted: at 26-05-2016 09:28 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac