Did 9ice stole songs for his album?

Date: 10-02-2010 9:17 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 10-02-2010 09:17 PM (14 years ago)

Lyrically talented artiste, Adigun Abolore of Alapomeji Record popularly called 9ice is currently swimming in an intellectual property theft scandal if information at our disposal is anything to go by.

The cool-headed artiste whose second album Gongo Aso shot him to limelight and placed him in the league of multi-millionaire artistes may need an arsenal of legal luminaries to readdress the issue between him and another upcoming artiste simply referred to as Baba Nee.

According to whispers, Baba Nee was sometime with the Alapomeji Records led by 9ice, the youngster, before 9ice came out with his multiple award-wining album Gongo Aso, played an active roll as he made a good account of himself writing some songs in the album.

We were reliably informed that Baba Nee was shocked to the bone marrow when 9ice failed to give him credit in the album. He was said to be so bitter to the extent that he disassociate himself from 9ice due to the alleged greedy act of Abolore whose marriage to Toni Payne has just hit the rocks.

According to Baba Nee, “when I tried to give a complaint about the issue to 9ice and a few of our mutual friends, I was rebuffed and even ignored just because 9ice has become a super star and these were and still are people that sing his praises. I didn’t have the financial muscle to fight 9ice and there is no any avenue or label to tell my story, so I was forced to accept defeat. In Tradition, his latest work, I was not only shocked but was bitter for other songs of mine like Petepete which 9ice fraudulently included in the album, all effort to track him down and ask for his reasons for the deliberate use of my lyrics and style without being given adequate royalty or credit proved abortive.”

On the proof of ownership, the young guy said to this reporter that, “though, I have not gone to the appropriate authority to register the songs, however, Kenny Saint Brown will testify to this in 2004 when she organized an event where I sang some of the songs 9ice has now converted to his in his albums. If the video clip of the event is provided, the truth shall reveal itself.” He bitterly explained.

Meanwhile, Baba Nee, according to inside sources, had decided to leave everything in the hand of God as he came out with a promotional track where he raps 9ice down and also talks about the alleged fraudulent saga between him and 9ice only for 9ice to have allegedly instituted an action not to air Baba Nee’s song in the electronic media and nightclubs in Lagos and its environ. “With this new development, I can not but put the record straight as I intend to battle in legally and lyrically.” He concluded.

Posted: at 10-02-2010 09:17 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- prince4rich at 10-02-2010 10:30 PM (14 years ago)
nothing when man pikin no go hear for niaja self
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:30 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- derbi at 10-02-2010 10:43 PM (14 years ago)
tell that guy to short up,  friends is all about gething ideal and given , and if he says he  does not get any ideal from 9ice that mean i must be a doll brain.
Posted: at 10-02-2010 10:43 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- colenzo at 10-02-2010 11:05 PM (14 years ago)
ideal is not when u take another person sweat and turn it  urs in the Western world he will pay dearly for it

Posted: at 10-02-2010 11:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vani at 11-02-2010 09:50 AM (14 years ago)
Na una sabi
Posted: at 11-02-2010 09:50 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DADDYJOEL at 11-02-2010 10:38 AM (14 years ago)
frankly if this information is true, then nice should pay dearly for this. he should generate his own lyrics or pay for another's music is peruly biznes.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 10:38 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- oyinsolar at 11-02-2010 11:10 AM (14 years ago)
If this guy has convincing proofs, then he should take 9ice up legally............else he should forever remain silent.

one luv 9ja
Posted: at 11-02-2010 11:10 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kittengold at 11-02-2010 12:18 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: oyinsolar on 11-02-2010 11:10 AM
If this guy has convincing proofs, then he should take 9ice up legally............else he should forever remain silent.

one luv 9ja
Posted: at 11-02-2010 12:18 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sammyboy007 at 11-02-2010 01:16 PM (14 years ago)
na u no d guy da cohp in money
Posted: at 11-02-2010 01:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- adejuwon at 11-02-2010 05:02 PM (14 years ago)
it unfortunate am sorry campaign after election
Posted: at 11-02-2010 05:02 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- tzn4real at 11-02-2010 05:29 PM (14 years ago)
These are cruel lies.
Posted: at 11-02-2010 05:29 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Yfam at 11-02-2010 06:32 PM (14 years ago)
shit dey say happens
javascript:void(0);
Posted: at 11-02-2010 06:32 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Luckman at 11-02-2010 06:45 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: colenzo on 10-02-2010 11:05 PM
ideal is not when u take another person sweat and turn it  urs in the Western world he will pay dearly for it

"he will pay dearly for it" y is it dat u ppl like to jump into judgement like this? i hate enemies of progress, becos d guy has turned to a superstar ppl are looking forward to gone his glory down. When there was a rift btw him and his ex-wife most ppl blame him alone not knowing deeply what happened and who caused it, now the same thing. Well, he's already finished d talking "she be le ma sun". 9ice drive on jare
Posted: at 11-02-2010 06:45 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- biodunadesola at 11-02-2010 09:55 PM (14 years ago)
This kind of thing is not new. It has been out there for a while that 9ice used some lyrics not totally his own. Even the dance steps are not original according to some industry guys. While this kind of song 'swapping' is really not new, people should not read too much into it. fterall Michael Jackson even hd o take his siter Janet to court for 'stealing' his dance steps!

However, it will be nice to have both of them sing or rap and people can figure out who is who. Baba Nee is reported to have released a track '2ice as 9ice' where he let it all out on his beef with 9ice. Does anyone know how we can get it or listen to it to see if Baba Nee can really sing for real apart from writing lyrics?
Posted: at 11-02-2010 09:55 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- eyin2afelanre at 12-02-2010 12:34 AM (14 years ago)
oun toba wun anybody......................................ola baba.................................huuuuuu.........kiwon sooo.................
i no say you lie ooo,God give God take, if so, Bobo ee, accept you go soon shy, your turn go come.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 12:34 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- koperate at 12-02-2010 04:51 AM (14 years ago)
ogaaoooo all these upcoming i be musician just dy look for who they wan use as step up like all this ownbe fuji music tell this guy to find another do or talk make him face the wey him wan do....abeg forget adigun matter if u no wan make i fight you....warning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111
Posted: at 12-02-2010 04:51 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- youngmullarbaby at 12-02-2010 08:25 AM (14 years ago)
All of una wey dey talk,shey u dey there,na ur face e happen,
Posted: at 12-02-2010 08:25 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- blessinn at 12-02-2010 09:41 AM (14 years ago)
Na God know who d get fault
Posted: at 12-02-2010 09:41 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6