Senate Makes Jonathan Acting President

Date: 09-02-2010 6:55 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Ayobamy Olawale
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 9-02-2010 06:55 PM (14 years ago)
Senate Makes Jonathan Acting President

Seventy-eight days after President Yar’Adua left Nigeria for medical treatment in Saudi Arabia, the Senate today endorsed Vice President Goodluck Jonathan as Acting President.

Jonathan does not have to be sworn-in to enable him discharge his functions as Acting President.

By this declaration, the Senate has effectively ended the political logjam created by the long absence of President Musa Yar’Adua.

In taking this decision today, the Senate relied on the telephone interview Yar’Adua granted the British Broadcasting Corporation, BBC, on Tuesday 12  January this year.

In that interview broadcast on the Hausa Service of the station, the ailing President said: “At the moment, I am undergoing treatment and I am getting better from the treatment. I hope that very soon, there will be tremendous progress, which will allow me to get back home. I wish, at this stage, to thank all Nigerians for their prayers for the nation.”

Since Yar’Adua failed to write to the National Assembly informing it of his trip for medical treatment and that his deputy, Goodluck Jonathan be sworn in as Acting President in accordance with Section 145 of the 1999 Constitution, the Senate had to rely on the BBC interview to confer the power to act as president on Jonathan.

After an initial close session that lasted about 45 minutes, Senator Yakubu Garba Lado (PDP Katsina) kicked against a motion moved by Senate Leader, Teslim Folarin and seconded by Deputy Senate Leader, Ike Ekweremadu, asking the Senate to rely on the BBC interview in place of a letter by the president asking the senate to swear-in Jonathan as Acting President.

Senator Lado maintained that the letter to the Senate must be in writing, adding that the motion smacked of mischief.

The Senate stood down all other items on the agenda for another legislative day in the course of debating the political impasse caused by Yar’Adua’s absence.

After today’s deliberations, Senator Smart Adeyemi said the nation can now move forward and emphasised the need to ignite a review of relevant sections of the constitution.

In his reaction, Senator Patrick Osakwe said he is optimistic the House of Representatives will also align with the Senate in the interest of the nation. Meanwhile, the Senate will meet with governors today in the Hearing Rm 301 of the Senate  Building.

Posted: at 9-02-2010 06:55 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- docreala at 9-02-2010 08:25 PM (14 years ago)
slowly but surely we're getting there
Posted: at 9-02-2010 08:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- meetmeontop at 9-02-2010 08:37 PM (14 years ago)
God help nigeria
Posted: at 9-02-2010 08:37 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- raycosty at 9-02-2010 08:48 PM (14 years ago)
Nigerian with different peoples................ideas and concept..................we all welcome this new concept from the ideal people. Acting President GOODLUCK JONATHAN........Welcome on Board.
Posted: at 9-02-2010 08:48 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- tolatayo at 9-02-2010 09:10 PM (14 years ago)
Great idea,good decision.Let's hope that the ''BIG HANDS'' will not fail this idea,and make it successful 4 us.Meanwhile let's wait & hear from d house of rep. Uhn!
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:10 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- tolatayo at 9-02-2010 09:10 PM (14 years ago)
Great idea,good decision.Let's hope that the ''BIG HANDS'' will not fail this idea,and make it successful 4 us.Meanwhile let's wait & hear from d house of rep. Uhn!
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:10 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- manyuppie at 9-02-2010 09:27 PM (14 years ago)
Beautiful decision and i do hope the nation can move forward in positive direction and not backward.
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:27 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- emmyG at 9-02-2010 09:35 PM (14 years ago)
yes i good ... just finished watching cnn now ...

wole  made me proud
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:35 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jeschrst at 9-02-2010 09:40 PM (14 years ago)
at last...
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:40 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- prince4rich at 9-02-2010 09:42 PM (14 years ago)
 WELL I PRAY FOR NIGERIA BECOS IAM PROUD TO BE A NIGERIA,BUT LET HE ACT ON BEHELF OF THE PRESIDENT WHY THIS PEOPLE ARE COMING UP WITH ANOTHER THING ,WHY DO THEY NEED THE NOTE FROM THE PRESIDENT WE ARE ONLY HEARING THAT HE IS ALIVE WHY DID BBC OR CNN NEVER COVER HIM LIVE IN THE HOSPITAL WHAY ARE DOING THIS TO GOODLUCK  BECOS GOODLUCK IS FROM THE  SOUTH.
WELL LEAVE IT OR TAKE IT THE POWER IS COMING NOW TO SOUTH,WE NEED IT SO WE CAN SEE IF THINGS WILL WORK OUT IN NIGERIA.BECOS I DON TRIED FOR THIS phyukING GOVERMENT LEVEL.
GOD HELP NIGERIANS[/b]
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:42 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- EHISE at 9-02-2010 09:51 PM (14 years ago)
OK NOW MAKE WE SEE WEYTIN HE WAN DO............NOR BE HERE WE ALL DEY..........NA WA OOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 9-02-2010 09:51 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- megafather1 at 9-02-2010 10:06 PM (14 years ago)
what ever, a different president but still thesame cabinet.let us see what he can do.good yardua u hav tried, god purnish sickness.So now the southerners u guys are happy now ehn? abeg only god fit bless 9ja WHATEVER.
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:06 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omibanks at 9-02-2010 10:10 PM (14 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Grin
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:10 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedee at 9-02-2010 10:21 PM (14 years ago)
I hope he won't bring bad luck or fall sick.
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:21 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- prince775 at 9-02-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago)
Take it or leave it,  The era of Noutherners are overrrrrrrrrrr... This is our time to rule...  God bless GOODLUCK JONATHAN.
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mail2harrison at 9-02-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago)
pray to god to help us build a new Nigeria .
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- simonitie at 9-02-2010 10:41 PM (14 years ago)
NIGERIA,   GREAT   NATION,   BAD LEADERS
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:41 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Baker4u at 9-02-2010 10:43 PM (14 years ago)
We need positpive thinkers not sickers cos like itself is jubacus
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:43 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ceejay58 at 9-02-2010 10:43 PM (14 years ago)
hhmmmm.......   at last
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:43 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- talk2prince at 9-02-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago)
Thank God,  the long expected dream for the south-south people has finally come through. We hope Goodluck Jonathan will not fail us. God help Naija
Posted: at 9-02-2010 10:48 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8