blacks and the diversity among US

Date: 04-02-2010 8:34 am (14 years ago) | Author: EHI
- at 4-02-2010 08:34 AM (14 years ago)
I JUST WAN TO KNOW IF OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCE PERSONALLY OR KNOW PEOPLE WHO OFTEN DOWN GRADE ANOTHER BLACK PERSON SIMPLY B/C OF HOW DARK THEY MAY BE AND UPLIFT A PERSON WHO WAS LIGHTER IN COMPLEXION....GROWING UP IN NAIJA PART OF MY LIFE IT WAS VERY COMMON THAT PPLE BLEACH THEIR SKIN SO I ALWAYS THOUGH THAT BEING LIGHTER WAS BETTER BUT HAS I GREW UO MY VIEWS CHANGED..... IN THE STATES THIS IS ALSO COMMON NOT JUST AMONG IMMIGRANT BLACKS BUT ALSO BLACK AMERICAN...I ONCE VIEWD A SHOW WHERE A DARK SKIN WOMAN ADMITTIED TO PUTTING ACTUAL BLEACH IN HER LOTION FOR HER AND HER KIDS B/C SHE HATED HER SKIN TONE.....SOME BLACK AMERICANS OFTEN TIMES WHEN WANTING TO COMPLIEMENT ANOTHER DARK SKIN INDIVIDUAL THEY ALWAYS SEEM TO HAVE TO ADD THE SATEMENT " FOR A DARK PERSON " EXAMPLE...I HAVE A FEMALE FRIEND WHO WORKS AT A CLUB SHE IS BLACK AND DOMINICAN BUT IF YOU WHERE TO SEE HER HER TONE ANS BODY FEATURES WE WOULD ASSUME SHE WAS BLACK WITH OUT THE MIXTURE ANY WAYS ...A MAN GAVE TOLD HER " YOU AREE SO PRETTY FOR A DARK SKIN GAL" WHEN SHE TOLD ME I TOLD HER I WOULD HAVE BEEN OFFENDED...WHY CANT SHE JUST BE PRETTY WHY DOES IT HAVE TO BE B/C SHE IS DARK SKIN...PERHPAS I READ TO MUCH INTO THE STATEMENT BUT IM AWARE THAT IN THE HISPANIC CULTURE EVEN THOUGH SOME OF THEM ARE BLACK LIKE ME THEY ARE KNOWN TO DOWN GRADE THOSE DARKER THAN THEM ( but thats annother topic).....so pls share your personal view oin this matter... are we self hating, what is the issue with the division amongst us

Posted: at 4-02-2010 08:34 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- irule at 6-02-2010 12:16 PM (14 years ago)
hmmmm

Posted: at 6-02-2010 12:16 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 6-02-2010 12:30 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianraised on  4-02-2010 08:34 AM
I JUST WAN TO KNOW IF OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCE PERSONALLY OR KNOW PEOPLE WHO OFTEN DOWN GRADE ANOTHER BLACK PERSON SIMPLY B/C OF HOW DARK THEY MAY BE AND UPLIFT A PERSON WHO WAS LIGHTER IN COMPLEXION....GROWING UP IN NAIJA PART OF MY LIFE IT WAS VERY COMMON THAT PPLE BLEACH THEIR SKIN SO I ALWAYS THOUGH THAT BEING LIGHTER WAS BETTER BUT HAS I GREW UO MY VIEWS CHANGED..... IN THE STATES THIS IS ALSO COMMON NOT JUST AMONG IMMIGRANT BLACKS BUT ALSO BLACK AMERICAN...I ONCE VIEWD A SHOW WHERE A DARK SKIN WOMAN ADMITTIED TO PUTTING ACTUAL BLEACH IN HER LOTION FOR HER AND HER KIDS B/C SHE HATED HER SKIN TONE.....SOME BLACK AMERICANS OFTEN TIMES WHEN WANTING TO COMPLIEMENT ANOTHER DARK SKIN INDIVIDUAL THEY ALWAYS SEEM TO HAVE TO ADD THE SATEMENT " FOR A DARK PERSON " EXAMPLE...I HAVE A FEMALE FRIEND WHO WORKS AT A CLUB SHE IS BLACK AND DOMINICAN BUT IF YOU WHERE TO SEE HER HER TONE ANS BODY FEATURES WE WOULD ASSUME SHE WAS BLACK WITH OUT THE MIXTURE ANY WAYS ...A MAN GAVE TOLD HER " YOU AREE SO PRETTY FOR A DARK SKIN GAL" WHEN SHE TOLD ME I TOLD HER I WOULD HAVE BEEN OFFENDED...WHY CANT SHE JUST BE PRETTY WHY DOES IT HAVE TO BE B/C SHE IS DARK SKIN...PERHPAS I READ TO MUCH INTO THE STATEMENT BUT IM AWARE THAT IN THE HISPANIC CULTURE EVEN THOUGH SOME OF THEM ARE BLACK LIKE ME THEY ARE KNOWN TO DOWN GRADE THOSE DARKER THAN THEM ( but thats annother topic).....so pls share your personal view oin this matter... are we self hating, what is the issue with the division amongst us

light-skinned blacks, as fine boiz nd gurls  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 6-02-2010 12:30 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kafolize at 6-02-2010 02:34 PM (14 years ago)
GO AND BLEACH
Posted: at 6-02-2010 02:34 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- chik001 at 6-02-2010 02:53 PM (14 years ago)
I quite agree that lighter skin is nice to look at, but dark skin is more natural and healthy. even among the white people, they credit those among them who are tanned. There are some black people you see, you will like being black. our features are well formed and solid. there are so many things that made us peculiar, first is our environment, we all eat direct from the vegetation. we adapt to any weather.
Why things are the way they are is because of 500 years of mental programming and desplacement. If we had put our self together, especially in naija with all our resouces, eat egusi, ugu, amala, ewedu and drink palm wine...
I have 1001 things to say, our dental formular can not be compared to any other race... nna make I stop before alarm blow Cool
Posted: at 6-02-2010 02:53 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nigerianraised at 10-02-2010 09:38 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: kafolize on  6-02-2010 02:34 PM
GO AND BLEACH

DID I TELL YOU THAT I WANTED TO BLEACH I AM HAPPY ...... I AM JUST INTRESTED IN OTHER PPLE VIEWS ON THIS MATTER
Posted: at 10-02-2010 09:38 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- omatu at 10-02-2010 08:05 PM (14 years ago)
Black is very beautiful.  You have a point that we need to work on our psychological upbringings that recognizes the light skin as more beautiful.

I think it may have to do with slavery and colonization.

I think we are improving though.  Look at Genevieve Nnaji - elegant, intelligent, beautiful, all that you can have wrapped up in a woman regardless of race.

God bless blacks.
God bless Nigeria
God bless Africa
Posted: at 10-02-2010 08:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 13-04-2016 04:15 PM (8 years ago)
NEXT TIME BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 13-04-2016 04:15 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Edo Police Arrest 2 Women, 3 Girls Who Stripped Lady N@ked In Viral Video Over Alleged Phone

2. Embattled Rapper, Drake Gives Conditions For Quitting His Music Career

3. BIG 3 BEEF: Terry G Crowns Wizkid The Undisputed King Of Afrobeats

4. Chad Holds Presidential Election After 3 Years Of Military Rule

5. 'Burna Boy Approaches Music Bizz With Sense Of Order Despite Alleged Crazy Nature' – Baba Fryo

6. PIC: Aspiring Doctor Left Brain Dead After Friends Pushed Him Into Lake Knowing He Can't Swim

7. Five Kidnappers Who Reportedly Slept Off After Operation In Ondo Arrested

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

7. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

8. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

9. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)