Nigerian Medical Students Caught Stealing in the Caribbeans, Cry Out Lack of Funds

Date: 04-08-2016 1:20 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 4-08-2016 01:20 PM (7 years ago)

Some Nigerian medical students studying in St Vincent and Grenadines in the Caribbean have reportedly been arrested for theft. The students were awarded scholarships in 2013 under the Rivers State Scholarship schemes. Two of the sixteen students were nabbed after they were caught stealing.
The students, who reportedly said they resorted to stealing due to lack of funds, complained that the government abandoned them to their own fate for close to 2 years, alleging that they (government) refused to pay their tuition and starving them of their monthly upkeep allowances.
One of the medical scholars, Promise Adimele Amaechi, narrated his ordeal to newsmen while begging the government to intervene.
According to him, “We are supposed to graduate in October this year, but due to non-payment of our school fees, the school authorities have stopped us from our clinical clerkships. The school said we can’t graduate if our school fees are not paid; hence the school has to stop us from completing our remaining clinical rotations.
‘’Moreover, because our upkeep allowances are not paid, we cannot feed and pay our rent. Some of our landlords think we could leave the country without paying them, most students’ travelling documents have been seized and legal action taken against us to recover the debts.
“Two students among us, who recently engaged in stealing and fraud in order to make ends meet, were arrested.
“As I speak to you, I have not eaten for the past three days, this is how bad the situation is with us,”
Amaechi added.
The students lamented they have resorted to begging for alms to feed and are now living on the streets as their landlords have ejected them for failing to pay rent. Confirming the report, the Executive Director of Rivers State Sustainable Development Agency, RSSDA, Mr. Larry Pepple, “Since I took over as the Executive Director of RSSDA in January this year, I met backlog of old tuition and backlog of unpaid living allowances.
“As at today, it has clocked 17 months that the scholars have not received their allowances. “The ones that are in the final year, the governor has given approval for everything to be paid to them so that they can conclude and return. “But unfortunately, this approval as we speak, is yet to translate to cash, because of the limited resources.
“We are currently working with the Minister of Finance,”
Pepple said, adding that 328 others have returned home to continue their education due to the crippling economic situation.

Posted: at 4-08-2016 01:20 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- GermoDon at 4-08-2016 01:27 PM (7 years ago)
Una no see beta country to go study na all dis Abiokuta and Ibadan wey ful Caribbean una go dey school? atleast if una go beta country una go get student job to hold body and soul togeda
Posted: at 4-08-2016 01:27 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tos2130 at 4-08-2016 01:31 PM (7 years ago)
That's serious oooooooooooooooo to study abroad na by do or die no bi by forse na o ga oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.                                                      

Posted: at 4-08-2016 01:31 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Aftermenayou at 4-08-2016 01:50 PM (7 years ago)
Nor mind the government jor that's how  they sent some of us in delta state  to Trinidad and tebego.,,, but thank God I have  collected my certificate tho it was not easy there but to God be the glory
Posted: at 4-08-2016 01:50 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- Slimchery at 4-08-2016 01:54 PM (7 years ago)
wahala dey everywhre, make una dey careful dey do life jeje
Posted: at 4-08-2016 01:54 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eric2000 at 4-08-2016 02:12 PM (7 years ago)
up naija
Posted: at 4-08-2016 02:12 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tuscanT at 4-08-2016 02:41 PM (7 years ago)
Avenue of wasting Nigeria money for no good course, is time Nigerians should  start asking question about the benefit of sending ppl abroad  to study.  Nigeria still relied of foreign  doctor, contractor for our road, drilling of oil is endless!!!! Comon ppl!  somebody should help me with fact and figures of foreign nation studying in nigeria universities excluding halfcast
Posted: at 4-08-2016 02:41 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- victorstic1 at 4-08-2016 02:46 PM (7 years ago)
IGBO KWENUUUU
Posted: at 4-08-2016 02:46 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- schmit at 4-08-2016 03:09 PM (7 years ago)
Not an excuse
Posted: at 4-08-2016 03:09 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 4-08-2016 03:14 PM (7 years ago)
Eyah,,,,oga oo
Posted: at 4-08-2016 03:14 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- EDDYPRINCE at 4-08-2016 03:21 PM (7 years ago)
NAIJA BAD TO WORST
Posted: at 4-08-2016 03:21 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 4-08-2016 03:42 PM (7 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 4-08-2016 03:42 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Tos2130 at 4-08-2016 03:55 PM (7 years ago)
ok oooiiiiii
Posted: at 4-08-2016 03:55 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 4-08-2016 04:09 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: Tos2130 on  4-08-2016 01:31 PM
That's serious oooooooooooooooo to study abroad na by do or die no bi by forse na o ga oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.                                                      

nothing serious here na only deport dem go deport dem, dem nor go kill dem
Posted: at 4-08-2016 04:09 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 4-08-2016 04:11 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: tuscanT on  4-08-2016 02:41 PM
Avenue of wasting Nigeria money for no good course, is time Nigerians should  start asking question about the benefit of sending ppl abroad  to study.  Nigeria still relied of foreign  doctor, contractor for our road, drilling of oil is endless!!!! Comon ppl!  somebody should help me with fact and figures of foreign nation studying in nigeria universities excluding halfcast
why the government start waiting dem nor fit finish? now see the problem wey dem go put those people
Posted: at 4-08-2016 04:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 4-08-2016 04:11 PM (7 years ago)
Quote from: kison on  4-08-2016 03:42 PM
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
go better careful go dat side
Posted: at 4-08-2016 04:11 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Linconblack at 4-08-2016 05:15 PM (7 years ago)
Stupid governments, foolish students. Wot the hell is wrong with our own indigenous polytechnics and universities, can't they enroll dem there. They just they look for an avenue to steal and loot Nigeria monies, yeye government.
Posted: at 4-08-2016 05:15 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 4-08-2016 05:21 PM (7 years ago)
Ameachi u see Wetin u cause ba?Huh? Dis children didn't force u to send them abroad. Out of ur own free will u did and now they are thieves. U were busy using their school fees to campaign so dat u can get a ministerial post. GOD go judge u. Wicked man
Posted: at 4-08-2016 05:21 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 4-08-2016 06:44 PM (7 years ago)
Now Nigerians are stealing from those WE sold into slavery.

What a country!!!!!!!
Posted: at 4-08-2016 06:44 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 4-08-2016 06:52 PM (7 years ago)
Sad and more awkward getting dumped by your government

Posted: at 4-08-2016 06:52 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. "How I Met My Serbian Husband On Dating App" - Nigerian Lady, Nurse Glory Narrates

2. VIDEO: Nigerian Lady Shows Off Naira Notes She Picked At Various Nightclub

3. Actress, Eniola Ajao Opens Up On Why She Kept Her 21Yr Old Son Off Social Media

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. 30Yrs Old Video Of Nigerians On Fuel Queue Emerges Online

6. VIDEO: Girl In Tears As She Scores 289 In JAMB After Aiming For 300

7. Nasarawa Police Arrest Fake EFCC Operatives For Alleged Robbery, Abduction, Recover Exhibits

8. Water Corporation Deputy Director, Emeka Arraigned For ‘Defrauding Residents Of N150k’ In Enugu

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

8. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)