Kanu slams Amodu

Date: 10-02-2010 3:29 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 10-02-2010 03:29 PM (14 years ago)
Super Eagles captain, Nwankwo Kanu, has tongue-lashed sacked coach Shaibu Amodu for keeping him on the bench at the just-concluded Nations Cup in Angola.

'It's so strange,' he began in an interview with MTNfootball.com

'I have always told the coach that I was not there to look and carry babies. When you talk of Nigeria, you hear Kanu and I still play for my club. I did not know why I was in Angola and I did not play. If you are starting me, it means I have to come in.

'But I do not understand why I was not even coming. There is no reason why I cannot come in and play. In South Africa, I trained very well, against Zambia in a friendly before the tournament, I was the man of the match. Even in training you could see that I'm there and I can play. There was no excuse.

'But what I cannot do is to cause disharmony in the team because I'm the captain and even the younger players would look at me and say the captain is fighting the coach, but the truth is that it was very strange for me.

'People have to go back and ask Amodu and Amokachi what was the reason because they call the shots and I'm still a player. I had to show a good example to the rest of the team.

'I had to show good example to the rest of the team. I had to keep my head especially when we lost the first game and everybody wanted to kill us. What was the reason? Was it that he was not fit? Or that he can no longer play?'

He admitted that his greatest regret in the national team was not winning a Nations Cup title even as he added that he felt disappointed not scoring a goal in all the six editions he featured.

'It would have been great to have on my CV that I scored a goal at the Nations Cup, but it did not happen

Posted: at 10-02-2010 03:29 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- coolguys235 at 10-02-2010 07:50 PM (14 years ago)
kanu sorry ooooo.......  such is life ...... Grin Grin Grin

like he always said I WAS DETAMEEN.........never to give up Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 10-02-2010 07:50 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Oribhabor at 10-02-2010 09:37 PM (14 years ago)
Really unfortunate. But would Kanu be honest to tell Nigerians if he was physically fit to be in Angola? kanu should learn to retire when the ovation is loudest. If pesin sidon fo won ples tu mosh lizad go klaim am tink se na tree.
Posted: at 10-02-2010 09:37 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- colenzo at 10-02-2010 10:17 PM (14 years ago)
sorry for kanu, the problem we have is that the age forcification is killing our football

Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:17 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 10-02-2010 10:19 PM (14 years ago)
that is even a reckless statement . if he is too big to play for nigeria , then let him get lost and give chance for some responsible ones , we all see what he played when he came in the second half in the opening match against eygpt , is that what is expected of a good captain or is that how he plays is game in is clubside ? the sacked coach had done a very good job by dumping him aside
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:19 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- EHISE at 10-02-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago)
AMODU YOU DEY REALLY DEY CRAZE FOR HEAD.......KANU NO SHAKING WE DEY WITH YOU..........
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:23 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- chinwenduu at 10-02-2010 10:25 PM (14 years ago)
lol. KANU SLAMS AMODU Good for HIM Grin
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:25 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Oribhabor at 10-02-2010 10:44 PM (14 years ago)
But why is it so difficult for Africans/Nigerians to read between the lines and vacate any position when the ovation is loudest? The part of honour and dignity na im de on bod. Kanu should have learnt from the graceful exit if Okocha from active football. During the NBL Cup of Nations Beer festival in Abuja, a comedian said Kanu no more stands straight as a result of old age. Kanu has one of the best record so far in football. Bot mek dem tel am se, if e no ritaya, wi go du im send off. Weda e laik am or not.
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:44 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 10-02-2010 10:57 PM (14 years ago)
no mind theem my brother , too much griddy now chop and die , we have too many zombies these days , not only in the military but in all aspects of our day to days life , like fela said , no break , no jam , no sense
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:57 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- ojukwu at 10-02-2010 11:42 PM (14 years ago)
mek una leave kanu alone......but NNAAA kanu my bros,itz ok, just try go rest, u don try for our nation, tek ur respect
and dignity go tek care of ur young family like OKOCHA:::mek u no go die ..abeg, naija is a heartless country,if u die, them no
go mind u oooo.......like dey did to OKPARAJI SAM.....God bless u kanu
Posted: at 10-02-2010 11:42 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Ollyo at 10-02-2010 11:46 PM (14 years ago)
who to believe self....kanu u sure say u fit? no mai d cocnut suabu or weting u dey call am self..small bouy
Posted: at 10-02-2010 11:46 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Duggy at 11-02-2010 03:53 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: coolguys235 on 10-02-2010 07:50 PM
kanu sorry ooooo.......  such is life ...... Grin Grin Grin

like he always said I WAS DETAMEEN.........never to give up Grin Grin Grin
[/

hahahahal. Dat Kanu's "detameen" peak commercial really got my friends and I laughin our butts out. I really dont know wat y'all are talking about cuz Im not a soccer fan and I can't care less about that. I just like d commercial.
All I can do is wish him luck
Posted: at 11-02-2010 03:53 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mrketch at 11-02-2010 04:47 AM (14 years ago)
Well inas much as  Kanu still plays in his club he is entitle to play in any game because every body knows that it is not easy to play in a division one club in Europe were there are many players,every body knows that u do ur wonders wen they think ur gone. So Kanu men just dey arrange ur self for the up coming wold cup ok
no worry i know ur highly determined that's y u made it ur self  who want try Kanu for Nija players
Posted: at 11-02-2010 04:47 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- egbule at 11-02-2010 05:07 AM (14 years ago)
mrketch. a national team can neva b compared 2 a club side no matter how big d club is or how small d nation is. d guys are more loyal 2 their clubs than d nation team. if osaze had being d 1 sayin dis i wld hv bin on his side. kanu is beging 2 live on his past glory.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 05:07 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- martiz at 11-02-2010 05:47 AM (14 years ago)
Kanu is crazy if he said this, why is him taking his past glory to this present time of football, how good is him on his team and how good is the team in English Premier Leagues, is him not among those who bring portsmouth to the last of the table, it could have better for Amodu to use ex-President Musa Yarauda from his sick bed then using Kanu, Any coach who live by past gloy players without discovered new one by himself is not a coach, that was the problems of Amodu and others Nigerian's coachs in this recent years, is a shame for our country Nigeria.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 05:47 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- nice9ija at 11-02-2010 07:06 AM (14 years ago)
kanu my bros dont mind them juts retire and keep ur respect and deginity to ur selfe.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 07:06 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 11-02-2010 07:35 AM (14 years ago)
did you said ex-president ? you must surely be out of your mind . president umar musa yar Adua , is hail and healty . and wil insha ALLAH returns to his job
Posted: at 11-02-2010 07:35 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- richy4reel at 11-02-2010 08:35 AM (14 years ago)
kanu should go and rest,he is really old.he's strength can not be merged with the egyptian strength that is to show that he is not fit.He was a good player during his days but now he is really old he can go and relax and give the young ones chance to play.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 08:35 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 11-02-2010 08:43 AM (14 years ago)
Posted: at 11-02-2010 08:43 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- Vani at 11-02-2010 09:43 AM (14 years ago)
Kanu i think say u don retire,u go fit play?U are only playing 4 ur club bcos of the money involved.Abeg go luk afta ur family.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 09:43 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. VIDEO: Speed Darlington Slams People Comparing Him To Wizkid

2. Naira Prostrates Further Against Dollar Despite EFCC Raid On Speculators

3. Singer, Skales Makes Nollywood Debut, Features In #SeekingJustice, Directed By JJC

4. Singer, Simi Reveals How Her Husband, Adekunle Gold Inspired Her Song, 'Men Are Crazy'

5. Ukraine-Russia War! Missile, Drone Attacks Launched On Ukraine’s Energy Grid

6. Former Aviation Minister Hadi Sirika,Daughter And Two Others To Be Arraigned By EFCC Over Fraud

7. 46-Yrs-Old Man Nabbed By Police For Vandalising Lagos 3rd Mainland Bridge

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe