Veteran Actress, Steph Nora-Okere Discloses Shocking Revelation On Her Crashed Marriage

Date: 02-08-2016 1:29 pm (7 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 2-08-2016 01:29 PM (7 years ago)

Nollywood talented veteran actress, Steph Nora Okere, who, last week was given a Special Recognition Award by City People magazine is a dancer, singer, screenwriter, film maker, a producer and an event manager. She has a company (Afro Vision) which does take event management and production.

Steph Nora, an easy going, humble and amiable personality whose artistic contribution has retained something of a permanent place for her in the scheme of things, has always hugged the limelight, not only for her talent but also for her readiness to pick roles some of her colleagues wouldn’t dare.

Her roles in ‘Indecent Girl’, “Angels Forever’, ‘Lagos Babes’, ‘Sharon Stone’, to mention a few, shows how well this Nollywood beauty performs. The beautiful Imo State-born actress and former Vice President, Screenwriters Guild of Nigeria and the Star Actor – Jim Iyke once had a relationship. They were one of the hottest “lovebirds” in Nollywood then but they later broke up.
 She later got involved with her Yoruba Heartrob – Lanre Falana but her marriage with him did not last.  In an interview with us, ‘Steph’, as she is simply called, opens up on her relationship to Lanre Falana and why the union to him did not last as it crashed right before it was solemnized. Excerpts:

Where have you been all this while?

I’ve been everywhere, at home, in church, at work, on the streets in fact, I’ve been around. I only reduced the number of films I feature in and concentrated more on soap operas.

What are you doing presently?

Right now, I’m shooting a new series, Broken Heart in Ibadan that is coming out soon. It is my latest work. I only left the set to come down here to receive my Award from City People because I value this Award so much.

What award did you win?

Special Recognition Award for my contribution to the Nigerian Entertainment industry, especially Nollywood

How long have you been acting?

All my life. I started when I was in primary school although, I learnt acting from my mother’s womb (laughter) Yes, I’ll say I started from my mother’s womb because everybody came out in the 9th month but I came out on the 12th month. I started walking at the age of 6 months. So, I’ll say I started acting a long time ago.

You’re being seen as a tough lady?

Wow! I’m not tough, I’m just firm, there’s a difference between the two but some people will say you are tough if they cannot get you to compromise with them. If you really don’t understand where you are coming from, they will say you are tough. So, I am not tough but just being firm and being myself. I am firm in some areas as a lady.
You are ever looking young and beautiful, what is the secret of your beauty?

Yes, I am young, I take a lot of water  and I detox my body and spirit  of any negative thinking. I don’t let a negative thing stay in my mind. If anything comes on me, I let it go and I wash it off immediately. I don’t let anything disturb me in order to stay healthy, strong and may be young.
What has been the challenge so far? 

What has been the challenge for me in the industry is that, It wasn’t easy when we started. We had to make people understand that acting is a noble profession I just came out from the university after my 4 years when I went into full time acting
I had to go to my family to explain to them about my new profession because as far as my Dad was concerned, It was a joke. And in 1995 when I joined the industry, the platform was not as it is today for people to leverage on. I was also the vice president, screen writer’s Guild  of Nigeria for 4 years in which I helped build the industry. So, it’s been from one challenge to another. But I’m happy today that we set the platform for others to come in. Take a  look at what is happening today in the media.

Is Steph now married?

No! I am very single.

But you were once married?

Not at all, the press got me married. The press got me married on papers. Let me explain it, let me say I was in the process of getting married but ended up not getting married. Where I come from, there is the process of marriage when you start the process, the Ibo people will go and make research on the other person’s background and If they find out negative things about the man or woman’s family, that means they will put an immediate stop to the marriage. That was what happened in my own case.
A lot of people have been saying I was married, I was married but we didn’t really get through our marriage. I think that is like in the past, which is like 10 years ago. I really wish to forget about it.

Who is your kind of man?
God fearing and honest man.

Is there any man in your life now?

Jesus is the man in my life now I am married to Jesus..As beautiful as you are, you should have someone. I have a lot of admirers, those that are close to me but the most important person in my life now is Jesus.

But you are known to be married to Lanre Falana?

I was never married but the Press got me married as I said. I was involved in a marriage process which got truncated along the line. Marriage begins with paying the woman’s dowry, traditional and white wedding. All these did not take place. My family didn’t support marrying a man who kept one woman in one place and plans keeping another one in another place. I attend Catholic church and the marriage process in Catholic, begins with the intended couples tendering a marriage certificate issued by a court to the church. This was the main reason we were in court in the first place.
[/b]What really led to the break-up?

It was based on personal conduct and irreconcilable differences. We were not living together, we had an. Introduction where his family and mine were introduced to each other only. This was the beginning of our problem. For us to discover that we were not compatible. Our court marriage was in July and he went abroad in September only for him to be back a year and half later.

Would you accept him if he comes back begging?

Thank God that the marriage didn’t work out otherwise I would have been an unhappy woman and I have learnt not to judge a book by its cover.

I hope to marry again when a good man comes but for now I am married to Jesus.

How many movies have you done so far?

