BUSTED!!! Police Arrest Syndicates Over Production Of Fake Naira Notes In Lagos (Photos)

Date: 01-06-2016 8:29 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 1-06-2016 08:29 AM (7 years ago)

Two men who are allegedly members of a syndicate that produces fake naira notes have been arrested by the police on Oluwakemi Street, in the Ojodu Abiodun area of Lagos State.

PUNCH Metro gathered that the suspects – Hope Ihesiaba and his brother, Ifeanyi – were arrested by the Isheri Police Division on Saturday.

Our correspondent learnt that the police were tipped-off by a woman, who sold foodstuffs in the area, that the suspects spent fake N1,000 notes and the operatives moved in on the duo.

Eighty pieces of fake N1,000 notes, two laptops, a sledge hammer and a cutlass were said to have been recovered by the police from the suspects’ house.

It was gathered that apart from the duo, two friends of Ifeanyi, a lady simply identified as Ijeoma, and a man identified only as Paul, were arrested by the police for allegedly receiving and spending some of the fake notes from the suspects.

The suspects with recovered items

Speaking with PUNCH Metro, 33-year-old Hope, from Abia State, said he got the fake notes from a friend in Aba, Abia State. He denied that he was the producer of the notes.

He said, “I do not produce fake naira notes. I have a friend who does that. His name is Odiyi, and he sells in a market in Aba.

“I gave him N28,000 real money and he gave me the N80,000 fake naira notes. I knew the money was fake; but  I did it to help myself. I gave my brother parts of the money. He in turn gave some to two of his friends.

“I am not married. I just needed money and I was tempted to collect the notes.”

The younger brother, Ifeanyi, who was the first to be arrested, told PUNCH Metro that a woman selling recharge cards raised the alarm after realising he gave her a fake N1,000 note and alerted some security guards.

“My brother and I live together in an estate in Oluwakemi. On Saturday, I went to the Magodo area where I wanted to buy a recharge card from a woman. She just checked the note and raised the alarm. She started shouting on me until some security guards called the police and I was arrested.

“The policemen came and searched my brother’s house. They found all the notes there. I was given the fake notes, I don’t produce them.”

Our correspondent learnt that the police had launched a manhunt for the runaway Aba trader.

The Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, said investigation was ongoing into the matter.

He said, “They are a syndicate producing fake naira notes in the state. Investigation is still ongoing.”

Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:29 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- michaelc80 at 1-06-2016 08:35 AM (7 years ago)
OMG see what I see
Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:35 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 1-06-2016 08:48 AM (7 years ago)
End of the road
Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:48 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- misskeke at 1-06-2016 08:53 AM (7 years ago)
una cup don full be dat o
Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:53 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Machealex at 1-06-2016 08:54 AM (7 years ago)
Stupid diots painting the name of their family with black ink
Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:54 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 1-06-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago)
In a country where the economy became so unbearable to it citizens crime become the order of the day.
Posted: at 1-06-2016 09:00 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- uduehi at 1-06-2016 09:03 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: reaper on  1-06-2016 09:00 AM
In a country where the economy became so unbearable to it citizens crime become the order of the day.
I concur
Posted: at 1-06-2016 09:03 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- schmit at 1-06-2016 09:09 AM (7 years ago)
See their heads, idiots
Posted: at 1-06-2016 09:09 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 1-06-2016 09:10 AM (7 years ago)
Posted: at 1-06-2016 09:10 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- albionalex at 1-06-2016 10:05 AM (7 years ago)
Fools..
Posted: at 1-06-2016 10:05 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Passion8Soul at 1-06-2016 10:11 AM (7 years ago)
If only u were all busy chilling ur nerves wit garri n believe n worked hard dat someday,everytin 'll turn out well;u wouldn't 've bin in dis state
Posted: at 1-06-2016 10:11 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 1-06-2016 10:24 AM (7 years ago)
Wow the money looks real but fake una own don red be that
Posted: at 1-06-2016 10:24 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 1-06-2016 11:07 AM (7 years ago)
they will hear it
Posted: at 1-06-2016 11:07 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 1-06-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago)
what do you expect
Posted: at 1-06-2016 02:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 1-06-2016 02:57 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 1-06-2016 02:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- luckingto50 at 1-06-2016 04:06 PM (7 years ago)
BIAFRA AGAIN!
Posted: at 1-06-2016 04:06 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- mikedonng at 1-06-2016 05:45 PM (7 years ago)
brain burster
Posted: at 1-06-2016 05:45 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 1-06-2016 07:57 PM (7 years ago)
Dynasty am getting sick and tired of ur brodas committing crimes like this in dis obodo naija...
Why can't u wait for ur Biafra to start..?
Posted: at 1-06-2016 07:57 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- fearlesspaul at 1-06-2016 08:01 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Sussan odili on  1-06-2016 10:24 AM
Wow the money looks real but fake una own don red be that

the recharge cards seller try sha bcos I no fit tell fake currency from the real one.
Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:01 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Tskills at 1-06-2016 08:03 PM (7 years ago)
Its what apc hardship has caused
Posted: at 1-06-2016 08:03 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer