Homeless Mother Caught Red Handed While Trying To Dump Baby At An Orphanage

Date: 15-06-2016 3:42 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 15-06-2016 03:42 PM (7 years ago)

Around 9.00 a.m. on Sunday, attention of officers of Rapid Response Squad (RRS) was drawn by some residents and traders after young lady attempted to dump her 27-day-old baby in front of an orphanage in Magodo area of Lagos state.
According to reports, the lady who blamed the harsh economy in the country for her wicked action, was about dropping the baby along CMD Road when she was arrested and taken to the RRS office in Magodo.

“Around 9.00 a.m. on Sunday at Magodo, the attention of the RRS was drawn to a young lady who was suspected to be dumping a baby in the front of an Orphanage.
“The operatives got there and brought the situation under control,”
a police source, who pleaded anonymity, told Lagos Metro.

The suspect identifed as Serah Jegede, a native of Imesi Ile in Osun State, reportedly went to the orphanage home with the intention of handing over her baby to somebody there, and however did not hand over the baby to the officials, since it was a Sunday and the senior officials of the orphanage were not around.

When questioned about her background, the lady who admitted that she could no longer take care of the baby due to her environment and lack of money said:
“I came to Lagos in 2009. I lived with my mother at No.1, Ejo Street, Igando.
“It was my mother that used to pay the house rent. One day, we didn’t just see her again. She didn’t come back home.
She didn’t leave home with anything; all her things are still there. I don’t know her  whereabouts. But when the rent expired, I had no choice but to leave the house. That was over a year ago. I live inside market, just any space to sleep.”

On who was responsible for the pregnancy, Serah said:
“I only know him as Sunday. I don’t know his surname. I don’t know his parents.
“I don’t know his whereabouts too. That day, I went to sell pure water. Before I came back, he had packed all his belongings and disappeared, leaving me behind. I gave birth to my baby at Ikotun market,”
she said.

Serah also told the RRS operatives that the baby was yet to be christened, since she had no intention of keeping her.

At the RRS office, succour came the way of the lady and her daughter as policemen and women, led by the commander, Olatunji Disu, showered them with gifts and money as the lady and her baby were later transferred to the Isheri divisional police station.

Posted: at 15-06-2016 03:42 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 15-06-2016 03:46 PM (7 years ago)
poverty don kill dem for naija
Posted: at 15-06-2016 03:46 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- dickieponga at 15-06-2016 04:09 PM (7 years ago)
But why open her legs in a harsh economic environment like that, wat about using a condom..?
Posted: at 15-06-2016 04:09 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 15-06-2016 04:24 PM (7 years ago)
she made the right attempt to leave the baby at an orphanage ,instead of a gutter or sell to ritualists.
Posted: at 15-06-2016 04:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 15-06-2016 04:35 PM (7 years ago)
It,s better than throwing d baby away,,,,
Posted: at 15-06-2016 04:35 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 15-06-2016 04:43 PM (7 years ago)
NEXT TIME BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 15-06-2016 04:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- quest3 at 15-06-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago)
Who will you blame this on?
I just dey look una...

Posted: at 15-06-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- uduehi at 15-06-2016 05:27 PM (7 years ago)
I thank God u didn't throw out the baby, let me answer the person who said who to blame? Yes I will blame Nigeria government pass and present because if they have done the right thing before now things would haven't turned out to be this way. One people failed to understand that u don't have to be rich before u marry or bear kids in abroad because government have done more than enough to care for them but here in Nigeria u will see a man of 40th yrs he's afraid to marry because of poverty so the blames should be on our rulers or better people in government as representatives
Posted: at 15-06-2016 05:27 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vectorcy at 15-06-2016 05:45 PM (7 years ago)
life is really hard for some people.
Posted: at 15-06-2016 05:45 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- GermoDon at 15-06-2016 05:53 PM (7 years ago)
U tink say d tin no dey sweet am as she dey hammer wit  d boy so free her pls
Posted: at 15-06-2016 05:53 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- scottchris at 15-06-2016 06:32 PM (7 years ago)
MADAM..... PLS TAKE YOUR RESPONSIBILTY....  EVRY CHILD IS A BLESSING....

Posted: at 15-06-2016 06:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Queenkhalees at 15-06-2016 06:41 PM (7 years ago)
Bring the child to me , I will take care of her
Posted: at 15-06-2016 06:41 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 15-06-2016 08:01 PM (7 years ago)
i feel sorry for her she did the right thing, is better she drop the child there than to kill the baby
Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:01 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 15-06-2016 08:13 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: anna johnson on 15-06-2016 08:01 PM
i feel sorry for her she did the right thing, is better she drop the child there than to kill the baby
seconded
Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:13 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 15-06-2016 08:24 PM (7 years ago)
God is great
Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Airbender at 15-06-2016 08:27 PM (7 years ago)
part of change

Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Airbender at 15-06-2016 08:29 PM (7 years ago)
part of change

Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:29 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 15-06-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago)
CHAI ITS NOT HER FAULT NAH, MAY GOD HELP US ALL

Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:40 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- albionalex at 15-06-2016 08:47 PM (7 years ago)
Why throwing the baby away.. Even with d hardship you should not have made that attempt..
Posted: at 15-06-2016 08:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 15-06-2016 09:27 PM (7 years ago)
eyaa

Posted: at 15-06-2016 09:27 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero