Nigerian Democracy Is In Grave Danger- Ekweremadu writes UN, US Congress & Others

Date: 29-06-2016 1:47 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 29-06-2016 01:47 PM (7 years ago)

The Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, has written a petition to the parliament of the United Nations (UN), European Union (EU), governments of the United States (US), United Kingdom (UK) and other foreign missions, over “an attempt by the government of President Muhammadu Buhari to truncate Nigeria’s democracy.”
The petition was sent on Tuesday; barely 24 hours after the federal government arraigned him, his principal, Senate President, Bukola Saraki and two others on alleged forgery of 2015 Senate Standing Rules in an Abuja High Court.

In the two-paged letter, titled “Re: Trumped up Charges Against the Presiding Officers of the Eighth Senate: Nigerian Democracy is in Grave Danger”, Ekweremadu insisted that Buhari’s government wants to silence him as the highest ranking opposition leader in the country by prosecuting him for alleged forgery.

He attached copies of the court summons, and other relevant documents, relating to the matter, to his letter. Ekweremadu called on the international community to go through the documents and determine if the trial was justifiable or one purely borne out of political vendetta.

He also noted that neither his name nor that of the President of the Senate featured either in the petition by aggrieved members of the Senate Unity Forum, SUF, or during the investigation of the petition by the police.
“You may further wish to judge for yourself whether this unfolding scenario, coupled with the clampdown on the opposition, such as targeted arrests and indefinite detention of opposition figures and dissenting voices in spite of court pronouncements and in clear violation of the Nigerian Constitution, as well as the sustained marginalisation of the South-east and South-south geopolitical zones of Nigeria, do not constitute a grave danger to the nation’s hard-won democracy,”
he said.

The letter added:
“I wish to forward to you the court summons containing the trumped up charges preferred against my person; the President of the Senate, His Excellency, Senator Bukola Saraki, CON; and two others.

“I also wish to appeal to you to kindly find time to read through the annexures – petition by members of the Senate Unity Forum, statements by persons interrogated, and the police report – to see if we appeared anywhere in these documents.

“You may, thereafter, judge for yourself whether the federal government, acting through the Attorney-General of the Federation, has any justification whatsoever to generate our names for trial.

“The list of the accused persons appear to have been politically generated because you cannot by the documents attached, relate any of our names to the offence for which we are now being charged.

“Moreover, the rules and principles of fair hearing have not been adhered to because the police have not interacted with neither me nor the President of the Senate as at the time of writing this letter.

“You may also wish to judge for yourself whether this trial orchestrated against me is not a political trial, calculated witch-hunt, barefaced intimidation, and a clear attempt to emasculate the parliament and silence me as the leader and highest ranking member of the opposition in Nigeria.

“Meanwhile, it would also be recalled that an attempt was made on my life on November 17, 2015. The Nigerian security agencies did nothing, even though the incident was duly reported. This is for your information and reflection.”

When contacted on the letter written by Ekweremadu to the international community, the presidency stated that he would not break words on the matter.

Posted: at 29-06-2016 01:47 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- GermoDon at 29-06-2016 02:09 PM (7 years ago)
We don hear bt tel Buhari
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:09 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 29-06-2016 02:14 PM (7 years ago)
you slimy traitor,...shut up and go and answer your case in court.   
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 29-06-2016 02:16 PM (7 years ago)
Ok,,,,I hear
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:16 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- HUMANresurce at 29-06-2016 02:26 PM (7 years ago)
But HE'S CORRECT NA..
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:26 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- charybabe at 29-06-2016 02:29 PM (7 years ago)
Na una sabi
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:29 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- EDDYPRINCE at 29-06-2016 02:31 PM (7 years ago)
BUHARI DRAWING US BACK, ABEG FORGET WITCH HUNTING AND FACE WETIN THE PEOPLE WANT...THE COUNTRY IS JUST MOVING LIKE SNAIL IN UR HAND...NOR COME LET ME CHANGE MY MIND FOR YOU ABEG
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:31 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Bebold at 29-06-2016 02:40 PM (7 years ago)
This is what Nigerians wanted and that is what they will get, and this is just the beginning, Nigerians have not seen anything yet
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 29-06-2016 02:53 PM (7 years ago)

SOMEBODY WILL STILL FOOLISHLY BLAME THIS ON BUHARI…YOU LOONY…Y'ALL BETTER BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 29-06-2016 02:53 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 29-06-2016 03:14 PM (7 years ago)
They are all talkative government
Posted: at 29-06-2016 03:14 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajepakoromance at 29-06-2016 04:14 PM (7 years ago)
Buhari jailed Fela and Beko Kuti for crying out against tribal bygot, today.. Welcom back to 1984 Naijapals.. All this for 2019 election.. We shall see if Nigeria wil make it to 2019..
Posted: at 29-06-2016 04:14 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 29-06-2016 04:29 PM (7 years ago)
so he think say those him master wey he write no dey watch before!!   yeye man
Posted: at 29-06-2016 04:29 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajepakoromance at 29-06-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 29-06-2016 04:29 PM
so he think say those him master wey he write no dey watch before!!   yeye man

He his simply telling NIGERIAN masters that, their puppet is not following MASTER LAW..
Posted: at 29-06-2016 04:47 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- fataidegreat at 29-06-2016 04:58 PM (7 years ago)
Don't mind the deputy senate presido, when they are in power I mean PDP, they av done worst more than this. Now he is calling USA, UK, EU to help him for the allege he has done, even you call God, God will still purnish you and saraki Beck's both of you are so desperate to hold power and that's why both of you do the forgery
Posted: at 29-06-2016 04:58 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Amibomatc at 29-06-2016 05:42 PM (7 years ago)
Impeach that dullard.
Posted: at 29-06-2016 05:42 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- zoe61 at 29-06-2016 05:49 PM (7 years ago)
he thinks he can run away from his shadow
Posted: at 29-06-2016 05:49 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 29-06-2016 06:12 PM (7 years ago)
Dis is good. He shld cry out b4 its too late.
Posted: at 29-06-2016 06:12 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennycynth at 29-06-2016 06:23 PM (7 years ago)
Sai Baba pls leave my brothers alone oh
Posted: at 29-06-2016 06:23 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 29-06-2016 06:27 PM (7 years ago)
See d idiot wey dey talk no be una dey spoil dis country with all d fraud una dey do...
Nothing yankee, europe or britain fit do...
U will be prosecuted to d letter of d law u tiffing bastard...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 06:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- michaelc80 at 29-06-2016 06:43 PM (7 years ago)
HMM OKAY, Y'ALL SHOULD BE VERY VERY CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO...
Posted: at 29-06-2016 06:43 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

3. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

4. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

5. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

6. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

7. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

8. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

9. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

10. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

11. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

12. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

13. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

14. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

15. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

4. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

5. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office