So far I have featured in over 100 movies, grabbed lead and supporting roles both in the English and Yoruba language movie.

Who is Steph Nora Okere?

Steph Nora Okere is an actress who is from Ngor-Okpala, Owerri in Imo state. I grew up in Lagos and attended St Paul’s School, Ebute Metta and later to Jubril Martins Memorial School but completed her secondary school in Akwakuma Secondary School, Owerri.

Was it cultural differences that led to the break-up?

Not at all. It was based on personal conduct and irreconcilable differences. We were not living together. We had the court marriage in July and he went abroad September. Only for him to come back like a year and half later.

Any plans of marrying again?

It has not been easy. You hardly can differentiate between a man who truly wants you as a woman because he feels for you, or one who wants to be seen with a known actress. Some men can go as far as taking a bet over you because you are a known actress. But when a good man comes around, I will settle with him. However, my Bible has not told me I can not make heaven as a single woman.

Posted: at 2-08-2016 01:29 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Tos2130 at 2-08-2016 01:39 PM (7 years ago)
hMmmmmm.                                                                                                                                                                                 
Posted: at 2-08-2016 01:39 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLUCHI5 at 2-08-2016 01:40 PM (7 years ago)
no comment.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 01:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 2-08-2016 01:40 PM (7 years ago)
All men are the same, if all men are thesame, pick one already. Time is knocking and menopause is knocking. Just to remind you.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 01:40 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgan1 at 2-08-2016 02:24 PM (7 years ago)
Na u sabi, dey talk,,,talk dier, maybe u know say after 30 na 40, and afte 40 na 50 follow am,,,,sidon dier dey yaga yaga!
Posted: at 2-08-2016 02:24 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 2-08-2016 02:58 PM (7 years ago)
HEARD
Posted: at 2-08-2016 02:58 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 2-08-2016 03:08 PM (7 years ago)
Some men are polygamous in nature while some grow up in a polygamous and see nothing wrong in keeping two women wit out them knowing. Good dat u know dis early. Wish u well.
Posted: at 2-08-2016 03:08 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Oworen25 at 2-08-2016 03:23 PM (7 years ago)
Well, I have heard from you and I'll advice you to believe in God
Posted: at 2-08-2016 03:23 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 2-08-2016 04:44 PM (7 years ago)
JUST CONTINUE TO BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 2-08-2016 04:44 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 2-08-2016 05:28 PM (7 years ago)
U better pick one guy for corner and marry. Thick...thick...thick...
Posted: at 2-08-2016 05:28 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 2-08-2016 07:48 PM (7 years ago)
Who dey poke dis woman now..?
Posted: at 2-08-2016 07:48 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 2-08-2016 08:25 PM (7 years ago)
Thank God say  Na Jesus b d  Man when  dey  ur life  now
Posted: at 2-08-2016 08:25 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kima77same at 2-08-2016 09:57 PM (7 years ago)
What people care about marriage before they go into it, are what made them victims of broken home later. The sad things about modern day ladies who run broken homes, their MOTHERS are still living with their FATHERS.
    They never asked their mothers how they were able to stay along with their Fathers. Ladies listen, BEAUTY NEVER MADE GOOD MARRIAGE.
    WEALTH, NEVER KEEP MARRIAGE GOING.
       GOOD DRESSES, NEVER DRESS A MARRIAGE.
          EQUALITY AND DISRESPECTFU TO A HUSBAND, NEVER MAKES A MARRIAGE TO LAST LONG.
            YOU CAN NEVER FIND A PERFECT MATE, UNTIL YOU MADE YOURSELF, A PERFECT PROSPECT
Posted: at 2-08-2016 09:57 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GermoDon at 2-08-2016 10:25 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dickieponga on  2-08-2016 07:48 PM
Who dey poke dis woman now..?
Na ur frnd gogoman
Posted: at 2-08-2016 10:25 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 3-08-2016 11:32 AM (7 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 3-08-2016 11:32 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Tos2130 at 3-08-2016 08:09 PM (7 years ago)
Alright
Posted: at 3-08-2016 08:09 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. See Tuition Fee Receipts Yahaya Bello Paid American School From 2025 Session Through 2031

2. PZ Cussons Considers Leaving Africa After 140yrs Over Nigeria’s Sales Plunge

3. SuperComputer Predicts EPL Title Winners After Victories For Both Arsenal And Man City

4. ‘One Chance’ Robbery Gang Escape Lynching In Umuahia

5. PART 2: Zenith Bank’s Management Pay A Visit To Allegedly Apologize To Fayose - Photos+Video

6. Davido Reveals Why He Filed Lawsuit Against Perpetrator Of Fake News Of His Arrest

7. Nigerian Lady, Clara Chizoba Breaks Guinness World Record For Longest Interview

8. Man Declared Wanted For Stabbing Wife To Death & Attempted Murder Of Their 2 Children

9. Customs Intercepts 6,240 Bags Of Dynamite Explosives, Arrests Two Suspects In Kebbi

10. Lady Slam Brides Who Can Not Provide Accommodation For Her Asoebi Girls, Say They Don't Deserve

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

9. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

10. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says