Paul Le Guen Set To Be Named As New Super Eagles Coach After Interview On Skype

Date: 12-07-2016 7:48 am (7 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 12-07-2016 07:48 AM (7 years ago)
The PUNCH can confirm that the Nigeria Football Federation officials have settled for Frenchman Paul Le Guen as the next Super Eagles coach. The football house had made a shortlist of three coaches on Friday: Le Guen, Salisu Yusuf and Tom Saintfiet but few days after have now chosen the Frenchman who will be introduced to the public on July 18.

But while the Eagles manager is being confirmed according to expectations, the position of assistant coach has taken a new turn as the federation could seek an alternative person to work in place of Yusuf who had worked as one of the assistants to Sunday Oliseh.

Our correspondent learnt on Monday that the NFF members were already in search of a coach to work as the Nigerian assistant to Le Guen.

The official said, “As it is now the position of the deputy has been thrown open because Yusuf is still insisting that he would not work as an assistant to Le Guen. Those who worked on their entries picked the Frenchman and with the hope that Yusuf could learn a lot from him for the immediate future but he (Yusuf) appears to have some other ideas so the federation will now have to consider a new person altogether to replace Yusuf.

The former Kano Pillars coach believes he now has enough managerial wisdom to lead the Eagles.

In the Federation Cup, the Round of 16 matches of the men’s competition and the quarter-final matches of the women’s event will take place Tuesday (today) and Wednesday.

Sunshine Stars of Akure go up against Akwa United in Makurdi on Tuesday, as Crown of Ogbomosho and Enugu Rangers play in Kaduna on the same day according to the fixtures released by the FA on Monday.

Rivers United and Shooting Stars of Ibadan are at each other’s jugular at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on Wednesday, while Wikki Tourists of Bauchi and Plateau United will do battle in Akure in all-NPFL clashes.

FC IfeanyiUbah will take on Katsina United at the Kwara Sports Complex, Ilorin on Wednesday, while Nasarawa United will test might with Dynamite of Benin City at the Confluence Stadium, Lokoja on the same day as Warri Wolves are up against Prime of Oshogbo at the Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi.

The postponed Round of 32 clash between Enyimba and El-Kanemi Warriors will come up in Abuja also on Wednesday. The winner of the clash will go up against J. Atete FC of Delta State at a later date.

In the women’s competition, Abia Angels will take to the field in Lokoja against Nasarawa Amazons, as Delta Queens and Katsina Queens do battle in Abuja on Tuesday, 12th July.

Posted: at 12-07-2016 07:48 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 12-07-2016 08:04 AM (7 years ago)
Very good
Posted: at 12-07-2016 08:04 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 12-07-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago)
We need foreign NFF not even near foreign coach and I am also eyeing we need foreign president in Nigeria also. Rubbish!
Posted: at 12-07-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- danielsony at 12-07-2016 08:08 AM (7 years ago)
That's a good idea try him and let's see the difference.
Posted: at 12-07-2016 08:08 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 12-07-2016 08:09 AM (7 years ago)
We need foreign NFF not even near foreign coach and I am also eyeing we need foreign president in Nigeria also. Rubbish!
Posted: at 12-07-2016 08:09 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 12-07-2016 08:28 AM (7 years ago)
Wait o poster, did u say he was interviewed thru Skype?Huh?? So d NFF can not travel to interview and access him well or him traveling to Nigeria to be interviewed. Pls will we learn to respect our self and let dis foreigners respect us in return?Huh?Huh?? And who told NFF dat foreign coach is d solution to Nigeria football? They are our problem. Up till now nothing has been done to prepare for RIO2016. I shake my head for dis NFF who are for their pockets only.
Posted: at 12-07-2016 08:28 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nametalkam at 12-07-2016 08:31 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 12-07-2016 08:28 AM
Wait o poster, did u say he was interviewed thru Skype?Huh?? So d NFF can not travel to interview and access him well or him traveling to Nigeria to be interviewed. Pls will we learn to respect our self and let dis foreigners respect us in return?Huh?Huh?? And who told NFF dat foreign coach is d solution to Nigeria football? They are our problem. Up till now nothing has been done to prepare for RIO2016. I shake my head for dis NFF who are for their pockets only.

Its technology age, there is nothing wrong in interviewing a candidate online, it saves money and cost

Posted: at 12-07-2016 08:31 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 12-07-2016 09:01 AM (7 years ago)
naija need discipline and french are no nonsense people
Posted: at 12-07-2016 09:01 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- winace at 12-07-2016 09:08 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 12-07-2016 08:31 AM
Its technology age, there is nothing wrong in interviewing a candidate online, it saves money and cost
.    OK time shall tell.
Posted: at 12-07-2016 09:08 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- slimmygal at 12-07-2016 09:25 AM (7 years ago)
i waka pass
Posted: at 12-07-2016 09:25 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- djnero at 12-07-2016 09:35 AM (7 years ago)
ok,continue!
Posted: at 12-07-2016 09:35 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- HUMANresurce at 12-07-2016 09:49 AM (7 years ago)
Does it means that Africans cannot manage them selves?Huh? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Why we alway value foreing coaches than ours???
Posted: at 12-07-2016 09:49 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shoemaker at 12-07-2016 09:55 AM (7 years ago)
Bloody fools at the NFF again throwing money away.
Posted: at 12-07-2016 09:55 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- ingredient77 at 12-07-2016 10:10 AM (7 years ago)
Another strategy of stealing money from FG account. when they review his salary then me and u wil all get shocked.. Nigeria my country indeed!
Posted: at 12-07-2016 10:10 AM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- EDDYPRINCE at 12-07-2016 10:15 AM (7 years ago)
STUPID POST,,, WHAT ABOUT THE CV OF THIS NEW COUCH WAS EXPECTING TO READ HIS CV.
Posted: at 12-07-2016 10:15 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okatee at 12-07-2016 12:40 PM (7 years ago)
JST WATCHIN TO SEE WEDA HE WILL B A SOLUTION TO NAIJA PROBX
Posted: at 12-07-2016 12:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nyakinic at 12-07-2016 01:54 PM (7 years ago)
FA na Nigeria problem no be coach
Posted: at 12-07-2016 01:54 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickieponga at 12-07-2016 03:23 PM (7 years ago)
good...
Posted: at 12-07-2016 03:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 12-07-2016 05:27 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: ituglobal on 12-07-2016 09:22 AM
The question is: Would he be able to turn the tide around for Super Eagles?

yes...he will be coaching them on skype.
Posted: at 12-07-2016 05:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 12-07-2016 06:06 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 12-07-2016 08:28 AM

YOU FALL MY HAND, IN DEVELOPED WORLD INTERVIEWS ARE DONE THRU SKYPE, INFACT IT HAPPENED TO ME SO I M NOT JUST TALKING OR SAYING IT. SO MY SISTER TRY TO UPDATE URSELF COZ WE ARE IN A TECHNOLOGICAL WORLD NOW AND WE NEED TO BE MOVING WITH SUCH TECHNOLOGY ... NA B4 WE GO WAKA GO SEE THE PERSON BUT NOW JUST GOOGLE HIS NAME AND U SEE ALL HIS DATA, SO NOTHING WRONG WITH INTERVIEW ON SKYPE OK COZ IT ALSO SAVE COST
Posted: at 12-07-2016 06:06 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

3. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

4. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

5. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

6. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

7. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

8. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

9. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

10. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

11. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

12. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

13. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

14. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

15. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office