Bricklayer Sentenced To 3 Months In Prison For Stealing Two Packets Of Maggi In Abuja

Date: 31-07-2016 11:01 am (7 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 31-07-2016 11:01 AM (7 years ago)

A 30-year-old bricklayer Jeopardy John, has been sentenced to three months imprisonment for stealing two packets of Maggi cubes, by a Lugbe Grade 1 Area Court, Abuja.

He was sentenced to jail on Thursday. John, had pleaded guilty to a three-count of criminal trespass, housebreaking and theft.
“I am sorry for the act I committed and I am pleading with the court not to send me to jail.

“It was hunger that made me to steal. For some time now I don’t have job, please sir forgive me, and I promise not to steal again,’’ the convict pleaded.

The judge, Mr Garba Ogbede, however, sentenced John to three months in prison but with an option of payment of N15,000 fine. Ogbede also ordered that the recovered items be returned to the owner.

According to the judge, the punishment would have been more severe if he had not pleaded guilty, and saved the court the pains of a prolonged prosecution.

Earlier, the prosecuting counsel, Miss Vivian Oporomo, had told the court that on July 12, Eneojo John of the same address, reported the matter at the Iddo Police Station.

Oporomo told the court that the convict broke into the complainant’s shop at about 1.30am and stole two packets of Maggi cubes, valued N700 and one DVD player valued N10, 000.

She said that when the complainant caught the convict inside his shop with the said items, he raised an alarm.

Oporomo said that during police investigation and interrogation, the convict admitted to committing the offence.

The prosecutor said the offences contravene sections 342, 347 and 288 of the Penal Code.

The convict was however unable to pay the N15,000 fine and was taken to Kuje Prison.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 31-07-2016 11:01 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 31-07-2016 11:38 AM (7 years ago)
Na only d poor dey go prison for naija
Posted: at 31-07-2016 11:38 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLUCHI5 at 31-07-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago)
is very bad.
Posted: at 31-07-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bebold at 31-07-2016 11:49 AM (7 years ago)
The one Thing I love about the person call Jesus Christ is that no matter how small or how big and Burgos your sins and criminal activities are you are forgiven and loved
Posted: at 31-07-2016 11:49 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bennieben at 31-07-2016 12:05 PM (7 years ago)
Stupid country! Common Maggi cube na dem sentence bricklayer wey ex and present senators, governor and house of assembly members dey steal millions of naira.
Posted: at 31-07-2016 12:05 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgan1 at 31-07-2016 12:10 PM (7 years ago)
He should have been forgiven,,,,people are out there stealing billion what did dey do about dat?
Posted: at 31-07-2016 12:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 31-07-2016 12:45 PM (7 years ago)
That judge need some hot dirty slap  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 31-07-2016 12:45 PM (7 years ago) | Grande Master
- dleg at 31-07-2016 03:22 PM (7 years ago)
The judge should have given him 1 month or N5000 charge. The judge can as well pay for him because this is a matter of hunger but he messed up by stealing DVD too.
Posted: at 31-07-2016 03:22 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EDDYPRINCE at 31-07-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago)
Old News and this is the third time you guys re posting it here
Posted: at 31-07-2016 03:58 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- benosky4 at 31-07-2016 05:06 PM (7 years ago)
I hate thieves & senseless, cruel, wicked & partial judges

Posted: at 31-07-2016 05:06 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kison at 31-07-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago)
NEXT TIME BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 31-07-2016 05:10 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 31-07-2016 05:40 PM (7 years ago)
God dey my brother
Posted: at 31-07-2016 05:40 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 31-07-2016 07:32 PM (7 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin ;the case of when the poor one steals yam to kill hunger,trust those animals dat calles themselves lawyers and judges. wasted generation
Posted: at 31-07-2016 07:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 31-07-2016 08:21 PM (7 years ago)
Poor man way thief Maggi.........
Posted: at 31-07-2016 08:21 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- oludolis at 31-07-2016 09:49 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on 31-07-2016 08:21 PM
Poor man way thief Maggi.........
African china don sing am b4 Sad
Posted: at 31-07-2016 09:49 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kima77same at 1-08-2016 10:10 PM (7 years ago)
Just be careful
Posted: at 1-08-2016 10:10 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac