Nigerians In New York, I Need Your Help

Date: 12-02-2010 5:45 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Chika Moses
- at 12-02-2010 05:45 PM (14 years ago)
I attend the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism. I want to do some reporting on African communities living in this end of the diaspora.

I am looking to spotlight African (any part of the entire continent) men and women who are creative (be it music, arts, business savvy, or brill in sciences). I need people with amazing stories who would be willing to share them. I am especially interested in the Sudanese community. I need political activists with a major axe to grind. Know any Africans in exile from their own countries? I want to speak to them.

I am also especially interested in those who craft furniture or African musical instruments.

THE ONLY CONDITION is they have to be in the New York state area; I am willing to venture out to NJ too. If you know someone or just know someone who knows someone, please help a fellow Naija sista out.

My email add is [email protected] or simply reply to the post.

Later lovers!

Posted: at 12-02-2010 05:45 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Yuddy at 12-02-2010 06:56 PM (14 years ago)
why dont u report whats happening in 9ja to the west there so they know what da phyuk is happening in your home country? u know doz whites dont knw shit about us, only what cnn,abc,bbc,fox etc tells them,

if diz is a course project 4u, i think u will make more marks, rather than finding out whats goin on wid africans in USA,they r already comfortable phyukin white chics, u know what i mean,

secondly expand ur searchlight, include 9ja or african prostitutes, pimps, gangstaz and drug lords, i heard they gat news and serious storiz, so much for any journalist,  that it can make their honeypot/dick sweat.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 06:56 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajiluv at 12-02-2010 08:58 PM (14 years ago)
uddy or what do u call urself as i was reading ur story line at ist i was inmpressed but at the end i really fiound out u dont love ngeria,u should advice her to alk on the beautifull stories in your country and not the negative parts,have u ever seing a white man publishing the jonkies in their country ssy things that will make us prioud,we are tired out here coz people rasist us.
Posted: at 12-02-2010 08:58 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toks-E at 13-02-2010 06:58 AM (14 years ago)
mmm

Posted: at 13-02-2010 06:58 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Afokam4real at 13-02-2010 04:14 PM (14 years ago)
CLICK-Means
C=can't live without u
L=love u
I=i miss u
C=care about U
K=kiss from my heart 2 U. So whenever u miss me just say CLICK

V=4 valentine:u are my only valentine
A=4 i will Always be urs
L=4 luv @ its most extreme
E=4 everlasting luv;Ecstatic luv
N=4 never-ending luv
T=4 we will always be 2gether 4ever
N=4 u being intelligent N innocent
N=4 natures naughty way of sayin i luv u
E=4 Eternity our love is so ever lasting

48+2 member can sit ina bus
5+1 can sit in a car
3+1 can sit in a auto
1+1 can sit in a bike
Only 1 can sit in my Heart datz u my dear valentine.

HAPPY VALENTINE
Posted: at 13-02-2010 04:14 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- omatu at 13-02-2010 08:35 PM (14 years ago)
Good luck in your research.
Posted: at 13-02-2010 08:35 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enogieru at 13-02-2010 09:09 PM (14 years ago)
hhhhnnnmmmmm.....ok ohh!
Posted: at 13-02-2010 09:09 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- hiddenpearl at 14-02-2010 02:33 AM (14 years ago)
Thanks for the responses guys.

@Yuddy - I don't think I can report on Nigeria until I actually get to Nigeria. It is weird/absolutely wrong to try to do any in-depth reporting when you aren't there to assess a situation first hand.

In fact ajiluv's response was perfect.

I agree that Americans know next to nothing about Nigeria or all of Africa. However, believe it or not, they know even less about the immigrant communities living here amongst them. I'd like to focus on these immigrant communities while I'm here in New York. When I get home, I can report on Nigerians in Nigeria and let the world get to know my country and continent.

@godfirst1, I do not intend to exploit anyone. I wasn't asking for ideas, I was asking for the people. I will be doing the work myself. If you do have an amazing story that you want to tell in your own words and are just looking to get it out there, I can help you out and even pay. Only if it's worth it, however. I am a broke student too, and this is still a start up venture.

Still looking for those interesting people however, if you know them please holla!
Posted: at 14-02-2010 02:33 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 14-02-2010 08:59 AM (14 years ago)
please o help her
Posted: at 14-02-2010 08:59 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- Yuddy at 15-02-2010 12:34 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: hiddenpearl on 14-02-2010 02:33 AM
Thanks for the responses guys.

@Yuddy - I don't think I can report on Nigeria until I actually get to Nigeria. It is weird/absolutely wrong to try to do any in-depth reporting when you aren't there to assess a situation first hand.

In fact ajiluv's response was perfect.

I agree that Americans know next to nothing about Nigeria or all of Africa. However, believe it or not, they know even less about the immigrant communities living here amongst them. I'd like to focus on these immigrant communities while I'm here in New York. When I get home, I can report on Nigerians in Nigeria and let the world get to know my country and continent.

@godfirst1, I do not intend to exploit anyone. I wasn't asking for ideas, I was asking for the people. I will be doing the work myself. If you do have an amazing story that you want to tell in your own words and are just looking to get it out there, I can help you out and even pay. Only if it's worth it, however. I am a broke student too, and this is still a start up venture.

Still looking for those interesting people however, if you know them please holla!
alrite, i never meant to mess wid ur topic or venture, i see the sincereity in it,

anyway, i hav some guyz exactly in NewYork, but i gat to get their permissions from them, b4 i finally disclose thier contacts to u, and to make it fast mayb u can put ur phone no. to [email protected], so they can call u directly,

meanwhile, do ur best, and help motherland, wipe her shame off in ur own way, coz diz whites really see shit when they see many nigerians, but their time is up ,

cos we r showing them a glorious nigeria very soon.
Posted: at 15-02-2010 12:34 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Yuddy at 15-02-2010 12:47 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ajiluv on 12-02-2010 08:58 PM
uddy or what do u call urself as i was reading ur story line at ist i was inmpressed but at the end i really fiound out u dont love ngeria,u should advice her to alk on the beautifull stories in your country and not the negative parts,have u ever seing a white man publishing the jonkies in their country ssy things that will make us prioud,we are tired out here coz people rasist us.
dont worry sweetie, we r makin  a glorified nation soon,
Posted: at 15-02-2010 12:47 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 15-02-2010 09:02 AM (14 years ago)
Hmmmmm

Americans dont know shit about any other country then there own.
Good luck with your project though.

And Yuddy good luck what your trying to do too
Posted: at 15-02-2010 09:02 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- blings_is_back at 15-02-2010 09:06 AM (14 years ago)
wait till i get to new york....
Posted: at 15-02-2010 09:06 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- zicooo at 13-06-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago)
am coming their to help u
Posted: at 13-06-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming