SAD! Little Baby Allegedly Dies Due To Medical Negligence In Portharcourt

Date: 20-07-2016 6:26 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 20-07-2016 06:26 AM (7 years ago)

Hello Naijapals,

On the night of 28th of February 2016 at about 9pm, my wife told me our daughter was running temperature and we decided to watch her through the night and sponged her body intermittently till the next morning.

It was rather strange because only few hours earlier our daughter Lolia was the heartbeat of the house and initiator of various plays with her cousins who came visiting.

Early the next morning we prepped for work and creche as was our tradition the past 7months. Loli as fondly called by all had her cereal and we made a dash for the hospital.
We got there just before 7am through the portharcourt traffic on the 29th of February , 2016. We had to wait for the staff to do their devotion and morning rituals before we were attended to.

At about 8.30am a doctor in the consulting room examined her and said her tonsils were clear and her blood should be taken for test. The blood work came back after about 30mins, Loli has MALARIA+. The Doctor advised she should be admitted since she looked weak for faster recovery.

And so our watch began!!!
First 2 days were very worrisome  as she threw up every 3hours especially after a meal or medication.

On the Third day a man who says he is a Pediatrics specialist saw her in the evening and after few observations concluded Loli  had MENINGITIS and ordered a change of drugs and treatment plan.

Loli had become mute and slept long hours at this time for the next few days with a stiff neck that couldn't be moved voluntarily.

Under strong protest and demand for referral from my wife and I, the same Dr. was called in from church to review her because no other Dr had seen her. Only nurses came to administer intravenous drugs. We got all assurances from the Dr. and resident Drs. that she was in perfect hands and the treatment for meningitis takes a long time.
Long story short, we were there another 1week. Another Dr. read her case note and ordered a change of drugs.

Lolia was placed on the new drugs and became worse very rapidly. Our little girl was no more. She got excess medications her system could barely cope. All of this Sadly happened without investigation by the Drs.

We requested for her case note and medical report from the hospital management for onward dispatch to the American Embassy as part of the Embassy's requirements to process her death certificate and other necessities.

The Hospital blew our minds to Jupiter and back. The report was falsified and yours truly, my wife and I were alleged culprits in her death. They claimed "...against medical advise parents discontinued intra nasal oxygen from child". They put down a number of tests they never did and claimed they did it all.

On different occasions I was chased out of the hospital by the Dean of Doctors in that facility because I was demanding for her Case Note for independent review. He repeatedly said to me "Go and do your worst".

#JusticeforLoli is a campaign to #SayNotoMedicalNegligence and seeks to get closure for my family as well as several other families who have lost a loved one and can't do anything about it just because the Drs. are untouchable, incompetent and unaccountable to the people they serve/treat or manage.

The mere fact that people die avoidably in the hands of erring Drs. without appropriate investigation and sanctions is why medical practice is a sham in this clime.

Loli was only 17months young and was our only Child who lit up our lives after 4long years of no issue when she died in a facility that claims to be specialists in Pediatrics care.

I miss my Cute Little Texan Princess with the brightest Kalabari smile and mould. I solicit your kind support for this cause not out of vengeance but to save the lives of millions out here in our hospitals. Medical Practitioners must be accountable for their services.

My Name is EBI PAX HARRY, are you with me on this?

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 20-07-2016 06:26 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-07-2016 06:31 AM (7 years ago)
Very paintful...Rest IN Peace LITTLE angle..justice for her

Posted: at 20-07-2016 06:31 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- GermoDon at 20-07-2016 06:44 AM (7 years ago)
So sad Shocked
Posted: at 20-07-2016 06:44 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 20-07-2016 07:15 AM (7 years ago)
Am with you too #justiceforloli
Posted: at 20-07-2016 07:15 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 20-07-2016 07:40 AM (7 years ago)
Justice for her. Haba
Posted: at 20-07-2016 07:40 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 20-07-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago)
Very sad,some of these quack docs should be made to pay for their carelessness.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 07:57 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennycynth at 20-07-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago)
oh dear! Rip lil angel
Posted: at 20-07-2016 08:06 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 20-07-2016 08:07 AM (7 years ago)
Those medical staff responsible for this irreparable loss should be held accountable .Millions of helpless Nigerian have died in the hands of some unprofessional doctors for their negligence ,carelessness and act of inhuman.This is contrary to the obligation rested in the course of being licensed to safe lives .The need for government to start hold individual licensed medical practitioner accountable for evitable loses is long over due and the continuous neglect of this important factor will lead to more premature death of citizen who have faith in the healthcare system of the nation.Ministry of health pound into action henceforth .Nigeria is no more a village or a country of illiterates where people does not know their basic human right and needs .

Posted: at 20-07-2016 08:07 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 20-07-2016 08:24 AM (7 years ago)
na to fight and corruption dem know for naija
Posted: at 20-07-2016 08:24 AM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- Ifnotr at 20-07-2016 09:08 AM (7 years ago)
very sad indeed we pray that justice would prevail. RIP
Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:08 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 20-07-2016 09:15 AM (7 years ago)
Chhaaaiiiiiiii,..,,   RIP... NobsmallTin at all
Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:15 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 20-07-2016 09:44 AM (7 years ago)
HEALTH ISSUES IN NAIJA NA GBAFU...... MORE REASON I DONT WANNA PRACTICE IN NAIJA,,, EVEN NAIJA PRESIDENT NO GREE MAKE THEM TREAT AMM FOR NAIJA,,,WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:44 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 20-07-2016 09:50 AM (7 years ago)
SAD,,, CUT AND NAIL DOCTORS....
Posted: at 20-07-2016 09:50 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- odegbalegu at 20-07-2016 10:15 AM (7 years ago)
course of medication changed thrice, it's act of negligence indeed. the med FAC should be responsible.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 10:15 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 20-07-2016 10:25 AM (7 years ago)
Yes,justice is need,naija doctors,I no no wetin dem dey learn for that their school,RIP lola.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 10:25 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- waytoheaven at 20-07-2016 10:34 AM (7 years ago)
i feel sadden reading this,i no the joy seeing our baby distuurbn the house,my take is simple,take this up legally
Posted: at 20-07-2016 10:34 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- anitajoseph at 20-07-2016 10:39 AM (7 years ago)
Oh what a little Angel, very sad
Posted: at 20-07-2016 10:39 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 20-07-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago)
Lord have mercy,,,
Posted: at 20-07-2016 02:27 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 20-07-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago)
dis is really sad, rip lolli.
Posted: at 20-07-2016 04:03 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kima77same at 20-07-2016 11:00 PM (7 years ago)
Very sad. Doctors again
Posted: at 20-07-2016 11:00 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

3. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

4. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

5. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

6. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake