Are We Ashamed Of Our Natural Hair?

Date: 09-02-2010 2:41 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Chigozie Onyema
- at 9-02-2010 02:41 PM (14 years ago)
Are we ashamed of our hair - How come so many of us women have straightened and permed our hair?
We would rather die than have natural hair like our grandmothers did in the earlier generations.

Posted: at 9-02-2010 02:41 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dirtykid at 9-02-2010 02:51 PM (14 years ago)
is that for all or just for women??

I think women should treat their hairs well to look good. what is this about grandmother style? u wan someone to dress well in a good outfit and have a grandma's hair style ? Grin

Posted: at 9-02-2010 02:51 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- GlamourPuss at 9-02-2010 03:29 PM (14 years ago)
i luv african hair)) esp guys ))
Posted: at 9-02-2010 03:29 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- diplomatik at 9-02-2010 03:31 PM (14 years ago)
poster r u female...cos it said u r male  Huh? ..so how come us women   Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 9-02-2010 03:31 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 9-02-2010 03:36 PM (14 years ago)
Hiss

Posted: at 9-02-2010 03:36 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- CILondon at 9-02-2010 03:46 PM (14 years ago)
No, I'm not male - I am female.

"So why do we hate our own hair texture so much that we would go and buy an Indian woman’s cast off hair to sew into our head? Why do we hate our own hair texture so much that we would suffer the pain of scalp burning to put chemicals into our hair to straighten it. Please don’t give me the excuse that “We do it to make our hair more manageable.”

Extract from "Why Are Black Women So Hung Up On Their Hair"
(Life In Big London)
Posted: at 9-02-2010 03:46 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- diplomatik at 9-02-2010 03:48 PM (14 years ago)
oh ok....well i don't hate my hair. Cheesy

Posted: at 9-02-2010 03:48 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dirtykid at 9-02-2010 04:56 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: CILondon on  9-02-2010 03:46 PM
No, I'm not male - I am female.

"So why do we hate our own hair texture so much that we would go and buy an Indian woman’s cast off hair to sew into our head? Why do we hate our own hair texture so much that we would suffer the pain of scalp burning to put chemicals into our hair to straighten it. Please don’t give me the excuse that “We do it to make our hair more manageable.”

Extract from "Why Are Black Women So Hung Up On Their Hair"
(Life In Big London)

Then tell us poster, if u are woman like u said.. what do u do to your own hair ?

Posted: at 9-02-2010 04:56 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- neossha at 9-02-2010 06:07 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid link=topic=29940.
[/quote

Then tell us poster, if u are woman like u said.. what do u do to your own hair ?
idk oooh.
Posted: at 9-02-2010 06:07 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kissme69 at 6-06-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago)
I love my natural hair!!!!! Smiley. But no offence to some, who like wig or weave e.t.c. Everyone has the right, to do what they like!!. Do whatever it takes to make u happy. Its your life, then u live it!!!! Cheesy Wink
Posted: at 6-06-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- maryclaret at 6-06-2011 05:01 PM (12 years ago)
You said "us women?" I'll believe that that was a typo cause ure a guy. lol Ok to answer your question, can't speak for all women, but most now have joined the natural side. Most women now are going natural. Before then, I guess women believed that a perm was the best thing to do for their hair in order to look good. But the damage that all the chemicals in relaxers have done to the hair has led to natural coming back. I don't think it's shame; I think it has to do with what was the "in" thing then. Natural is now the "in" thing so...there you have it.

Posted: at 6-06-2011 05:01 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- preciouslyme at 6-06-2011 07:53 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on  9-02-2010 02:51 PM
is that for all or just for women??

I think women should treat their hairs well to look good. what is this about grandmother style? u wan someone to dress well in a good outfit and have a grandma's hair style ? Grin

well said \
Gbam to the fullest
in fact I dey envy your Versace
Posted: at 6-06-2011 07:53 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- mallorca at 6-06-2011 07:56 PM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 6-06-2011 07:56 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vectorcy at 19-06-2016 09:47 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Valeriya on  9-02-2010 03:29 PM
i luv african hair)) esp guys ))
Tnks...I kepp afro...
Posted: at 19-06-2016 09:47 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Vicky_joseph at 22-09-2016 09:36 PM (7 years ago)
This is serious
Posted: at 22-09-2016 09:36 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac